We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just OK...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
John Rutledge House Inn
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2006

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rutledge House, and I must say why the hotel is quaint and full of history, I was a bit disappointed. We made reservations last minute during the Spoleto weekend, and the only room available was their premiere suite - the John Rutledge Suite (Room 7) in the main house. The rate was normally $400 / night, but the clerk said she would give us a discount to $350. It sounded like a deal, so we took it.

When we arrived, the suite was very spacious and consisted of the bedroom, bath and a large living room. While the room was nicely furnished but spartan, and it didn't really have the "wow" factor that I had imagined the best room at a 4-star hotel would have. The furniture was very worn and non-descript, and there were no extra touches one would expect. For example, the towels were very thin, very much like one would find at a Holiday Inn. Also, the complementary breakfast consisted of your choice of bagel, fruit, croissant, etc each morning and was very plain (but it was delivered each morning to our room.)

Another problem was the noise in the room. While to be expected in a home of this age, the main stairs leading to our floor were VERY squeaky, and to make matters worse the bed was place right to the left of the entrance door so the headboard was against the wall. Each evening and morning we awakened at least once by someone coming or going up or down the stairs. Also, the living room shared large doors with the public room where evening cocktails and snacks were served. And the windows were on the shared porch, so that as other guests got their drinks and went out on the porch, they would tend to move toward our side and be looking right in our windows.

All in all, I think it is a nice hotel, but for my money I'll check out another hotel next time we visit.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 700 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Detroit, Michigan
215
Reviewed May 19, 2006

Know that the Carraige house is not part of the original property, and was built in 1989. This is not advertised, and I was quite bothered by this misrepresentatiion. The main house was built in the 1760's, and rooms here may cost a bit more. If you want to stay in the original house, you must request this.

Nonetheless, I was very happy here.

The first thing that comes to mind is the service. This was my first visit to Charleston, and the staff graciously answered all my questions, and were very accommadating and attentive.

The next thing that comes to mind is the breakfast. FANTASTIC!! Nothing more to say. :)

Location was excellent. No need for a car, and a pleasurable walk awaits you in every direction.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oak Hill, Virginia
14
Reviewed May 17, 2006

We recently stayed at the John Rutledge and found it to be a very nice small hotel - not really a B&B. We love staying at B&Bs because we love sharing breakfast with new people, and finding out where the 'places to go' are. At this B&B breakfast was either in your room, in the ballroom or on the patio. We never saw anyone else staying here, and we missed that. Do not stay in the basement - pay a little extra, the rooms are dank and underground. We stayed in one of the carriage houses and the room was lovely. The concierge was extremely helpful in making reservations for us and the manager was charming. They have a wonderful walking tour guide for $4.00 - buy it. There are three walking tours that take you all over Charleston - and the book is easy to cary. Warning about packages - tours of plantations only allow you onto the plantation, to view the house or anything else is extra.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

We had a two-room suite on the main floor of the inn. Although we feared it might be noisy, since it was locted right by the front door, we were pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was. The hotel staff were very friendly and eager to please. Service was outstanding. Our only suggestion for improvement would be that eggs and bacon/saugsage be included in the breakfast service. For the cost, one would explect more than just a continental breakfast.

2  Thank scottie4851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2005

An expected two night stay at the John Rutledge House extended to three. Why? Because we loved the House and the town. Our last minute reservation was handled with ease. Though we had a basement room in the main house, it was spacious, light (due to three windows), very clean and quiet. The upstairs suites are spectacular. All of the staff treated us royally from Innkeepper Kathleen Leslie to the housekeeppers.

The staff helped us with sightseeing advice, dining reservations, and virtually anything else we needed. The location in the historic district is convenient to most everything. The parking is right out back. The included breakfasts are excellent and served right on time as requested. All in all a wonderful experience.

If you want a bit of historic Charleston, this is a wonderful place to stay.

5  Thank toadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Newton, North Carolina
14
Reviewed October 8, 2005

My wife and I celebrated our 50th anniversary at the John Rutledge Inn in Charleston , SC. The arrangements for our stay were made by our children with the innkeeper, Kathleen Leslie. We felt like we were treated like royalty. The Inn was the home of one of the signers of the Constitution and was in outstanding condition. Our room was meticulously prepared for our stay. The staff at the inn were always available to cater to our needs. Leaving was a difficult moment as we felt as if we were leaving our family.
Charleston is one of my wifes favorite cities and with all the history here it is also one of my favorites. We most surely will be back.

Stayed: October 2005
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
14
Reviewed September 5, 2005

We were very disappointed with the John Rutledge House. Upon the recommendation of the Inn, my husband and I made a reservation for a room in the Carriage House rather than the main house. When we got to our room in the Carriage House it was very plain and ordinary -- it looked like an Holiday Inn rather than a historic, upscale hotel. We asked if we could switch to a room in the main house and were told there were three rooms available. After deciding on one of the non-suite rooms available, we were told we would have to pay a $45/night upgrade charge! We arrived on on a Saturday, so there was very little chance they would rent any of the three available rooms that weekend. We were outraged they would try to charge us an "upgrade fee." In the end, upon our insistance, they switched us to the room in the main house for the same rate as the Carriage House. As the other disappointed reviewer noted, the Inn is in need of refurbishing -- the linens and curtains are faded and dingy and much of the wall paper was stained. The bathroom was small and the water pressure in the shower was non-existent. My husband and I enjoy historic inns and all of the unique qualities of an older property. This place seems tired and rundown rather than quaint and charming.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,078 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,448 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $261 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing