We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

another wonderful stay at the Elliott House. Aside from fabulous location, nicely renovated rooms, and great service, the jacuzzi in the courtyard is great to soak your tired feet in after a long day of exploring! Wine, crackers, a foot soak, beautiful surroundings ~ Elliott House is great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwgurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious comments about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. What more could you ask for: crackers, Jacuzzi, wonderful service, and wine all at your fingertips. We look forward to hosting you again for many more stays to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    219
    117
    51
    22
See reviews for
64
579
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ut
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent two weeknights and two weekend nights at the Elliott House Inn in early November. The location is a dream, on Queen Street in the heart of the historic district and next to two of Charleston's best restaurants. However, this proximity is also a problem if you're in one of the (many) rooms that directly face the narrow alley dividing the Elliott House from the Husk Bar -- the patrons are noisy late into the evening, and the bar apparently gets deliveries at about 6:45 am, at which point it gets even louder -- delivery trucks park outside and wake you up. (The hotel has apparently taken steps to mute the noise in the rooms, but there's not much they can do.) Everything else about the location is fantastic, however; it's in the heart of the Historic District, King Street shopping is only a few steps away, and some of the best food in the world is available on Meeting and East Bay a block or so in the other direction.

I can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the Elliott House staff. Every interaction I had with them was positive; they demonstrated the perfect balance of Southern warmth and professional efficiency.

My room was smallish (which you have to expect with an older hotel) but charmingly appointed. The bed was comfortable, but I was a little bit surprised that this hotel still uses blankets rather than comforters, which most hotels now have adopted. There was no extra blanket (I'm sure I could have gotten one if I requested it), and since the weather was chilly while I was there, I had to keep the room warmer than I would prefer in order to sleep comfortably at night. That's a pretty minor issue, though.

My only substantive complaint with the room itself would be the complete lack of any kind of desk or workspace -- I was traveling on business and could really have used a desk. However, the wifi was both free and reliable (a rare combination in any hotel), and that helped a lot.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Elliott House Inn to couples looking for a romantic weekend getaway, though I'd advise that you bring earplugs if you want to sleep past 7:00 am. For business travelers, it's not an ideal choice but certainly would work as a backup option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the bar next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for spending the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. The location is a dream, because you can go throughout the “Holy City” and never have to use a car. As previously mentioned, the rooms are all different not only in their size, but in the furnishing that are in each individual room. Thank you, for conveying how wonderful the staff was during your stay. I will agree with you, Charleston’s culinary scene is tremendous and per square block there are only a few places in the world that have as much to offer when it comes to quality and atmosphere. Once again, thank you for commenting about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our recent three night stay was our first visit to Charleston and proved most enjoyable. The location of the hotel was very good, with many of the historic sights, shops and restaurants within easy walking distance or via the free shuttle bus service. The staff were helpful and friendly and the afternoon wine and cheese refreshments were well recieved. The rooms were comfortable and clean although a little dark, with not much natural daylight. However, considering the recent refurbishments some of the external areas were a bit untidy and the standard of decoration in the rooms was not to a high standard. The additional $20 per day public parking charge with no discount for residents, came on top of the quite expensive bed & breakfast room rates. All things considered, the overall cost of the accommodation was high for what was provided and for this reason we would probably not use this hotel again if we returned to Charleston.

Room Tip: Non of the rooms had a particularly good view. The rooms with balconies were a little smaller and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing about your time at The Elliott House Inn. Thank you, for espousing how friendly the staff was and how they helped out with any questions that you may have had. As you mentioned, the free trolley system has a stop right near the inn, so it is perfect if you want to see the town, but not walk anywhere. Unfortunately, we do not have any parking at the inn; however, the lot across the street is twenty dollars for a twenty four hour period. A nice option if you do not want to spend money parking across the street is to park on the waterfront, on Murray Boulevard, which is free street parking all day. If you have any parking questions prior or during your stay, please ask the front desk about the numerous parking options that the area has to offer. Lastly, all the rooms are unique, meaning that each room is different; from a variety of different standpoints, although, the décor through the majority of the rooms reflect a Victorian Era Persona. I’m glad that the stupendous service and excellent location went along way in helping your “Mini Break” in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This facility is bed and breakfast like but not quite all the charm. Great location, next to three of the best rest. In town. Also walkig disance to all the downtown area. Room was fine and clean as well as the desk staff was super helpful and friendly. I would stay here again for the price and the location. When you see the area prices you will certainly consider this property. Be sure to visit the rest nearby, the best food.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidh6716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. As you mentioned, the location and the staff are superb! The next time you find your way into Charleston, make sure that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked the Elliott House after calling our first four choices to stay in Charleston about a month before our arrival. They were all booked. I do recommend booking your hotel early for this city. With that being said, I'm so glad that the other places I called were unavailable! The location of the Elliott House is perfect- right next to Husk and a block from King Street. It's an easy walk to Magnolia's and Church Street. The inn is quaint, romantic, and renovated. It has an open air courtyard where you can choose to have your breakfast free of charge- there are 3 different breakfast options. It is not a big breakfast but will hold you over until lunch. Beware on Sunday mornings when the restaurant next door starts the leaf blower in preparation for brunch starting at 8am. . .yikes. We celebrated my birthday at the inn and they had a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in our room which was a nice touch and a fantastic surprise. The parking garage is across the street from the inn and was $20 a day. We enjoyed our one night stay here very much and would stay here again even with the morning noise.

Room Tip: 16 only has one shared wall and is away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I’m so excited that you got the opportunity to stay with us at The Elliott House Inn! The location is wonderful and room 16, like every room, is charming in its own unique way. The parking is convenient, because it is right across the street. Also, thank you for recommending us for future visits to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Elliott House Inn. It is nice to be within walking distance to most everything. Our room was on the back side, so it was quiet. The afternoon wine and cheese was a nice touch. The wine was nothing special, but it was still a nice way to start our evening out. The room was clean and quiet and that is what matters most.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for commenting about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. Every room at the inn is different from the décor to the location, some rooms face towards our magnificent courtyard, while the others overlook some of the finest restaurants in the city. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A friend of mine and I visited The Elliott House Inn for a two night stay this week and we couldn’t have been happier with this historical inn.

The location was great with a parking garage right across the street and the shopping district right around the corner. When we called, we were told that there were 3 rooms with some street noise for lower rates, and so we chose the standard rate and got a lovely room overlooking the courtyard. It was very clean and the housekeeping staff was great! (They even bring your breakfast right to your room and Monica was such a joy!)

Neal at the Front Desk was very knowledgeable and we even took his walking tour of the city which was awesome. I highly recommend taking Neal’s tour since he is right there at the inn and he brings you right back there in time for the lovely wine and cheese reception that they offer every evening.

We saw the manager (Ashley) a few times and she was so warm and welcoming to us every time we spoke. She also offered us some useful advice about where to go and eat as well. Thanks Ashley!
I would defiantly return to this charming inn for a future stay.

Room Tip: Take Neal's Walking Tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit to The Elliott House Inn. It seems like from the review that you had the time to get to know much of the staff. Monica just like all the housekeeping staff is willing to help with any questions that you may have. Neal is a wonderful person to have at the inn because of his knowledge about the area and his willingness to help out in any way that he can. The history tour he offers cannot be beat and it is a great way to learn not only the history of the area, but to be shown alleyways that aren’t even named on the map. Once again, thank you for your kind words about the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,588 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#32 of 61 in Charleston
592 reviews
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
642 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Property: The Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing