We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again - Kevin & Cindy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good value for the money. Close to all the restaurants, shops, and tours in historic section of Charleston with everything within walking distance.

Staff was great and took the time to explain the tours, the history, restaurants and other sites to see while we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2kevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your gracious words about the inn. I’m truly excited that we were able to help you while you were here exploring Charleston. Neal at the front desk is a registered tour guide and historian, and knows tons about the city, I’m glad he was able to help you with getting information on Charleston – we are so fortunate to have him apart of our team at Elliott House Inn. Thank you for your kind words about your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 856 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Thanks to the Winter Special Prices. Our room was $99. In Charleston? And the location is fantastic. Right next door to 82 Queen and Husk. A few blocks from Tristan. Half a block from King street. Parking garage across the street. $20 for 24hrs. Continental breakfast delivered to your room or the courtyard. The room was small but nicely furnished with a comfortable Queen bed, large flat screen TV and stylishly appointed bathroom. Rain shower was tricky to turn on but worked great once I figured it out. It's more a motel than an Inn with smart, clean rooms a friendly staff and convenient location at an unbeatable price.

Room Tip: I had 22 upstairs in the front on Meeting St. and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggynorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. I’m glad to see that you found the location to be absolutely superb, and I agree. You happen to come during a slower time of the year which allowed for you to take advantage of some great wintertime rates! The staff truly does appreciate that they were able to be helpful during your brief stay with us. The rooms are built into an old house that was built in 1861, so some of the rooms are a little smaller than typical hotel rooms. All of the rooms are furnished differently, which I believe enhances your stay. We have someone staffed here twenty four hours a day so if any of the guest have questions or issues, we can do our best to accommodate them at any time during their stay. Once again, thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to convey to others about your experience at The Elliott House Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Elliott House. The rooms are good sized, clean and have a beautiful period look. Our room had a roomy shower and no bath which is what we prefer. The room could use a bit more light for reading but was otherwise well appointed. The location is of course excellent. We parked our car for 2 days and walked to everything. We enjoyed the modest breakfast as the typical breakfasts b&b's serve is often way too much food. The courtyard area is charming. It was a bit cool when we were there to enjoy breakfast in the courtyard, but that is a lovely option that is offered.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. This guest booked a Courtyard King Room, and these rooms do have more space to walk around. As mentioned, the breakfast is something lite to get you up and get you going. We do not have parking at the inn, but there is the lot across the street, which is twenty dollars for a twenty four hour period, and you most likely will not have to move your car while you’re here, since most of the sites are within walking distance. I’m thrilled to see that you enjoyed everything so much while you were here, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I hate to give a bad rating to a beautiful property with a great location, but the experience was not very good at all. There was so much unnecessary furniture and decorative items in our small room that there was hardly anywhere to put our stuff. There was a hanging closet that couldn't even be opened because of a heavy glass entry table blocking it that just had a bunch of junk sitting on it and a lamp that you had to wiggle to make work. Then there were two other tables with no real purpose on the other side of the room, just taking up space and again, loaded with gaudy, unnecessary accessories. The small sofa ended up being our suitcase holder, which left no place to sit. The a/c/heater stopped working the second day. We ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night because the maids did not restock. There was literally lint and fuzz on the bathroom wallpaper. We ran out of hot water when showering and the shower drain did not work properly, so the shower bottom filled to the top with water and you had to stand in it while showering. We told them the first day about the shower and they said they would address it, but the problem remaining for our four day stay.
There were pictures hanging on the walls in very odd, low places and we finally figured out they were covering the paint that was splattered throughout the place on the wallpaper and even on the post of the bed. The trim was not even finished on both sides of the door it was short about 3". Not one light, other than the bathroom, was on a switch and the room was very poorly lit with lamps that had candelabra type bulbs. The mattress seemed pretty old and worn out and both our backs suffered the consequences. There was a decorative framed piece hanging in the room with a broken frame - the corner of the frame completely apart, hanging on the wall about a foot off the floor??. Don't they ever look at the rooms to see that they are in this kind of condition and do something about it? I would expect this from a $100 a night Days Inn, but not an expensive Bed and Breakfast in a downtown historic area. And maybe they could invest in some patio heaters for the winter guests, so there's a place to actually sit and relax. Our choice was either the lobby - a sofa just next to the front desk - which is not really big enough to lounge in or the restaurant next door, in which case you have to buy something to eat or drink. We did not eat the breakfast. The choice was very limited and we had no place to eat in our room other than the bed. It was too cold and rainy to eat outside in the patio area.
I will say that the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. That's about the best I can say about our stay. We didn't even get a movie channel for almost $300 a night. After Charleston, we went to Savannah and stayed in another B&B called the Hamilton-Turner Inn. Night and day difference for almost the same price. That place was elegant and there was plenty of room with nothing in disrepair or disarray. I would not stay at the Elliot House again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us at The Elliott House Inn. First off, I want to thank you for complementing the staff and the location. My hope is that what we lacked in accommodations was made up for in our customer service. I would like to address some of the main concerns that were brought to light by this guest, so that future guests can have a better understanding of the property. Unfortunately, for most of their stay this particular guest had a “do not disturb sign” hanging on their door. The entire staff knows that if there is a do not disturb sign on the door on the door, we do not enter the room and respect the guests need for privacy. For example toilet paper, cleaning the room and taking care of some of the maintenance issues that they expressed to our staff were not able to be tended to due to the sign on the door. I’m terribly sorry to hear about the hot water running out on you during your shower, while this is a rare occurrence, please know that we have an annual inspection to ensure our hot water heater is functioning properly. This service was just completed January 2014. All the rooms have different décor, because just like our guest everyone has their own unique taste. The paint splatters that were discussed by the author are in fact correct. Please know that it is never our intention to hide or mask anything behind wall décor and actions are already in place to replace the wall coverings in that particular room. We do have closet space, but the small closet you are referring to is actually a false closet, and that is why the glass table is blocking it. In essence, I am truly sorry that this was not a pleasant experience for you, and though I wish for all of our guest to be satisfied, please do not hesitate to address these issues with the staff at the time you are at the Inn. It is my sincerest hope that you were able to enjoy the city of Charleston even though you had a disappointing stay with us. I am available if the author of this review would like to discuss some of

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Everything about this Inn was nice EXCEPT the musty smell in the room. Hopefully, it was just our room. I understand it's an old building, but I've been in many that didn't have musty odors. For me, it was overpowering and made what would have been a great stay less than so. The location is wonderful and there is no need for a car if you want to see the historic district through walking. We were in a king room in the back. It was quiet and the bed comfy, however if you are shorter than I, (5'3), and unable to jump, getting in and out of bed could be an issue. Maybe stools are provided. The staff was friendly and OTHER THAN the smell, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neworleans08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed the location and the staff at The Elliott House Inn. The beds are a little more off of the ground than typical beds, because that is the style of the beds from the period of the Inn. Available upon request, we do provide stepping stools for the guest to use, I apologize that this was not conveyed to you during your stay. The building although remodeled, is a 150 years old. We understand that we may have guests that are sensitive to those types of smells. Because of this, we provide dehumidifiers for some of our rooms and could have placed one in your unit. Once again thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay. I am truly happy to see that the location and the staff surpassed expectations and would love an opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We rented 3 rooms as part of a family reunion. One room was well appointed, and had a nice outdoor patio. One room was well appointed, but dark. the third was not well appointed, and had a balcony with no furniture that overlooked a parking lot. Breakfast was OK, but more flexibility would have been appreciated. Ammenities were minimal. On the plus side, location was ideal, and staff were accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for spending the time to comment about your recent stay with us at The Elliott House Inn. I’m truly glad that you enjoyed how well appointed two of your three rooms were. I’m sorry, that you did not feel you had enough light around one of the rooms, if only the staff would have been notified we would have done our best to correct this scenario for you. All the rooms are designed differently, and as mentioned in the review one of the room’s private balconies overlooked a parking lot, however, the piazza for this room views our florid courtyard. As seen in this review and in a few others, the breakfast is lite, but that does give you the option of going out for a larger breakfast at anyone of the fantastic breakfast restaurants that surround us, or it gives you the opportunity of having a bigger early lunch at one of the surrounding world-class restaurants that Charleston has become known for. In regards to the breakfast, we are always looking for ways to improve our menu. Even though there were some very minor issues with your stay, I’m overjoyed to see how much you enjoyed the location, and that the staff was able to help you enjoy your stay in the city. Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us, and we look forward to you giving us another chance the next time you are in Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This little inn is in a perfect location, right off King and Meeting Streets, near the market, and right beside 3 excellent restaurants. The price was relatively good, for downtown Charleston. The breakfast is a simple but nice enough continental, and there are several breakfast restaurants within walking distance. The room was comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We have stayed here several times, and I'm sure we will again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

It was such a pleasure getting to chat with you while you were staying at the Inn! Thank you so much for continuing to stay with us when you come down to visit Charleston. All of the staff is eager to see new and returning guests. I look forward to seeing y’all again the next time you are in Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,638 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
664 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $179 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing