We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up-to-the minute service service in an historic Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
John Rutledge House Inn
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Up-to-the minute service service in an historic Inn”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

John Rutledge House Inn was everything we had expected and a little more! From the gracious welcome by the concierge, to the room on the second floor which was redolent of more gracious times with its four poster, and state-of-the -art bathroom. Here was history without any disadvantages! We felt we were in a welcoming private home and half expected to see John Rutledge himself offering us afternoon tea (itself worth mentioning for the delicious cakes and scones) in the wonderful ballroom. John Rutledge Inn is set in a wonderful position, right in the heart of the historic district and still close to some great shops and dining experiences. We fell in love with Charleston district thanks to the advice of ever friendly staff. We have great pleasure in recommending this Inn to all who love comfort, atmosphere and a great place to come home to after a day of sightseeing. Lindsay and Roxanne Rutledge Smith

Room Tip: Because of the historic nature of the house (no elevators) rooms on the top floor would not be suita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
I really enjoyed reading this review of your experience at the John Rutledge House Inn. We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay. I thank you for your feedback and greatly appreciate your recommendation. We hope you're able to join us next year in celebration of the home's 250th Anniversary.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    70
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
109
376
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Inn in Room 6 (2nd floor, main house) recently for three nights while in Charleston for business. The room was extra-large with hardwood floors, a 14 ft (?) ceiling, a working fireplace and even a mini-fridge. The bed was high and super comfy. Breakfast was delicious and delivered to the room each morning on silver service at the time of your choosing. You can order an entree (choices were shrimp and grits, vanilla and rum infused french toast, and eggs and bacon) as well as side items and juices. The afternoon tea was also delicious and included light appetizers and desserts. It's served in the 2nd floor parlor and you can sit outside on the balcony if the weather is nice. Breakfast and tea were included in the room price. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in the historic district. If you're a tourist, you won't even need to move your car for the duration of your stay! As a business traveler, I had an easy, scenic 5 minute walk to the courthouse each morning. Finally, the entire staff was friendly and helpful. In particular, Patrice was wonderful and very happily shared great recommendations as well as directions for nearby restaurants. Upon learning that we were in the process of moving to Charleston, she even gathered some information for us on the area. A historic property with outstanding service....you won't be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyK820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful and thorough review of your stay at the John Rutledge House Inn. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable business trip to Charleston. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the hot daily breakfast, afternoon tea and comfortable accommodations. Thank you for your note about Patrice and our service team. We certainly hope you find yourself in Charleston permanently - but in the meantime, we look forward to hosting you here at the inn again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We only had two days in Charleston, but staying at the John Rutledge House Inn made us feel as though we captured the best of what Charleston obviously has to offer: fascinating history, gracious people, and wonderful food. It was chilly when we were there and the working fireplace in our room was marvelous. The huge canopy bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. (And we are old enough to have slept in many!) Everyone was so helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed our conversations with Kathy, the innkeeper. We felt that the port and cherry on the sideboard in the ballroom was the extra touch that made this inn clearly superior. (And the shrimp and grits for breakfast were outstanding). We stayed in room 11 and would recommend this great establishment to anyone visiting Charleston. We want to come back to the city and to the John Rutledge House Inn. Thanks y'all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MH12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I was thrilled to read about your "exceptional stay" at the John Rutledge House Inn. It sounds like you had a fantastic visit. Thank you for your outstanding review and kind notes about our property. I am so glad you had a true Charleston breakfast of shrimp and grits and enjoyed the evening sherry and port. Our beds are actually Tempur-Pedic if you are interested in having the same mattress at home. We look forward to hosting you again. Hopefully you can return for our 250th Anniversary Celebration in the new year.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in B&B's from Digby Nova Scotia to St. Mary's on the Georgia Coast and the John Rutledge House was by far the best! Stunning room, knowledgeable and firendly staff, terriffic location, and the breakfast!!

Don & Romy

Room Tip: Our upstairs room in the carrige house was extermely quiet and much closer to the parking lot. From...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoROMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review. What an honor to be named the best bed and breakfast among these other wonderful establishments. I am thrilled that you and your husband had such a great time here at the inn. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

If walking around the grand homes in Charleston makes you want to stay in one, check into this place. I stayed in a room in the main house. It was drop dead gorgeous. The afternoon tea in the ballroom is a pleasant affair, with nice snacks and complimentary port or sherry. I had my breakfast ordered the night before and delivered to my room. The food was above average and eating in the amazing room was very romantic. The staff was very polite. Make sure you book a parking spot as parking is impossible in Charleston. My only complaint would be that the bathroom could have used some sprucing up. However, I felt I got great value for the money and plan on staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am thrilled that you enjoyed a "grand stay" here at the John Rutledge House Inn. Thank you for your high praise and review of our breakfast and afternoon tea. Those are services that our staff truly enjoy providing to guests. Thank you for your note about the bathroom. We take all feedback into consideration as we constantly strive for 100% guest satisfaction. We hope you're able to visit again and partake in the 250th Anniversary Celebrations planned for 2013.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just had a wonderful two night stay at the John Rutledge. The staff, from Kathy, the manager, to the housekeeping staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious and generous and served right on time. Sherry and Port in the ballroom or on the porch overlooking Broad Street was an excellent way to relax and get ready for the evening. The location is perfect-within walking distance of everything, and parking, a common problem in Charleston, was never an issue at the Inn. I thought it was a good value as well, and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building, as opposed to the annex are preferred, but all are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
It sounds like you had a wonderful stay at the John Rutledge House Inn. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your high praise and recommendation. I am thrilled that our staff left such a lasting impression and you enjoyed the complimentary extras we offer. We certainly look forward to hosting you again and hope you're able to partake in our 250th Anniversary Celebration in 2013.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The location was great--we were within easy walking distance of everything we wanted to do. We ditched the car when we got there and didn't need to use it at all. Our room was fantastic, with beautiful furnishings, and was very comfortable and quiet. We found a neat little bonus in our room--the old books displayed on the fireplace mantel were fascinating. The bed was extremely comfortable. It was really nice to have the option to have breakfast delivered to our room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the John Rutledge Suite (one of the Grand Suites in the main house) and it was well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am thrilled that you had such a lovely stay at the John Rutledge House Inn and enjoyed our close proximity to many downtown attractions. I am so glad that you enjoyed the decor, charm and comfort of the John Rutledge Suite. We hope you're able to return in 2013 to celebrate the home's 250th anniversary. Thank you for the outstanding review.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Property: John Rutledge House Inn
Address: 116 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2437
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing