We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm and courtesy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Charm and courtesy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our third visit to this property, and we intend to keep coming back. Clean, quiet rooms and an excellent location. Centrally located in the historic district, easy walks to all the great restaurants and tourist sites, and convenient easy in, easy out parking (a real bonus in the historic district) available for $12 oer day. Free continental breakfast, with full breakfast available at reasonable charges. But most of all --- it is the friendliness and charm of the staff (and virtually everyone in the city) that makes this such a great hotel and city to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay here in Charleston. We very much appreciate your loyalty to the Kings Courtyard Inn and are proud to consistently deliver a five-star experience. Thank you for the compliments to our staff. We look forward to hosting your fourth trip and many more thereafter.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    180
    40
    23
    9
See reviews for
95
284
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This inn has a great location on King Street and is within easy walking distance of almost everything you would want to see in Charleston. The staff is welcoming. We were attracted to this property because finding an old, historic inn with two beds can be a challenge. The only criticism I have is that the bedding is slightly old and worn, as are the towels. Also, the pillows are truly awful. If you are a pillow person, beware! To their credit, the staff did try to locate less rock- hard pillows for me but were unable to do so. I bought two pillows at a nearby store after our first night at the Kings Courtyard! Like most historic inns in Charleston, the inn is pricey. But if location is important, you really can't do much better than this.

Room Tip: There are rooms off an open courtyard where breakfast is served each morning. I feel sure they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneinseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank for a wonderful review of our property. I am glad that the Kings Courtyard Inn met your guidelines for a historic hotel in Charleston. I appreciate your kind notes about our staff. I am very sorry to read that our pillows were not to your standards. We keep a variety of pillow types on hand to accommodate our guests as best we can. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide every guest with an exceptional experience.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Even before arriving, the assistent innskeeper and conceirge made us feel welcome by accommodating our needs. Once we arrived, all staff from food service to housekeeping made us feel welcome. The location is excellent, rooms clean and comfy. We would gladly head back to Kings Courtyard our next trip to Charleston

Room Tip: We stayed in room 315 - corner room - sharing only one wall. Lovely room with a nice view of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McCrickard2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your five star review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay and am so proud to read your notes about our staff. We appreciate your feedback and certainly look forward to hosting a future visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Loved this hotel. It is an historic building right in the heart of the city. You can walk to restaurants and shops. Great breakfast and evening wine and cheese were wonderful. Elevator was slow, but it was an old building. Open courtyard was the perfect location for breakfast. Would stay here again. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean and up to date.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is both quaint and comfortable. The service is superb. Location is perfect, it's close to everything. Parking is reasonable and very convenient, a big plus for Charleston. This was a mini vacation celebrating our anniversary, and it was perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and it was quiet and private. I don't think there is a poor room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlfriend49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for such a great review of the inn and for your kind note about our accommodations. We hope to see you upon your next visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a good and reasonable place for our 3 generation girls trip in Oct. Walking distance to so many places. Good breakfast buffet which we ate at the tables by the pool to enjoy in a lovely setting. Helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn over MLK weekend to celebrate my 30th birthday. We arrived early, 10:30 a.m., on Saturday and were pleasantly surprised that our room was available. We were able to check-in and settle-in right away.

Our room was decorated in a modern historic motif, with a modern bathroom and accommodations, but classic Charleston decor including a four poster bed and beautiful historic motif curtains and chairs. Our room overlooked the courtyard below and we were able to open our two sets of french doors onto the terrace to let the sun in and hear the water feature below. The hotel offers nightly wine and cheese at 5 p.m. which is a great way to mingle with other guests or simply start your evening in Charleston.

The location was ideal, on the quieter end of King Street, in the heart of the shopping district. We were able to walk everywhere within 5-10 minutes, including the city's best restaurants and sites, including Waterfront Park and The Battery.

I would highly recommend the Kings Courtyard Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Happy Anniversary to you both. Thank you for spending such a special weekend with us. I'm thrilled to read that you had such a nice time and enjoyed your room and accommodations so thoroughly. Thank you for your review. We hope you'll spend many more anniversaries here at the Kings Courtyard Inn.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elliott House Inn
#32 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing