We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Stay at Kings Courtyard Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at Kings Courtyard Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Traveled - two couples to Charleston April 2014. Enjoyed the location and the amenities at Kings Courtyard. The staff was very helpful when we asked for opinions on places to visit. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evenings before dinner. Continental breakfast was also decent. Hot oatmeal and fruit was available. You could also get a hard boiled egg, helpful when you want to start the day with some protein. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with fireplace and canopy bed. We got it and our room was slightly larger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zandikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that we were able to give you helpful recommendations to enhance your time in Charleston. We pride ourselves on offering guests a historic hotel experience with modern amenities. The complimentary wine and cheese hour is an amenity that we love offering to guests. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the reception on the way to dinner. We do hope you will visit the Kings Courtyard Inn again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    169
    38
    23
    9
See reviews for
92
264
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The staff took such good care of us, we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge.
The hotel is located close to all the main sites & is so quaint& has that great southern charm.
We loved the happy hour& tea in the afternoon, thanks again Kings Courtyard

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights after driving down from Toronto. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel had an inner and outer courtyard and the fountains and gardens were lovely. Each night there is wine & cheese and nibblies and we met some nice people from other parts of the USA. The room was very well set up and was clean and updated. There is a mini fridge in the room as well, which is great. You had the choice of eating breakfast in the courtyard with the other guests, or they would deliver the breakfast. After being on the road, it was nice to be able to have a leisurely breakfast delivered. You can choose whatever you want from the card on the door, and they will deliver to your room at the time you specify. With a quick phone call in advance. How nice is that! The hotel is close to the nice restaurants, shopping, the market and the harbour. We had no problems with noise. The parking lot out back was great and easy to use. The price was very reasonable for what we got. We'd stay here for sure again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpethes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay. I am happy to read your remarks about your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the charm and wonder of our city from the perspective of the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your kind words about the staff and amenities are greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

This Inn is so perfectly located for walking to any activity within old Charleston. Several quaint courtyards offer you sanctuary for breakfast or room service can be provided. The room was huge, charming and comfortable. The bathroom needs updating and house keeping could be a little more attentive. That said, my 3 night stay could not have been more amenable for exploring Charleston waterfront, shopping, slave market and local dining. Charleston hotels are all overpriced but this accommodation gives insight into old inns, historic architecture and a friendly staff willing to give guidance and information. Their southern custom of a happy hour at 5 p.m. with wine and nibbles is delightful.

Room Tip: other TA reviews indicate it can be noisy but any street noise was finished by 8:30 p.m. so I imagin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We loved our stay at Kings Courtyard. We had a large, very clean room. We parked behind the hotel and walked all over the city. The breakfast was very enjoyable. We will stay again on our next visit. Come hungry because this city has the best food!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Didn't stay here on my recent visit but didn't write a review the last time we stayed so I thought I would let people know how quaint and charming Kings Courtyard Inn is! I came here on my honeymoon in 1989 loved it then and stayed again with my grandchildren last year. We had a family room which was one big room with two double beds. Would have loved a little separation but we made last minute reservations and this is all they had but it was a HUGE room. I love the history of this hotel and all the nooks and crannies and it is so unique! The breakfast is very fresh and the jams and jellies are homemade or locally made not from the local supermarket. I love the location on King Street walking distance to shopping and dining and Market Street. We didn't stay for the evening reception but wish we would have . I'm planning on visiting Charleston again this summer and I will stay here again this time. Been too long between visits and it really is special to me since I stayed here for my honeymoon almost 25 years ago! I love to walk by this hotel every time I visit Charleston and next time will stay here not someplace else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresahaynes791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stays at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your repeat business is the greatest compliment we can receive, especially after 25 years! We are glad to hear that you found our inn fitting for family travel, as well as a romantic getaway. Our historic property is full of character and charm and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. We look forward to your visit this summer.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Door County, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights at this property. The staff here is very service orientated. During our stay the only elevator broke down. This was an issue for me because our room was on the third floor and a disability makes it very difficult for me to navigate stairs. At my first enquiry about the expected timing for getting the elevator fixed I was immediately offered to be moved to a ground floor room. This proved invaluable because the elevator remained out of service for the remainder of our stay. I think true customer service is demonstrated when something out of the ordinary happens and this crew performs with excellence. The property location and the rooms themselves are very nice. We are clean freaks and found this a bit below our standard. A full breakfast in a lovely courtyard is included in the rate. Parking is convenient. One of the best perks to take advantage of is the $40 3-course dinner that they offer guests to dine at Circa 1886. It was an incredible meal at a great value.

Room Tip: The ground floor room was not as quiet as our 3rd floor room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kings Courtyard Inn. It was a pleasure to have been able to make your stay a success. Our concierge team is always at your service to create the most memorable stay in our beautiful city. The location of our historic inn is a great amenity that our guests enjoy. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the 3 for $45 deal at our sister restaurant, Circa 1886. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing