We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Very Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elliott House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elliott House Inn
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Location and Very Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights, the staff is very friendly and welcoming, the location is ideal for shopping and eating and exploring downtown. There are a couple fantastic restaurants right on the same street! Our room was very quaint, nicely decorated, clean and the beds very comfortable. Our only complaint and its not one that the hotel can very well fix is the unexpected wake up call at 5am for garbage pickup - I would definitely ask for a room far from the street if you like to sleep in. Breakfast was good, very light continental - if your looking for something heartier definitely go out to eat. We missed the wine and cheese receptions since we were busy exploring but enjoyed the hot tub later in the evening. There is no parking at the hotel and if we didn't need a rental car for the rest of the trip we wouldn't have opted to have one since parking in the garage is $20 a day. Overall the EHI was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athena15AlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at The Elliott House Inn. First off, we do always enjoy hearing how well you were treated by our staff. The location of the property is ideal, because you are right in the middle of everything. As the reviewer mentioned we do not have any parking at the inn, but the lot across the street is twenty dollars for a twenty-four hour period. Especially during this time of the year, the outdoor heated Jacuzzi is delightful and numerous of our guests do take advantage of that particular amenity. Lastly, we are surrounded by some of the best restaurants in the United States and with the great location, come some early morning deliveries and pickups. The Elliott House has taken steps to mute out some of the noise, for example, thicker window installments. Also, when you book a reservation you are able to select between courtyard rooms and traditional rooms. The traditional rooms are facing the street, and the courtyard rooms are facing more in the direction of the courtyard. Once again, thank you for choosing us while you stayed in Charleston and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    166
    95
    36
    17
See reviews for
40
423
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A great location close to all you could want to see in the city. Great breakfasts served in your room or in the courtyard (too cold for us in December!). A very 'gracious' feel to the place. Neil, one of the front office staff took us on a 2 hour guided walking tour after his afternoon shift - he knows all you need to know about Charleston - great value too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Happy New Year to You! I am glad to hear your new year got off to a good start here at The Elliott House Inn. We are very lucky to have Neal as a part of our team, his tours are a very special treat for our guests and he caters them to meet the demands of who he’s taking on a tour, no other company can do that in Charleston! We hope to see you back again soon at The Elliott House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.C.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We booked at the last minute at a very reasonable rate for Charleston and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and concerned with our comfort. We enjoyed a soak in the jacuzzi pool and the complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoons. We've stayed in Charleston many times and this is one of the best combinations of location, comfort and service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triptakerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Elliott House Inn. The wintertime is definitely a very economical time to come and enjoy everything Charleston has to offer. It is always great to hear that our staff was able to accommodate all of your needs, and that our accommodations met your expectations. We do hope you come back to stay with us on your next visit, please keep us in mind!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Was very please to arrive in time for the complimentary wine in the courtyard by the hot tub/mini pool. Delightful room, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Fantastic location in easy walking distance from lots of shopping and sights, just know that parking is not available and will run you ~$20 offsite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the street as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I am happy to hear you arrived in time to enjoy our wine and cheese reception. I agree the location can’t be beat. We are just steps from the best of everything Charleston has to offer. Our cleaning staff takes great pride in making sure that we provide you with a clean room for your stay, I’m pleased to read that we met your expectations! We hope you will return on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our room was clean and newly redecorated. The shower heads were a bit awkward, but functional. THe bed was comfortable, but a tad soft. The room sorely needed a table or desk upon which to write, place breakfast, or set up your computer. Every evening at 5 there is wine, cheese and crackers in the garden courtyard. Lovely! However, every morning at 5 am they collect the trash at the big hotel across the street. This is not the Elliot House's fault, but ear plugs would help - or book a room far away from the street. It is a real plus that there are three excellent restaurants right on the same block. Overall, the staff at the Elliot House was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and freshly kitted out, and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Elliott house Inn for your trip to Charleston. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our staff to be helpful. While the exterior street noise is not within our control, be sure to ask for a room in the back of the inn when booking. We've separated out the room types so our guests are aware if they are purchasing a street view or courtyard view, to avoid any confusion. Most of our rooms come equipped with a desk or activity table, should you visit us again in the future (please do!), make sure to request a desk for your business work and we'll take the time to accommodate you. We do appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

They are a lovely inn, the location is spectacular, the employees are very nice and helpful. I would stay there again, and happily however I do have a bit of an irritation. I suppose that it was more of a irritation on their advertizing. They bill themselves as a bed and breakfast, and provide a very light snackish sort of breakfast but this should not qualify them as a bed and breakfast. A true bed and breakfast serves a hot meal, gives you a choice of how your eggs are cooked, etc. The website shows pictures of pastry, but I can assure you that they do not appear as one of the choices on your menu (which are pre-printed and were the same daily - probably bought in bulk). Either a cold hard boiled egg and cereal (the little plastic single servings with a carton of milk the same as served at hospitals), a bagel with butter and cream cheese with half a grapefruit, or yogurt and granola with a banana nut muffin. Coffee and OJ also available. I work in a hospital, and we offer a better continental breakfast delivered to your room than was offered here, and we all know how famous hospitals are for the quality of their food right? The only things different from continental breakfast served at the Super8 are the lack of ability to mix and match, fewer choices and room delivery. I was a bit peeved. The pictures show pastry, I love pastry, there was no pastry. That being said, again the location was awesome, we could walk literally everywhere you would want to go! The price is still right even without the offered breakfast, which we only ordered for the coffee by the second day. So, all in all, a lovely stay on the upper floors away from the streets. The rooms are tight but more cozy than cramped, enjoy coffee brought to your room while you get ready for you day, but go out for breakfast. Also, a warning for families, there are no doors adjoining rooms, the halls are narrow, the elevator small, the rooms would be very tight for kids, and they have no cots or cribs. This is not a hotel designed for families with kids that are not fairly independent and trustworthy while away from their parents.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for commenting about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. We truly appreciate your altruistic words about the staff. As you mentioned, the breakfast is not a hot breakfast, but it is something meant to get you up and get you going. We did use to have a section that was for Danishes, but people tended to like the other food options that weren’t as sweet, more. Next, we welcome all people to stay at The Elliott House Inn, families included, but all of our rooms do only have bed per room and we do not have cots or rollaway beds. Once again, thank you for staying with us at The Elliott House Inn and we look forward to you returning when you are in Charleston next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on our way south after Thanksgiving. The staff were very helpful and our room, on the ground floor, away from the street was quiet and well appointed. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio and the wine and cheese in the late afternoon. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. We never get tired of hearing about how well you were treated at the inn. The wine and cheese is a wonderful event put on for the guests not only to show how much we appreciate you, but so that you can mingle with the other visitors. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#32 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott House Inn

Property: Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing