We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality, convenience, and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
John Rutledge House Inn
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the first floor courtyard rooms during mid-June 2013. Being in the courtyard offered all the convenience of staying in downtown Charleston and all the hospitality of staying at the John Rutledge House w/o any of the drawbacks. Our stay was very quiet and relaxing, almost as if we were staying in the country. Although the courtyard rooms lack the drama of staying in the main house with 12-foot ceilings and antiques, they are cozier, more comfortable, and can be cooled by modern AC. As much as I love staying in historic B&B's, there is something to be said for modern conveniences.

The breakfast was delicious, definitely what I expected from an inn of this caliber. Breakfast was
delivered to our courtyard room without any problems. We were able to tour the historic house after breakfast, before checkout.

My only criticism of the John Rutledge House Inn is that the property has a limited amount of parking spaces. Two other guests basically "double-parked" in the unlined lot, which kept gave them the peace of mind that their vehicles wouldn't be scratched but left us without a parking space when we returned from dinner. The front desk staff told my husband to park in a nearby church lot, but be sure to move the car in the morning. I don't fault the staff for this, as they were very apologetic, but management should find a solution to this issue.

Otherwise, staying here was a great experience. The staff is superb and provide the hospitality one would expect.

Room Tip: For comfort and quiet, consider a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I am thrilled that you had such a memorable visit. We recently debuted a new breakfast menu and are pleased to have your wonderful feedback. Our historic property offers a variety of room types to suit our guests' different tastes and I am glad that you enjoyed the carriage house. All of our rooms, including the main house, have modern individually controlled heating and air conditioning. I appreciate your feedback about parking. We unfortunately do not own the parking lot and cannot make many physical improvements to the space. I am very sorry that you had an issue finding a spot one evening, but am glad that our staff was able to offer a solution. We will look for ways to lessen the possibility of other guests double parking their vehicles. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 700 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 beautiful nights here and enjoyed every day of them. We had a huge suite with two fireplaces in this historic house. Our breakfasts were delivered daily by Maurice who took great pride and care to ensure everything was perfect. The staff did everything they could for us, arranged private carriage rides and rick shaw pick up just to name a few. We felt very lucky to have found this hidden gem and will definitely will be back. The only thing missing here is a quaint bar - other than that it is perfect. A special place with a fabulous staff!

Room Tip: Room 4 a gorgeous suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My mom and I did a weekend in Charleston and stayed 3 nights at the John Rutledge House in. We read other reviews that said to not stay on the main floor because of noise, and after staying there I could see why. My mom and I were on the highest floor - third floor. With very high ceilings, it was a trek up, but we enjoyed the exercise. They had a really friendly and helpful staff. They assisted with taking our bags up and giving us advice on things to do in Charleston. The rooms were large. The bathrooms were pretty small, but fine. Breakfast was delivered to your room at any time you wanted and you could choose from a decent list of items. I wish they made their own bakery items... that's usually a nice perk at B&B's.

Great location. Close to the historic homes. Awesome neighborhood to walk in!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank ILuvPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay. I am thrilled that you chose the John Rutledge House Inn as your home base in Charleston. We are glad that you had such a memorable getaway with your mother. Thank you for highlighting our wonderful staff and the inn's many unique features. While renovating this 250-year-old building, we worked with engineers to find the best soundproofing solutions for our historic property. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you had a relaxing visit. Come see us again soon!

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staying on 3rd floor is a little bit of a jaunt but what wonderful service and such a beautiful place. It is a little pricey but for being right in Charleston well worth it. The dinner at Circa 1886 just made the stay for my husband and myself. Kathy was very helpful and they even let the restaurant know we were celebrating our anniversary. Hats off to all that staff at Circa as well especially Peter who was fabulous.

Room Tip: You can view the cathedral next door in the mornings from room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you're going to Charleston, you must stay at the John Rutledge Inn. Wonderful staff, good food and great location!! Parking is included in your room charge and it is easy to get in and out off. The location is great for walking the city or driving in or out. Even though our room was on the 1st floor, we did not hear the kitchen staff in the morning. Breakfast was served either in your room, the courtyard or in the ballroom. We tried each and all were wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schmitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Close to the French Quarter, a stroll away from wonderful antique stores, close to restaurants, historic sites...the John Rutledge Inn has it all.
The rooms are very comfortable... we were in #13 in the Carriage House. The room had a very comfortable canopied king bed, easy chair, table and 2 chairs for in room dining, dresser with flat screen TV, side tables. The bathroom was clean but a bit tired.
The room was very close to the parking and a charming courtyard with tables and chairs was just out side the Carriage House entrance.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious...piping hot. The best part of the stay however was the staff...they could not do enough for you and were patient , kind and polite...We felt we were experiencing true "Southern hospitality" at it's best!

Room Tip: We liked the Carriage House. It was well located for people like me who are not so good on stairs. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ther4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The most "dog-gone friendly inn" in Charleston! They even had doggie treats waiting in our room for our furry four legged children. The staff was professional, friendly, and accommodating. Our room was fresh and sparkling clean with the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in! The afternoon "high tea" was gracious, unexpected and delicious, and most appreciated! We will definitely go back.

Pete, Sherry, Bo, and Oliver

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for such a great review! We are thrilled that you brought your dog along for the trip to Charleston and enjoyed our pet friendly accommodations. Our staff looks forward to visiting with your family during your next trip to town. Thank you for the recommendation!

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,447 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,242 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2437
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $261 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing