We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Elliott House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Elliott House Inn in Charleston is charming from Queen Street, and the courtyard is lovely. The staff were very pleasant, but failed to remedy this major snafu in my reservation. Imagine reserving a second story room for two nights for your second honeymoon, then finding yourself in a ground floor room with pounding feet overhead until after midnight and your only window less than 10 feet from the kitchen door of a busy restaurant. I now know that restaurant kitchens are busy, bright and LOUD until after midnight, and resume the same clatter around 3:00 a.m. The slats of the window blinds could not block the glare. FYI room 15 is for non-sleepers or catatonics.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

I'm saddened to read of your recent stay with us. Due to smaller size of our property (just 25 rooms) we can never guarentee certain room numbers, however we try our best to honor reservation requests, whenever possible. I'm sorry that we were not able to accommodate your second floor room request for your special stay with us.

While the restaurant next door does bring noise, we've recently purchased noise abatement window inserts to help deafen the sounds that hear outside your window. While this doesn't block out 100% of the noise, it does help substaintailly. We are also looking into curtain options with a local design compnay to help soften the noise and the light that you mentioned. I hope that you will give us another try when visiting Charleston. Please understand that we are located in the heart of downtown Charleston and with that comes some noise that we cannot control. I am very sorry for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 861 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

On our first trip to Charleston we needed a room for two nights. The Elliott House Inn fit the bill. The Inn staff is friendly and very informative about where to visit while in town. The pool is small but the delivered continental breakfast is great. This breakfast is either delivered to your room or the relaxing courtyard. The rooms have all been remodeled with a very comfortable but high four poster bed, large flat screen TV and beautiful furnishings. The Inn has a lovely couryard that they also serve wine and cheese dailey around 5pm till 6pm. There are several good restaurants in the area 82 Queen St next door and Hust on the other side. Go right out of the Inn to the corner turn left for about 1 1/2 blocks tio Toast a wonderful restaurant with great food at great prices. I hope to return to Charleston and will definately stay at the Elloitt House Inn. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for a room further from the street, they are very accomidating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timdean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary words about The Elliott House Inn. Thank you, for pointing out how wonderful the staff was from arrival to departure. The Elliott House Inn location cannot be beat when it comes to historic tour destinations, to shopping, to casual and fine dinning restaurants. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we look forward to being your host again next time you are in Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I chose to stay here during my first trip to Charleston. The moment I pulled up, it was everything I expected and more. Beautiful exterior architecture, wonderful staff, terrific location for couples and families alike. Close to the water, carriage rides and all the best restaurants. Great price as well. Saved a ton on cabs by staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JP80206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Wow! Thank you for wonderful comments. I’m extremely honored that from the time you arrived to the time you left that you felt truly welcomed. We are overjoyed that you enjoyed the helpful staff, we are very fortunate to have them apart of our team. As always, we look forward to you staying here with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you want the BEST of historic Charleston, this is the place to be. It is a historic structure, where the rooms recently underwent major updating renovations. The hotel is centrally located one-half block from "the" intersection of the major streets and immediately adjacent to the best of the restaurants, tourist attractions, and shopping for which Charleston is famous. The narrow, two-lane, one-way street in front of the hotel has limited traffic and, consequently, traffic noise is not a problem. The small number of individually appointed rooms in this boutique hotel assures that you will have something "new" each time you visit. For those touring surrounding attractions with a car, this hotel has something that virtually all Charleston hotels lack -- lots of parking available in a multi-level garage, which is located directly across the street.

Room Tip: My favorite room is number 14. Be sure to ask for it. You will be glad that you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoGolfTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed the recent renovations that Elliott House Inn has gone under. Also, as you stated the location cannot be beat. As mentioned, the parking right across the street is ideal, because you can leave your car and walk wherever you want. The parking lot across the street is just a mere twenty dollars per day. Once again, thank you for your gracious words about Elliott House, and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the Elliott House for three nights during restaurant week. They offered a special discounted rate that couldn't be beat by any other place in the city. Our room was on the second floor of the courtyard. While it was small, it was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. They serve a simple breakfast in the courtyard or delivered to your room. You can't beat the location of this inn and you can walk to everything in the city from here.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2dineoutOkatie_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing The Elliott House on your trip to Charleston. Restaurant week is a great time to enjoy all of Charleston’s best restaurants. We hope you will visit again on your next trip! We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I are just finishing up a 5 day/4 night stay here at the Elliot House. It has been wonderful and we wouldn't hesitate to return to this inn for our next trip. The staff is very helpful and the inner courtyard is sooo beautiful and relaxing. Complimentary breakfast is brought to your room or in the courtyard daily. The beautifully landscaped hot tub has been used by my wife and I every day! You can't beat the location here as you are steps away from awesome restaurants like Husk, Poogans Porch and 82 Queen Street. Around the corner is King Street and non-stop specialty shopping for blocks on-end. Its a short scenic walk to Rainbow Row and the Battery area.

I can't imagine a better location in Charleston. Our room was so comfortable and quiet. The bed was especially comfortable.

You must plan a stay here soon.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and tucked in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. We are incredibly lucky; our location in the historic district is just steps away from all of Charleston’s best historical sights, restaurants, and shopping. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the courtyard and the relaxing Jacuzzi. We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently during a much needed long weekend getaway, and was overall very pleased. We got a great rate through a Groupon type deal which made it even better. As other reviewers have noted, there really isnt a good place to load/unload your vehicle. I didn't find this too bad because the parking deck ($20 Fee) is literally directly across the street. We parked our car when we arrived and never touched it again until we left which is one of our favorite things about Charleston. The location was perfect and within an easy walking distance to everything the city has to offer. The few things that were a little too far away was an easy, and free, trolley ride away. The rooms were recently remodeled and were fantastic. The decor was a perfect blend of historic Charleston and modern convenience. We particularly enjoyed that we had windows on both sides of our room. As an upper level room near the front of the Inn, we had a direct view of the restaurant deck located beside us. I thought this would produce a high noise level at night but we never noticed it. It was acutally a little fun peeking out the window and seeing what the food looked like next door lol. Overall, the Elliott House Inn was just what we wanted for our accomodations in Charleston, a quaint historic inn in a perfect location. We will be back!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms avoid the bug problems other travelers have noted. Upper level rooms near the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations. Our location does make it easy to see everything that Charleston has to offer. The free trolley does make getting to those few places that are just a bit too far easily accessible, especially in that hot. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,647 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,881 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
665 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $167 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing