We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Old Charleston!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I chose to stay here during my first trip to Charleston. The moment I pulled up, it was everything I expected and more. Beautiful exterior architecture, wonderful staff, terrific location for couples and families alike. Close to the water, carriage rides and all the best restaurants. Great price as well. Saved a ton on cabs by staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JP80206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Wow! Thank you for wonderful comments. I’m extremely honored that from the time you arrived to the time you left that you felt truly welcomed. We are overjoyed that you enjoyed the helpful staff, we are very fortunate to have them apart of our team. As always, we look forward to you staying here with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 856 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you want the BEST of historic Charleston, this is the place to be. It is a historic structure, where the rooms recently underwent major updating renovations. The hotel is centrally located one-half block from "the" intersection of the major streets and immediately adjacent to the best of the restaurants, tourist attractions, and shopping for which Charleston is famous. The narrow, two-lane, one-way street in front of the hotel has limited traffic and, consequently, traffic noise is not a problem. The small number of individually appointed rooms in this boutique hotel assures that you will have something "new" each time you visit. For those touring surrounding attractions with a car, this hotel has something that virtually all Charleston hotels lack -- lots of parking available in a multi-level garage, which is located directly across the street.

Room Tip: My favorite room is number 14. Be sure to ask for it. You will be glad that you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoGolfTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed the recent renovations that Elliott House Inn has gone under. Also, as you stated the location cannot be beat. As mentioned, the parking right across the street is ideal, because you can leave your car and walk wherever you want. The parking lot across the street is just a mere twenty dollars per day. Once again, thank you for your gracious words about Elliott House, and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the Elliott House for three nights during restaurant week. They offered a special discounted rate that couldn't be beat by any other place in the city. Our room was on the second floor of the courtyard. While it was small, it was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. They serve a simple breakfast in the courtyard or delivered to your room. You can't beat the location of this inn and you can walk to everything in the city from here.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2dineoutOkatie_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for choosing The Elliott House on your trip to Charleston. Restaurant week is a great time to enjoy all of Charleston’s best restaurants. We hope you will visit again on your next trip! We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I are just finishing up a 5 day/4 night stay here at the Elliot House. It has been wonderful and we wouldn't hesitate to return to this inn for our next trip. The staff is very helpful and the inner courtyard is sooo beautiful and relaxing. Complimentary breakfast is brought to your room or in the courtyard daily. The beautifully landscaped hot tub has been used by my wife and I every day! You can't beat the location here as you are steps away from awesome restaurants like Husk, Poogans Porch and 82 Queen Street. Around the corner is King Street and non-stop specialty shopping for blocks on-end. Its a short scenic walk to Rainbow Row and the Battery area.

I can't imagine a better location in Charleston. Our room was so comfortable and quiet. The bed was especially comfortable.

You must plan a stay here soon.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and tucked in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. We are incredibly lucky; our location in the historic district is just steps away from all of Charleston’s best historical sights, restaurants, and shopping. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the courtyard and the relaxing Jacuzzi. We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently during a much needed long weekend getaway, and was overall very pleased. We got a great rate through a Groupon type deal which made it even better. As other reviewers have noted, there really isnt a good place to load/unload your vehicle. I didn't find this too bad because the parking deck ($20 Fee) is literally directly across the street. We parked our car when we arrived and never touched it again until we left which is one of our favorite things about Charleston. The location was perfect and within an easy walking distance to everything the city has to offer. The few things that were a little too far away was an easy, and free, trolley ride away. The rooms were recently remodeled and were fantastic. The decor was a perfect blend of historic Charleston and modern convenience. We particularly enjoyed that we had windows on both sides of our room. As an upper level room near the front of the Inn, we had a direct view of the restaurant deck located beside us. I thought this would produce a high noise level at night but we never noticed it. It was acutally a little fun peeking out the window and seeing what the food looked like next door lol. Overall, the Elliott House Inn was just what we wanted for our accomodations in Charleston, a quaint historic inn in a perfect location. We will be back!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms avoid the bug problems other travelers have noted. Upper level rooms near the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations. Our location does make it easy to see everything that Charleston has to offer. The free trolley does make getting to those few places that are just a bit too far easily accessible, especially in that hot. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our room was beautiful; four poster bed, armoire, nice linens, big bathroom, and clean to perfection. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast delivered to your room. They also provide a wine and cheese hour in the early evening. The location is great as well. If you want to eat at Husk, a fantastic restaurant, it's right next door. And to park the car overnight in the garage across the street, only twenty dollars!
If possible, ask for a room away from the street. We were in room 27, right on the street, and it was noisy in the morning. Also, oddly enough, the towels were a bit scratchy.
We would stay at the Elliot House again the next time we visit Charleston.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about the Elliott House Inn. Room 27 like all the rooms at The Elliott House Inn, it is unique with its own individual characteristics. As you mentioned, we are located centrally between two wonderful restaurants, Husk and 82 Queen. The breakfast is a wonderful amenity, because it will not fill you up, but it will give you the energy you need to explore the “Holy City.” I’m glad that you espoused the idea of returning back to The Elliott House Inn, because we always enjoy seeing familiar faces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night while passing through Charleston because I wanted my son to experience a Charleston ghost tour AND I got an incredible Trip Advisor rate of $99 a night! I couldn't believe that found this rate on line the night before we were to arrive but I was unable to book online. I did finally call and secured two rooms for the next night and I was thrilled to be right in the middle of everything on Queen St. After 8 hours of driving I was annoyed that there was no where to park or unload the car so I parked illegally on the street (behind someone else unloading) and went in the office to inquire about this. There were two girls in the office, both checking in another party, and both ignoring me. Neither even looked up to greet me, or offer that they would be with me shortly, just pretended I wasn't there. When I finally was graced with their attention, the 'greeting' was short and almost rude. I asked about unloading and was told I could 'pull in the courtyard' - right. I'm going to get my car into a 12 foot entrance with palm trees on either side right off the street without any assistance with on coming traffic. Sure. So we unloaded on the street - luckily I was with two teenagers who were able to stay with the luggage while I parked in the garage across the street. Our rooms were right in the front, King room on the street and Queen one behind it. The king room was furnished beautifully but I gave it to my boys as I didn't want the street noise. I took the Queen which was furnished nice but very bare in comparison. The bathrooms were be far the best part of the rooms. I assumed that because of the $99 rate these were most likely the worst rooms in the hotel but it was one night. Then there were the bugs - little gnats all over the room. Not just my room but my sons room as well. That evening I went into the office to make them aware that a screen door on the boys room was broken and that there were bugs in the rooms. This information was was met with 'we'll look into it after you leave' which left me feeling like I was a pretty insignificant guest. A spartan breakfast was included in the rate which was nice but only three selections and not much of anything. This is my second visit to Charleston and it is by far one of my favorite spots. Not only is it a beautiful city with lots to see and do but it is also one of the friendliest places I've ever been. Generally the service everywhere is just outstanding - except for Elliot House Inn. Had circumstances been different - a longer stay or a higher rate - I would not have stayed the night in a city where there are so many first class choices. They have potential to be really good but the staff needs friendly lessons and they need to get rid of the bugs!!

Room Tip: We had rooms 10 & 11 which were ground level on the street. Maybe the upper floors where better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PBLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

First off, thank you for highlighting how much you enjoyed the beautiful decorations, which are in each of the rooms at the hotel. Each room is a little bit differently decorated, but all are representative of the Bellum-Victorian Period of Charleston History. The rooms may allude to a different time, but as you mentioned the bathrooms are beautiful and recently remodeled and renovated. I’m sorry, that you felt like you needed to unload from the street, because as you mentioned there is a little drive way where one can pull in to unload, which cars and trucks of all sizes have been able to fit, also we do have a bellman on staff that can help with your luggage, so you do not feel like you are left out on the street. Furthermore, I’m truly sorry that you did not feel as if you were greeted appropriately, I know without a doubt that was not the staffs’ intention. As you’ll read in other posts, we pride ourselves on our customer service and attentive details that our guest deserve, I’m sorry we fell short of meeting your expectations. It seems like you enjoyed much of what the city has to offer, and fortunately our location put you right in the middle of everything.

I'm sorry to hear of the gnats/bugs that seemed to occupy your room during your stay. We had an unusually warm winter, which is not common for Charleston. Because of the warmer temperatures, it didn't kill the nesting eggs of the gnats and palmetto bugs. In turn, we've had quite a time with our exterior corridor ground floor rooms experiencing these critters trying to enter the cool dry environment of your room. I'm so sorry for this. Please know that we are on a monthly preventative maintenance contract with our local exterminator to cut down on these types of situations as best as possible.

I hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,636 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
664 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $179 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing