We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bachelorette Party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bachelorette Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Great girls weekend! Had 5 rooms for 12 girls they were very accommodating! Great location. Only problem was the parking lot bc it was always full. Provided roomby service whenbc requested. Otw perfect would stay here again! ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaboo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Sounds like you all had a wonderful time here at the Kings Courtyard Inn. The inn's layout is perfect for gatherings like Girls' Weekends and Bachelorette Parties. We hope you are all able to make a regular trip back to Charleston each fall. Thank you for a great review.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    169
    38
    23
    9
See reviews for
92
264
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
EMMAUS, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is such a charming boutique hotel. I picked it because it was pet friendly, however it was an amazing find. The location is great. There is PARKING!!! The wine hour is a nice amenity. The staff was friendly and efficient. I could go on and on. You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed the inn's many unique features and brought your dog along for the ride. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to hosting you again upon your return to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just concluded a 3-day stay at King's Courtyard Inn and really were pleased with our selection. It is located in the perfect spot of town along King Street near all of the art galleries and boutiques. And a short walk to almost any venue in the historic area. The place has character because of the age of the buildings and I felt like I was in a small European hotel. Best of all, with only 40 or so rooms, it was quiet. The Inn is owned by Charming Inns, which all operates several other small inns in Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THTX09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing Kings Courtyard Inn for your recent Charleston getaway. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed some quiet rest and relaxation at the inn but also enjoyed the many nearby boutiques and galleries on King Street. We look forward to hosting you on future visits to Charleston. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, SC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Part of a family of Charleston inns that are really great romantic locations. This trip was not about romance but we were in town for WTT Finals. We enjoy staying downtown in the historic district. Virtually everything is within walking distance. Our kids are a little older and enjoy having breakfast being brought to the room versus schlepping downstairs to a common area for a continental breakfast. The complimentary sherry is a nice way to end along day of sightseeing. It is a little pricy but it is same cost as the chain motels that are downtown. We always enjoy our stays here. Only complaint is that the parking spots are REALLY small.

Room Tip: Always check the Internet specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tridens88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
What a great review of your recent stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. Thank you for bringing your family to experience Charleston from our inn. I'm glad you enjoyed our close proximity to downtown attractions and took advantage of in-room breakfast delivery and evening sherry. Thank you for being a return guest and noting our great internet specials. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the King's Courtyard Inn recently. We had the romance package which included champaign and chocolate covered strawberries when we arrived from dinner the first night. The staff was careful to talk with me about the plans without my wife around as this was a surprice stay. We had dinner the second night at circa 1886 in a remodeled 1800s carriage house behind the Wentworth Mansion (both are properties owned by the same group as King's Courtyard). The meal was excellent and the package included $100 voucher toward our dinner. We then went into Wentworth Mansion (at the recommendation of our server) to take in the view of Charleston from the coppula- very romantic and stunning. We had planned to return the next day however, the tropical rains decended on Charleston and flood the Market area so we had to forego this experience until our next trip to Charleston.
The King's Courtyard was in the midst of downtown Charleston on King Street in the next block from Charleston Place ( where we went for a couples massage) and two blocks from the Market. Fortunately the Inn parking is high and our car suffered no damage unlike the cars parked at the Market.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the Romance Package. It is truly a treat and we love to have this offer available. You certainly got a close look at Hurricane Issac - the heavy rain made it a memorable week here in Charleston. I am glad that your car was safe and despite the weather, you and your wife still enjoyed a romantic visit to our city. We look forward to hosting you again. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

When going to Charleston you want to stay downtown. You also want to be able to walk to everything since parking is a premium. This hotel has the best location. Park your car in the lot right behind the hotel and you can walk to great restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

The rooms are big and the staff is very nice. No reason to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Kings Courtyard Inn's home on historic King Street is one of its very best features. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our staff, our location and the walkability of Charleston. We all look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We first stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn in the summer of 2006 and just recently returned for a 2nd trip. We love this inn. The location couldn't be better. It's in the heart of downtown, but still very quiet and you can walk to pretty much anywhere you want to go. Our room was right next to the back entrance to the parking lot and we didn't have any issues with hearing other rooms around us. We're not morning people, so we enjoy being able to get breakfast brought to our room up until 9:30 or 10:00. The wine and cheese reception in the afternoons are nice. We got to meet other guests and they always had some good dip/crackers set out. That would be our appetizer before going out to dinner.

Our room was always very clean, with plenty of towels and quality toiletries. The courtyard areas are what really add to the charm of this hotel with their fountains and little tables to sit at and enjoy a cool drink. We stayed here during the week so our rate was very reasonable. Weekend rates are a little high.

We look forward to staying here again during our next visit to Charleston. (Maybe in another six years?)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I truly appreciate your great review of our amenities, facilities and courtyards. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn and took advantage of its central location and special features. Our in-room breakfast service is a wonderful offering as it allows a great deal of flexibility when planning your day. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston. Thank you for your recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing