We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked the Elliott House after calling our first four choices to stay in Charleston about a month before our arrival. They were all booked. I do recommend booking your hotel early for this city. With that being said, I'm so glad that the other places I called were unavailable! The location of the Elliott House is perfect- right next to Husk and a block from King Street. It's an easy walk to Magnolia's and Church Street. The inn is quaint, romantic, and renovated. It has an open air courtyard where you can choose to have your breakfast free of charge- there are 3 different breakfast options. It is not a big breakfast but will hold you over until lunch. Beware on Sunday mornings when the restaurant next door starts the leaf blower in preparation for brunch starting at 8am. . .yikes. We celebrated my birthday at the inn and they had a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in our room which was a nice touch and a fantastic surprise. The parking garage is across the street from the inn and was $20 a day. We enjoyed our one night stay here very much and would stay here again even with the morning noise.

Room Tip: 16 only has one shared wall and is away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I’m so excited that you got the opportunity to stay with us at The Elliott House Inn! The location is wonderful and room 16, like every room, is charming in its own unique way. The parking is convenient, because it is right across the street. Also, thank you for recommending us for future visits to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 861 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Elliott House Inn. It is nice to be within walking distance to most everything. Our room was on the back side, so it was quiet. The afternoon wine and cheese was a nice touch. The wine was nothing special, but it was still a nice way to start our evening out. The room was clean and quiet and that is what matters most.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for commenting about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. Every room at the inn is different from the décor to the location, some rooms face towards our magnificent courtyard, while the others overlook some of the finest restaurants in the city. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A friend of mine and I visited The Elliott House Inn for a two night stay this week and we couldn’t have been happier with this historical inn.

The location was great with a parking garage right across the street and the shopping district right around the corner. When we called, we were told that there were 3 rooms with some street noise for lower rates, and so we chose the standard rate and got a lovely room overlooking the courtyard. It was very clean and the housekeeping staff was great! (They even bring your breakfast right to your room and Monica was such a joy!)

Neal at the Front Desk was very knowledgeable and we even took his walking tour of the city which was awesome. I highly recommend taking Neal’s tour since he is right there at the inn and he brings you right back there in time for the lovely wine and cheese reception that they offer every evening.

We saw the manager (Ashley) a few times and she was so warm and welcoming to us every time we spoke. She also offered us some useful advice about where to go and eat as well. Thanks Ashley!
I would defiantly return to this charming inn for a future stay.

Room Tip: Take Neal's Walking Tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit to The Elliott House Inn. It seems like from the review that you had the time to get to know much of the staff. Monica just like all the housekeeping staff is willing to help with any questions that you may have. Neal is a wonderful person to have at the inn because of his knowledge about the area and his willingness to help out in any way that he can. The history tour he offers cannot be beat and it is a great way to learn not only the history of the area, but to be shown alleyways that aren’t even named on the map. Once again, thank you for your kind words about the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Elliot House as part of our Low Country package. Very good bed. Room was nice and quiet. Parking was expensive ($20 day across the street). Pretty grounds! Breakfast was unexciting but served in your room or in the pretty courtyard. Nice restaurant next door.
(But the red wine at the evening reception was terrible). Overall, a very nice stay. Great locatioin for exploring downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the inn. The breakfast is a continental style breakfast that you can either choose to have in your room or in the courtyard. When you arrive to the inn the breakfast card is in the room, and you have three small breakfast options. The breakfast is intended to give you enough in your stomach to go explore the city but not to fill you up, our location is perfect if you are looking to find a restaurant that will serve a full breakfast. Lastly, the wine and cheese reception offered every evening is a great way for guests from all over the world to meet each other and to talk about their experiences. I’m sorry that you did not particularly care for the wine at the reception but it is served at some of the best restaurants in Charleston, and we like to offer it to our guests to show our appreciation for you choosing to stay with us. Once again, thank you for espousing how much you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Elliott House Inn and overall had a decent stay. We stayed in one of the courtyard queen rooms. Our room was very nice, but a little on the small side. We also had an a/c unit that had a fan that was about to go bad which caused it to be rather loud. We should have told the front desk earlier about it, but didn't. That's our fault.

The location could not have been any better and we walked EVERYWHERE. It made it especially nice because the weather was fantastic while we were there in mid October. The main reason I gave this property 4 stars was because of the excellent location. Pretty much everything else was average, especially considering the $$$.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raleighwood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. First off, I’m glad that you truly enjoyed the location of the inn, because as previously mentioned the location is superb. I’m sorry to hear that the A/C unit in your room was loud, because all of the units are a year old or less. We have someone staffed at the front desk if you have any questions or concerns about the room, because we look forward to making your stay the best it can possibly be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently had an early week getaway to Charleston. Enjoyed the stay at the Elliot House. Rooms have been updated recently and were very nice and clean.

The location is VERY convenient and you can walk to everything. It is basically right beside the Mills House which is a lot more costly.

We enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese in the courtyard and the staff was friendly.

We couldn't find a special so we paid $180 ($200 with tax) which is high. But that was $40-$100 less than the other hotels in the same vicinity.

Followed the advice in s previous review and asked for a room away from the street. It was very quiet.

Overall very nice stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troutfisher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much about your nice words about the inn. As you mentioned, the price and the location cannot be beat. It sounds like location gave you the opportunity to go and explore everything that Charleston has to offer, and I’m glad your time at the inn was wonderful as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Elliott House Inn for future trips to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I came here for what I hoped would be a romantic getaway. From the outside, it looked promising & the location was great. But when we got to the room, I couldn't help but be disappointed. Our room was on the first floor near the street, right underneath the stairs, across from bike storage. It was so, so loud. We asked for a different room but there wasn't one available. (Note: Tell them you don't want room # 11 in advance). Once inside, we had to close the blinds on both sides of the room as people could look in on either side. There was no overhead lighting - just two lamps on either side of the bed. This made the room incredibly dark. It was also a bit smelly. Online the breakfast was touted as "an elegant continental breakfast featuring an assortment of pastries, fresh seasonal fruit...". In reality, the choices available for breakfast were (a) a bagel & 1/2 a grapefruit or (b) yogurt & granola & a banana nut muffin or (c) cereal & a hard boiled egg. To me, this was misleading. All in all, it was not relaxing or elegant or charming as described. We checked out early & had to pay an additional $50 fee. There were no apologies from mgmt. I would NOT suggest this inn for your stay in Charleston.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

I'm very sorry to read of your recent stay with with us not meeting your expectations. In months past, we've taken measures to ensure the guest experience is as best as it can be. One of the ways we've done this is by providing two room types - courtyard view guest rooms and traditonal guest rooms that overlook queen street. We put this in place to ensure that the guest knows upfront specifically what room they are getting and paying for. After researching your reservation I see that you opted to purchase the traditional queen guest room. This room type is in fact closer to the street. While I'm not sure if the courtyard view rooms were available at the time you booked your reservation, had we had the space available, my staff would have been more than gracious to move you to a room in the back. In fact, I believe that the option was provided for you to move to a room in the back on your second night, which you've declined. I'm quite sure that had you given us an oppourtunity to move you to one of those rooms while you were visiting that we would have better met your expectations. We would love to have you stay with us again, if given a chance, I'm sure our superb staff and accomodations will be exactly what you are looking for while visiting Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,647 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,881 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
665 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $167 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing