We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great room, amenities and amazing location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elliott House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elliott House Inn
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great room, amenities and amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Park your car or better yet, don't bother bringing one, from this hotel, you will never need it! The bed was comfortable, the room spacious and fully updated. Apparently this hotel went through a complete remodel in 2011 and has come out looking and feeling wonderful. The staff is friendly and they provide a number of special touches which include wine and cheese at 5;00 every day and breakfast in your room or in the courtyard.
We took breakfast in the courtyard all three days and thoroughly enjoyed it. Each night you get to select what you will have for breakfast the next morning, what time and where you would like to have it, so you can change it up each day depending on your mood.
Anywhere you want to go in Charleston is an easy walk from this hotel on a quiet street sandwiched between two of Charleston's finest restaurants (Husk and 82 Queen). In fact, you can have room service delivered from 82 Queen. Husk was a special treat, we enjoyed brunch on Sunday after church.
At the end of a busy day of tourism, stop by the front office and have a little Brandy before you head to bed. A perfect treat to end your day at a lovely home away from home.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBWOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, we do not have any parking at the hotel, but there is a lot across the street that is just twenty dollars a day, and who needs a car while you are in Charleston. The Inn is surrounded by fantastic restaurants and shopping hot spots. The lobby is warm and inviting as you try to plan out your trip for all things Charleston. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share with others about your recent stay. We look forward to hearing from you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    191
    105
    44
    18
See reviews for
52
488
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our stay was memorable thanks to the staff, the accommodations, and location. Situated in the heart of the historic district, the Elliot House is ideally located for all those wishing to explore all that this charming city has to offer. Enjoy breakfast in bed or the charming courtyard. Slept like a log and loved the spacious shower. Neal is a font of Charleston's place in U.S. history. I can hardly wait to book my next trip.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard view. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Furthermore, I truly appreciate that you took the time to comment about how well you were treated by the staff. The location can’t be beat, because Charleston has so many wonderful locations to explore. Neal at the Front Desk is a wealth of knowledge about what there is to see and do, and he also provides tours when he is available. Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. Hopefully, your travels will bring you back our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fox lake, il
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friendly people, immaculate room, delicious breakfast brought to our room-we will be back!! Loved the courtyard & Jacuzzi. Wine tasting in the evening. It was located within walking distance to a lot of the things we wanted to see. We found the Elliott House Inn on Tripadvisor and the reviews were what made us choose it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us! The wine, Jacuzzi and well-appointed courtyard can’t be beat. I’m especially happy to read that our Trip Advisor page is what brought you to our property! Our staff takes great pride in our property and I’m pleased to read we met your expectations. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I give this place an average ranking because I think there are better options for the $$. This was my second visit to Charleston and 2nd time staying at a B&B. My room was on the first floor so I could hear the people above me. The room was nicely furnished. Love the 4 poster Queen size bed. However, the room was not well illuminated. Maybe it was on purpose, but I kept wanting to switch on more lights. Breakfast is provided, but very basic. I ate out instead. The courtyard isn't anything fancy, but they do have table and chairs and refreshments are served. You're on your own with parking. There really isn't anywhere to pull up and park in front of the hotel so I parked a blocked away. The location, however, is perfect. Everything's within walking distance. I parked at a meter and only moved my car to drive over to Sullivan's Island for the day. Overall, good place to stay if location is most important. But compared to John Rutledge Inn, you can get more bang for your buck.

Room Tip: Rooms have hardwood floors. Avoid first floor rooms if you don't want to hear people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cody1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I appreciate you taking the to review your current stay with us. I’m saddened to see that we may have fallen short on what you expected the property to be. I’m very sorry. I understand that sometimes we are not a good fit for every guest that comes to visit Charleston. I hope that you would give us another try when visiting Charleston again. We really are a unique property with a great team of folks to help you during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated birthday with an in town stay. Neat small tucked away B&B near the market and shops in Charleston. Nicely appointed rooms and all was well. Loved it. Perfect for anniversary stay over as it has a romantic appeal from the courtyard to the four poster high beds. Internet free and works. Reasonable for downtown in CHS especially given its charm.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acieu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much for spending your vacation with us! I’m pleased to see that we met your expectations. Please come back again, we would love to you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay in Charleston! I was a little leery coming here after reading some reviews from tripadvisor.com, but this place is perfect. Do you get a great view when you look out your window? No, but you can't beat the price; especially staying downtown. Everything is within walking distance, and the free Charleston trolley has a stop a block away. The parking is unfortunate, but you'll get the same at any hotel down here. The rooms have clean linens, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, and friendly staff. The rooms are "small", but there is plenty to do in Charleston rain or shine so there's no excuse to be sitting inside anyways. This was our first time in Charleston and we will definitely be back to the Elliot House Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us! With free trolley bus pick up just one block away and all the sights right outside our doorstep, our location can’t be beat! We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I’m excited to see that you’ll be back again – we would love to have you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

First trip to Charleston.... and the Inn met expectations on period charm. The room was very clean & comfortable,(the bathroom was nicely updated. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The only negative because we booked last minute) was we stayed at street level in a street facing room so we had noise from the restaurant next door until very late and the delivery and garbage truck noise starts up around 6:30am. I would stay again, but book early and request a room further away from the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Elliott House Inn. I’m sorry that the early morning traffic woke you up. Like you mentioned, we just had limited space left at the time when you booked the reservation, so we did not have any options to move you further away from the street. I’m glad that you were able to enjoy your experience here not only in Charleston, but with us at The Elliott House Inn. The next time you stay with us, we will do our best to put you in a room a little further away from the noise. Thank you so much for complementing the staff, and telling others how much you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#35 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Property: Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing