We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful for a romantic weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elliott House Inn
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful for a romantic weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Elliot House Inn this past weekend while we were enjoying a romantic getaway. We booked through some last-minute booking phone app my husband has on his phone, so we didn't know much about the inn prior to booking but we were so pleasantly surprised with how everything turned out! The office staff greeted us warmly and was very accommodating. We stayed in room 21 which was quaint and adequately sized for the two of us. It faced the street and had more windows than the other rooms on that 'side' of the inn, since it was an end room. This was both a pro and a con as it had beautiful views and lots of light, but we were also able to hear the city bus and trash truck as it came through every morning. On Saturday night we could hear folks next door at Husk having quite a rowdy evening, but they turned the music off around 11 and otherwise it was not an issue. There is a street lamp outside one of the windows so the room wasn't as dark as we generally prefer, but it probably would have been satisfactory for most people. Next time we visit, we will ask for a room at the back of the inn to see if there is a difference. breakfast was delivered to our room both mornings and although it would have been nice to see different options each day, the amount of food was ample and it was overall very good. We LOVED the location and walked anywhere we wanted to go. My husband, who is generally not picky about hotel rooms and generally sees no need to stay in anything fancy (he figures we'll be out exploring as we travel so the room isn't too important, standard hotel room is fine) absolutely LOVED the EHI and has said he won't be able to return to Charleston and not stay there. Overall, we had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were in room 21 and while we loved the windows and views, we could hear folks at Husk on Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share about your visit with us at The Elliott House Inn. I’m super excited that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you do not want to stay anywhere else the next time you come to Charleston. Room 21 is one of our Traditional Queen Rooms, and it is a wonderful room especially because it is so well lit. Being on such a wonderful culinary based street, you get to enjoy the sights and the sounds of what Charleston has to offer. The Courtyard Rooms in the back of the property tend to provide a little more intimacy and quite time. The breakfast in the morning is a great way to jump start your day, because it provides you with the source of the energy you need to get out and explore this immaculate city. If you are looking for more variety and a full breakfast, we are just steps away from restaurants that will offer you that style of breakfast. Once again, thank you so much for expressing your satisfaction with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    177
    98
    41
    18
See reviews for
46
449
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have stayed at various places in Charleston's historic district over the years. The Elloitt House is one of the best. The location is excellent. The room was well decorated and clean. The staff are polite and helpful. The courtyard is lovely...great place to hang out. The light breakfast brought to the room each morning is a great way to start the day...a light snack before you hit the streets. We couldnt be happier with our overall experience and we would recommend the Elliott House to anyone looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in historic Charleston. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantona15212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We appreciate your review of your stay! I’m pleased to read that the accommodations and staff were top notch for your visit. Our staff works really hard to provide a consistently clean room with great customer service. Please keep us in mind next time you’re visiting the city. We appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Started with the warmest welcome from reception and just got better and better! Amazing room straight out of "Gone with the wind" very spacious and full of character, even had a kitchen and dressing room. Breakfast included and bought to your door every morning (bit on the light side but probably a good thing with such good restaurants around). Loved the wine, cheese at five every day and before that we quenched our thirst after many hours of walking, on the home made iced lemonade in the courtyard. All staff great particularly Neil on reception who was a mine of information. Would not hesitate to go back - perfect location! Hamilton Limos (843) 532-5539 were charming, good value at $14 to the airport each and turned up at least 10 minuets early to avoid any stress. Brilliant meal at Poogans Porch. All in all very successful!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
What a delight to read! I’m so happy to see that we not only met your expectations, but exceeded them. Our location and convenience to all the great restaurants can’t be beat. Next time you are visiting Charleston, we’d love to have you back again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed here for a mini-reunion of 3 couples in Charleston and the courtyard provided a wonderful gathering place for us -- breakfast, afternoon, cocktail time! The accommodations were spacious and lovely.
Front desk staff, especially Neil, were very helpful with all sorts of questions and for making dinner suggestions and reservations for us.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed having your group here this month! I’m pleased to see how much of a good resource Neal was for you – we are extremely fortunate to have him apart of our team. Please make sure that you come back to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Inn was full the first night we tried to get in but the night staff were so very helpful, checking availability at other establishments, that we decided to extend our stay in Charleston and checked in the following lunchtime. Room was very comfortable and quiet. The courtyard was a really nice spot for early (& late) evening drinks. Staff very knowledgeable about the history of Charleston and helped us plan the rest of our road trip.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thanks for choosing us for your lodging destination while visiting Charleston! You are correct, the location can’t be beat. The Elliott House Inn is just steps from all that the city has to offer! I am happy to hear that the accommodations were to your liking. We hope you will visit again on your next trip to Charleston, we'd love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Every time I go the Charleston, which is a couple of times a year for a nice weekend, I stay at the Elliott House Inn. It's location is amazing. You walk out the door and have three of Charleston's best restaurants right there - Husk, Poogins Porch and 82 Queen. You can walk right less than one block to the antiques and clothes shops on King St or go left one block to museums or art shops on Market. You can even go one block south and find yourself on Broad St. The jumping off point for all the lovely houses and gardens that are south of Broad.
The rooms are good sized and nicely appointed and there is a parking garage just across the street so you can park your car and forget it!
It really is a great location!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBWOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with us. It is truly a joy to see guests that return each and every time they come back to Charleston. As mentioned in the review, the location cannot be beat. We are central located in the middle of Historic Charleston, and anything you want to get to is just steps out our door. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you for all of your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Location is great for everything South of Broadway. Room was smallish but comfortable. Staff was attentive and cheerful at all times. Breakfast and daily social hour were very nice. Parking in Public Lot across the street was no problem, but expensive $20 per day.Walls seemed a little thin, could hear guests on both sides of our room, talking or snoring, but not their TV's...hmm. Window Shades are Venitian Blind type and didnt really close out all the light, courtyard and security lights seemed to be on all night so room never got pitch black, maybe a feature, not a flaw?
Would gladly come back.

Room Tip: Bring an eye shade if a really dark room is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjoesten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. I’m especially pleased to read that you enjoyed your time and would come back again – that’s exactly what we want to hear from every guest that stays with us. Next time you book, make sure to ask for a room in the back with curtains – that will probably block out some of the residual sounds and lighting issues you experienced. Thank you again and come back again soon, we would love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#32 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Property: Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing