We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect location to stay while in Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location to stay while in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to take a quick trip to Charleston being our first time there we had no idea where to stay. We stumbled on the kings courtyard inn and loved it we would definitely go back. It's a little high on the rates but comparable to everything around it. The only thing we didn't like was the night time desk operator he always had his headphone's in and paid no attention to anyone that walked in and got a little upset if you asked him anything if they replaced him it would be a perfect place to stay all the way around. The rest of the staff was amazing and the rooms are very nice. They offer a complimentary cheese and wine on the weekend all in all we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    160
    34
    23
    8
See reviews for
88
250
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ojai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of downtown. Perfect location to walk and see Charleston. The staff was all exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Good wine flowed freely during the Happy Hour.
The hotel is old, but kept up. Not totally modernized (remember historic)
The 2 courtyards were really pleasant places to enjoy the wine or eat breakfast.
We definitely would recommend the Kings Courtyard Inn

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madjack247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is my third stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn - enjoyed it once again! Our room was huge with high ceilings and plenty of space - loved the idea of the gas fireplace, but definitely a bit warm on our stay to use it! Would love to come back in cooler weather to give it a try. We always enjoy the complimentary wine hour and breakfast. The location on King Street is just perfect and provides easy access to numerous shops, restaurants/bars, and attractions. My only small complaint for this stay was that the concierge checking in guests was assisting another guest on the phone while we stood in the lobby waiting for a good ten minutes without even acknowledging that we were there. I completely understand that you are helping someone else, but a simple, "I'll be with you in just a moment" goes a long way. Other than that, we will absolutely be staying here again and look forward to it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler129212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed 4 nights here-it was comfortable & convenient for town.
The beds were sumptuous -there's a great en suite with a small efficient fridge under the sink.
Unfortunately no kettle which after 10 hours travelling I really needed & have suggested to the staff. If you like good sturdy English tea take tea bags & ask for hot water & milk!
Breakfast is continental only - if u want cooked its at a cafe along the street but you have to pay so its not really worth it - we enjoyed the granola,pastries,peeled hardboiled(only) egg, fruit, porridge etc then had coffee later in town.

Room Tip: Roadside was fine - all quiet around 11pm even for a light sleeper. We had 215 a huge 2 double bedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinkle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Traveled - two couples to Charleston April 2014. Enjoyed the location and the amenities at Kings Courtyard. The staff was very helpful when we asked for opinions on places to visit. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evenings before dinner. Continental breakfast was also decent. Hot oatmeal and fruit was available. You could also get a hard boiled egg, helpful when you want to start the day with some protein. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with fireplace and canopy bed. We got it and our room was slightly larger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zandikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that we were able to give you helpful recommendations to enhance your time in Charleston. We pride ourselves on offering guests a historic hotel experience with modern amenities. The complimentary wine and cheese hour is an amenity that we love offering to guests. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the reception on the way to dinner. We do hope you will visit the Kings Courtyard Inn again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The staff took such good care of us, we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge.
The hotel is located close to all the main sites & is so quaint& has that great southern charm.
We loved the happy hour& tea in the afternoon, thanks again Kings Courtyard

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights after driving down from Toronto. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel had an inner and outer courtyard and the fountains and gardens were lovely. Each night there is wine & cheese and nibblies and we met some nice people from other parts of the USA. The room was very well set up and was clean and updated. There is a mini fridge in the room as well, which is great. You had the choice of eating breakfast in the courtyard with the other guests, or they would deliver the breakfast. After being on the road, it was nice to be able to have a leisurely breakfast delivered. You can choose whatever you want from the card on the door, and they will deliver to your room at the time you specify. With a quick phone call in advance. How nice is that! The hotel is close to the nice restaurants, shopping, the market and the harbour. We had no problems with noise. The parking lot out back was great and easy to use. The price was very reasonable for what we got. We'd stay here for sure again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpethes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay. I am happy to read your remarks about your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the charm and wonder of our city from the perspective of the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your kind words about the staff and amenities are greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
Elliott House Inn
#34 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing