We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice in a Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very nice in a Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms are nice, and they are in an old renovated building. It's not brand spanking new, but that's part of the charm. If you like to walk around, it's in an excellent location, as it is in the heart of the retail district in old Charleston. Their parking lot is adjacent, and very easy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    184
    40
    27
    9
See reviews for
98
291
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tierra Verde, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a one night stop for us. We found the inn online and selected it based on its location, online reviews, and the fact that it offered pet friendly rooms. After some fumbling (we were over zealous and turned into the wrong parking lot entrance, but the inn provided great instructions, we just failed to follow them), check in was a breeze. We were warmly greeted, a welcome gift was provided for our dog and included a list of pet friendly restaurants and places, which we appreciated. Our room, #501 in the carriage house was comfortable and quiet. We did not mind the steps, but there is no elevator. They will provide bell service if you need assistance. We loved the layout of the property. There was a comfortable green space with seating below our room and an inner courtyard and fountain. The lobby was nicely appointed. The inn served complimentary wine and cheese, evening sherry, and there was a coffee station with to go cups, if needed, which we appreciated on our morning dog walk. Everything is close by. It is the perfect location for walking tours. We appreciated the dinner recommendation. The service was great, the food divine, and our pet was welcomed. We look forward to visiting this inn again! 4 stars instead of 5 for the breakfast. It was just OK. Room was nicely-appointed and bright, a bit small, but we enjoyed it. The bed was very comfortable and the A/C was quiet.

Room Tip: If steps aren't an issue, ask for a second floor room in the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinkConnieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for this glowing review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. We appreciate your recommendation. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and brought your dog along to experience Charleston. Our central location proves to be fantastic when traveling with a dog, as there are countless pet-friendly restaurants and attractions in walking distance. We just recently added some items to our breakfast menu to enhance our complimentary offerings like oatmeal, hard boiled eggs and English muffins. We hope that you will stay with us during future visits to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My sister and I just spent a wonderful two days in Charleston. It was both of our first times in Charleston and we really enjoyed our stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. One of the staff members, Natalie was extremely helpful to us from the get-go. She sat down with my sister and I in the lobby with a map and showed us her recommendations for restaurants and bars and helpfully separated them out by location for us. Our room was very nice, we enjoyed the gas fireplace, our room was bright and clean. Parking was very easy, in the lot behind the hotel, and for $12 a day they charged to the room. The location is great as well, right on Kings Street among many shops and stores and easy walking distance to everything. I liked being on King, because we seemed halfway between Upper King, where a lot of great bars are, and East Bay Street, where another set of great bars and restaurants are. The inn was very beautiful and historical. My sister and I also really enjoyed the daily wine and cheese hour from 5-6. It was a really nice touch.

My only negative comments were that I went back to take a nap in the middle of the day and there was very loud powerwashing in the courtyard that made it difficult to sleep---but I guess there really is no good time to do the powerwashing, so I understand why they chose 3:00 on a Tuesday afternoon. I also was disappointed in the complimentary breakfast which was one of the reasons my sister and I chose this place. We were hoping for a heartier buffet style continental breakfast so we could fill up for a full day of walking and activities, but unfortunately you must choose between a "healthy option" of banana small bowl of cereal and a bagel, or a plate of three pastries. This really was not filling and I would have preferred a buffet style continental breakfast.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, we were very satisfied and enjoyed our experience here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegS1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. I am thrilled that you and your sister had such a nice time and found the Kings Courtyard Inn to be a comfortable home base in Charleston. Thank you for the note about Natalie. I will be sure to share your kind words. We do in fact schedule projects like power washing during the afternoon hours to minimize its impact on guests. I am very sorry that your nap was disrupted but appreciate your understanding. Thank you for the feedback about breakfast. I am sorry that our breakfast menu was confusing. We will look for ways to make this more clear to guests. Our guests have the choice of anything and everything on the menu. We recently enhanced our breakfast menu to include hard boiled eggs, oatmeal and English muffins. We do hope that you will visit the Kings Courtyard Inn again. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
285 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were a little put-off at check-in because it was apparently shift change and the employee's back packs and purses were strewn about - it just looked disorganized. Also, the street entrance is a bit awkward because you come through a blank hallway - a nice mural would look lovely here. When you come to the courtyard things start to look better and the actual "lobby" was fine. We stayed in the Azalea Parlor Suite which was nice. The "parlor" room was nice but some attention to small details like new lampshades would make a world of difference. The fireplace was wonderful. The bed was the saving grace - nice linens and a good mattress. The bathroom was very tight but with nice towels, shampoo etc....We did have a problem with the breakfast room service. We ordered the night before as we had early plans and the breakfast never came. When we called the desk they said there was no time on the card. We felt they should have called the room in the morning. Anyway, we ate in the courtyard which was nice and the next morning the breakfast tray was delivered on time. We did have the concierge book a carriage ride but he seemed a bit put out by our request. The location of the inn was perfect. We were able to walk to everything!

Room Tip: The street was a bit noisy but, not too bad. Stay the suite and enjoy the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junemagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed our central location and had such a nice time in Charleston. Your comments are greatly appreciated as we work to improve our customer experience. The inn will undergo some cosmetic changes in the winter and we will take your feedback into account as we finalize our plans. I apologize for the hiccup with your breakfast delivery and am glad to read that you were able to enjoy your meal the following day. I am also sorry to read your note about our staff. Our team is dedicated to delivering excellent customer service. I can assure you that there must have been a miscommunication during your carriage booking process. We apologize for this encounter and hope that you will visit us again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wow what a great little inn! Could NOT ask for a better location in Charleston -- in the heart of the city and walking around is fabulous! Enjoyed all the shops near by and the local restaurants! Only one comment about the inn was they have those very high beds and you need a step stool to get in and out = Unless you are basketball player! I do understand they have lower beds but you better ask in advance! They have a very substantial complimentary breakfast to get you on your way. Rooms are spotless and quaint. Homey feeling -- would definitely stay there again. Chareleston charm!

Room Tip: Ask about the high beds they have -- we felt uncomfortable and unsteady getting in and out of bed bc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanFLRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn for my fiance's birthday. I don't think it would be possible to have had a better experience. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and they went above and beyond to make his birthday special! The Inn itself is beautiful, and very clean - historical, but updated enough to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast in bed each day made our stay even more relaxing! It's in a perfect location - close to shopping and great restaurants, We will definitely be back for our next trip to Charleston!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
It sounds like you had an incredible time here in Charleston. Thank you for sharing your memories - and for choosing the Kings Courtyard Inn for this special occasion. We look forward to hosting you both for future birthdays and celebrations. Many thanks for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Kings Courtyard Inn. It manages to blend a historical, comfortable feel in the rooms while being unobtrusively up-to-date. The staff were always pleasant and helpful,, and the location was fantastic -- central to Historic Charleston. Parking was easy and reasonable. We would definitely make this our choice for our next trip to Charleston!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenTom1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful Labor Day here in Charleston. Thank you for choosing the Kings Courtyard Inn, and for writing such a fantastic review. We are glad that you enjoyed our rich history and appreciate your comments about the inn's ambiance. Come back and see us soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elliott House Inn
#33 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing