We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn Hotel”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn this November and travelled with friends who stayed as well. My room was beautiful - on the first floor with double doors opening to a private courtyard. The room was immaculate and had a working fireplace which was wonderful. The bath was small but very clean and well appointed. The furnishings were beautiful and appropriate to the Inn. My friends had a two room suite which was also lovely and well furnished and spacious. We all attended the evening wine tasting and sat together with and met other guests in one of the courtyards which was fun. We enjoyed the casual atmosphere yet elegant surroundings. The breakfast selections were a nice touch and the food quality was excellent. You also had the oportunityu to order a hot breakfast which was also cooked to perfection. It was nice to have room delivery or the option of eating in one of the courtyards. I will highly recommend this Inn and will definitely stay there again on my next trip,.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful. Loved teh downstairs room with courtyard and the two room suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasideDsgnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    187
    43
    27
    9
See reviews for
99
297
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This hote was in a wonderful location and had excellent friendly staff. The parking garage was being repaved causing parking difficulties but the staffed handled the problems very well

Room Tip: Ask for a "large" room - the furniture was bigger than the room. Hard on shins and knees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehlenfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I frequent the Charleston area often and I am often asked for hotel suggestions in the area. I ALWAYS recommend the Kings Courtyard. Here are the reasons:
1. The rate changes with the seasons, but it is consitently lower than the other inns. We usually stay at the Inn for around $100. To stay at the Holiday Inn... you'll pay at least $150 if not more than that.

2. The location is great. You are right in the middle of the "action" of downtown Charleston.

3. The hotel is cozy. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean.

4. Breakfast is delicious (and healthy), the wine reception at night was a nice bonus and the staffers are helpful.

We've stayed there several times and everyone that I've recommended the hotel loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

By far one of the more civilized inns in which I've stayed. Perfectly situated between shopping and historical homes, we stayed only one night but it was a wonderful, relaxing time. From the hospitality (and sherry!) offered up at check-in to the friendly advice on the "goings on" in the immediate area, suggestions for dining, breakfast (included), complimentary wine and cheese .... what a treat! The room was beautiful and nicely decorated, complete with all the modern amenities. I have stayed in other historic places that have, I believe, retained the original mattresses and bedding! Not the case here. We were extremely comfortable and wanted for nothing. We were able to park our car and not use it again until we left. Everything, for us anyway, was within walking distance. I cannot tell you how nice it was at the end of the day to come back to the inn and relax on the patio with a glass of wine, discussing the day's events and plans for the evening. I look forward to returning for an extended stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great variety of room configurations which served our extended family well. The inn offers lovely suites with roomy parlors or two bedroom/two bath suites for families with children, also rooms with king beds or two double beds . Some rooms have beautiful fireplaces with gas logs and canopied beds, all with hardwood floors and tasteful decor. We took advantage of a dog-friendly room in the convenient carriage house. We had 15 people stay with no complaints from anyone. Bathrooms are updated. Mini fridge in all rooms is handy. Staff is super friendly. Loved the historical atmosphere of the inn and courtyards. Great location for walking to restaurants and shops. Convenient parking lot. We loved gathering for the complimentary wine hour. Breakfast was delicious and coffee was available early.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a charming hotel. The rooms are comfortable. Every staff member is friendly and efficient. The location is unbeatable. We have stayed here two times. We also have stayed at many luxury hotels, but even though this is more of an inn it is a favorite place to stay. If you have time take advantage of the 3 course dinner offered to guests at Circa 1886 at a sister hotel. The only slight drawback is because rooms are around a courtyard it can be noisy around early evening but the charm, convenience and genteel elegance make it a special place.

Room Tip: We prefer an interior court room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FChristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Its one of the many charming Inn's available in Charleston. The location is Money Baby. It has two entrances: One on Broad street and the other (with parking) towards the Market square. We stayed at Andrew Pinckney Inn as well during this stay and in comparison this was a more authentic and charming experience. It has a true courtyard and the rooms are very well maintained with the low country charms (In a good and clean way). The building is in excellent shape and is listed in the historic Inns of USA. The front desk was courteous and helpful as well.

The complimentary breakfast is a sorry affair, slow service and not much offered on the menu.

Overall: Great Stay. No Complaints. Pay Like a King Live Like a King

Room Tip: Courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desert_King_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
624 reviews
The Elliott House Inn
#31 of 61 in Charleston
819 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
657 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing