We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn Close to Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming Inn Close to Everything”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We first stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn in the summer of 2006 and just recently returned for a 2nd trip. We love this inn. The location couldn't be better. It's in the heart of downtown, but still very quiet and you can walk to pretty much anywhere you want to go. Our room was right next to the back entrance to the parking lot and we didn't have any issues with hearing other rooms around us. We're not morning people, so we enjoy being able to get breakfast brought to our room up until 9:30 or 10:00. The wine and cheese reception in the afternoons are nice. We got to meet other guests and they always had some good dip/crackers set out. That would be our appetizer before going out to dinner.

Our room was always very clean, with plenty of towels and quality toiletries. The courtyard areas are what really add to the charm of this hotel with their fountains and little tables to sit at and enjoy a cool drink. We stayed here during the week so our rate was very reasonable. Weekend rates are a little high.

We look forward to staying here again during our next visit to Charleston. (Maybe in another six years?)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I truly appreciate your great review of our amenities, facilities and courtyards. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn and took advantage of its central location and special features. Our in-room breakfast service is a wonderful offering as it allows a great deal of flexibility when planning your day. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston. Thank you for your recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    185
    43
    27
    9
See reviews for
99
295
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I wouldn't stay here again! Expensive, but not worth it! On the positive side: Wonderful location, wonderful service (very helpful), but, & it's a big one. The negative: Paper thin walls, noise, so loud that you get very little rest. You greet the morning with light hitting you in the eyes, coming in through the metal blinds (no drapes). Bathroom is not very clean, mold in tube area & dirt in the cracks/grout of the tile. Didn't want to walk barefoot on that awful floor. The comfort just wasn't there.

Nice wine reception in the afternoon. Breakfast was not great; even ordered breakfast, but not much better; the sausage was so greasy, I couldn't eat it.

Sorry for the review, but the facility needs a remodel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad you enjoyed our location and that our staff served as a helpful and friendly resource. As you are aware, the property is historic, and with that presents some challenges. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our facility. I will personally see that the housekeeping issues are resolved. Although you said you would not stay here again, I hope that you will consider Kings Courtyard Inn for a future trip to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I recently stayed here for a bachelorette weekend. Margaret could not have been nicer and more accommodating to work with in setting everything up. The rooms are charming with large windows and an armoire. The bathrooms are a bit out of date and will need an upfit soon: cracked sink, old tiles, old fridge, etc. But everything worked just fine. The location is tough to beat if you want to be in the heart of downtown; however, I did not notice much street noise. Parking is $12 per day which seemed hefty, but most people charge for parking in Charleston. The spots are very tight, so large SUVs may find this a problem. The courtyards are lovely. Overall, a winner in terms of service, location, and value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doeeyesNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hello: Thank you taking the time to review your experience at the Kings Courtyard Inn. We frequently host bachelorette and girls' weekends here at the inn- I'm thrilled that you had a great time and enjoyed the King Street location. Margaret always does an amazing job of coordinating these details - I'll be sure to pass on your compliments.

I appreciate your comments on our bathroom and parking, as we are continually making improvements to the inn and our facilities.

We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston.
Sincererly, Owner Richard Widman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent three nights here with our two school aged daughters. We booked a two room suite that looks exactly like the picture on the website. Lots of space for all of us and the bathrooms had a nice amount of counter space. The place is really old, and the history is cool and the hotel is charming, but charming also comes with closely located rooms and thinner walls and creaks and bumps in the night. If you are a light sleeper, this may give you some trouble. Our room's air conditioner worked very well, but kicked on with a few clicks and a blowing noise that woke me up every time. My husband slept right through it (he's usually the light sleeper). Our neighbor's "Room Service!!!" knock each morning was like they were standing in the same room with me. Again, husband slept through it. So maybe it was just me. But it's the only reason I didn't give it a 5 rating. The adjoining room my kids slept in didn't have these issues. The location of the hotel is outstanding. We walked everywhere, including the aquarium. The only time we took the car out was to visit a plantation. Parking is convenient. The staff were so friendly and Jessica, David, and James were great. Stopping at their desk for dinner reservations, ticket reservations, recommendations and directions was such a pleasure. Continental breakfast was included, plus they had additional menu items if you preferred a different breakfast. It was really a good breakfast and a great time to plan our day.We enjoyed each morning in the lovely courtyard. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hello: Thank you for choosing Kings Courtyard Inn for your family vacation! Your review is greatly appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the inn and took advantage of our the many activities within walking distance. Our staff does a wonderful job and I will be sure to pass on your very kind words.

You are correct that with our great history comes a few things you might not encounter at a larger chain hotel. I am sorry to hear about the air conditioning sound: we are currently looking in to resolving this issue.

We look forward to hosting your family's next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Enjoyed staying at the Kings Courtyard in late June/early July with my sister. Our room was attractively decorated, comfortable, and large enough for two people not to feel cramped. The bathroom could use a little updating (and a little more cleaning) but was adequate. All staff members -- concierge, servers during the wine hour, people who delivered breakfast -- were friendly and helpful. Importantly for downtown Charleston, there is convenient (and relatively reasonably-priced) parking. But perhaps most important, the location is perfect. King Street is right outside the door, and all the best restaurants and tourist attractions are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I'm thrilled to read that you and your sister enjoyed yourself at Kings Courtyard Inn. It is a fantastic destination for an early summer getaway. It's wonderful to be able to walk to many of Charleston's best sights and restaurants. Thank you for complimenting our staff, I will be sure to share your kind words. We look forward to visiting with you again soon. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent two nights and had a very nice stay. The location is outstanding. The entire staff was very helpful. The afternoon wine and cheese was a fun way to socialize and the included breakfast was a step above a basic (continental). The bed was not the most comfortable and the sheets could be improved upon. Overall, a good value and a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jss56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hello, thank you for your review. I appreciate your suggestions and will discuss these items with our team. I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast and our evening wine and cheese reception. It is certainly a highlight for our Innkeepers as well. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Concierges were wonderful and professional. Room 310 small but clean. Great air conditioning! Wine and cheese nightly. Location near the center of everything. Breakfast was good and can be delivered to the room for free! Would happily return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elliott House Inn
#32 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing