We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveler rating
514
236
134
64
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
514
236
134
64
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese queen street great location hot tub parking garage across the street poogan's porch continental breakfast historic district breakfast delivered beautiful courtyard each morning within walking distance walking tour enjoyed our stay crackers southern hospitality downtown charleston
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 975 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2019

We travel alot, and go to lots of hotels. As a small boutique hotel the Elliot House Inn is a true gem, in a historic setting. Perfect location and real Charlston experience. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served in our perfect room # 24. Request this room for sure! This suite welcomed us with a brand new 2 day young super quiet GE A/C, plus a super cool chandelier ceiling fan. Never seen anything like this anywhere.Lots of new soothing upgrades in #24, including new bathroom with makeup mirror and plenty of hot H2O. Sweet historic wood floors and cable TV. Most important this suite has upstairs views away from street noise looking down on the courtyard with gas fireplace. Did I mention afternoon tea, wine, cheese and wonderful selection of crackers which goes on for hours. Welcome to Charleston !This creates a warm & inviting space. Lastly the entire Inn was spotless and Ashley and all of the staff were friendly & helpful.Southern Hospitality for sure! We would love the opportunity to reurn real soon. Ps we parked our car in a garage right across the street, for only $20 per 24 hours !

Room tip: Request suite # 24, a really sweet suite.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

We are so so so lucky to have guests like you! We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay and provide insight to property. We work hard to ensure you have a nice stay and hope that you'll be back to stay with us again in the near future - we'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

Everything was great expect the breakfast, in the higher priced BnB really was poor quality. Had better breakfast at super 8. I would suggest you negotiate a price without breakfast or plan to haveit elsewhere. A BnB should have a memorable breakfast. If not for that this is a great place to stay in Charleston.

Room tip: Get breakfast elsewhere, at this price.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GoPlaces27260759431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

I appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast. We are always striving to have a positive experience for our guests. We are listening. Thank you for your business and we hope that you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

We just spent 5 days at the Elliott house inn and I would recommend it for comfort, quality of the accommodation, location and the small inn experience. The breakfast was a real let down though. Packaged fruit cups, industrial pastries and bread really did remind me of something you would get at a travel lodge. Although the price point of this inn is far above that. There is real potential here and my comments are intended to be constructive. Stay here to be that small Charleston Inn experience but don't expect much for breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank frank g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to write a recent review of your stay. More importantly, we appreciate you choosing Elliott House Inn for your stay. We are continually monitoring and changing our breakfast options. Thank you for feedback and anticipate needed breakfast changes coming in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

This property was way too expensive for what it delivered. Our room was very noisy and we had to move after two nights. Breakfast was very disappointing. The bathroom was barely adequate with a noisy fan and thin towels.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Odyssey253142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

We are very sorry you didn't sleep well while visiting Elliott House Inn. For future guests that choose to book, please be sure to review a "courtyard guest room" instead of a "traditional guest room". The traditional rooms, while cheaper, are located on the street, so they will be noisier than the rooms that are further back in the courtyard. Our location in the heart of the historic can hear the residual noises from being located in the heart of downtown. We hope that the author of this review give us another try, we'd love to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

We arrived at the Inn and found everyone very pleasant and aiming to make our stay extra nice. the desk manager was very informative and got us settled in immediately. Our room was on the lobby level and just at the nice gathering area at the fireplace. most enjoyable and with a gathering of the guests at the shelter, it was time to meet and greet. all of the guests were glad to be there as a lot of them were from colder climates and anxious to be warmer. the fireplace makes for a nice place to gather and the wine and cheese hour is most welcome. We were happy to swap our favorite restaurant suggestions as well as places of interest in town that we had discovered. The staff was most pleasant and willing to help us in all areas, such as places to visit, restaurants, museums, etc and had plenty or brochures in the lobby. the most interesting piece of information given at checkin was the availability of free DASH buses running to within 100 feet of the Inn. we tried them and found them very efficient and on schedule. the bus drivers were very helpful and friendly too.
overall, the Inn is a pleasant small property, located right in the midst of all downtown areas and certainly within walking distance of some very famous houses and historic sites. We found walking from the Inn to be very nice and a short walk down Queen street will have you at the Dock Street theater or a little further to the Historic harbor and the Water Front Park. We will certainly visit again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to find a quiet, centrally located Inn, with friendly staff and located nearby to many excellent restaurants.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendations that we offered! Charleston has a lot to offer all within a few feet of our hotel. Our DASH transportation service is an awesome tool to use while visiting our city and best of all, it's free of charge! While the inn is small and quaint, hands down one of our biggest attributes is our proximity to all the sites downtown. I'm so pleased to see that you really took in what the city has to offer and enjoyed your time. Please keep us in mind next time you visit Charleston, we'd love to have you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews