We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn, Ideal Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Inn, Ideal Location!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We just stayed here for weekend in Charleston along with some friends. The Inn is located in heart of Charleston - easy walking distance to shopping, the Market, restaurants and more. It is an older Inn but renovated in recent years and the rooms are very clean, nicely decorated and spacious. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rate includes a lovely continental breakfast and daily happy hour. We truly enjoyed our time here and will Definitely stay again. I highly recommend this beautiful Inn!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sobe_it_charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time comment on your recent stay with us! We take great pride in helping our guests so that they may truly enjoy all that Charleston has to offer. As you mentioned, the Elliott House is centrally located and surrounded by world renowned restaurants. We look forward to hearing from you again the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    211
    115
    50
    21
See reviews for
61
554
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We loved this place! We were one of three couples traveling together & it could not have been more perfect. The rooms are lovely - the recent renovation is evident - & each one is unique (we all peeked in at each other's rooms!). The staff was excellent. I needed an iron (darn those linen trousers!) & I went to the office to see if they had one I could use. Even though I was standing right there, they offered to have someone bring it up - which I declined, but it was a nice offer! Each night we all three put on our "breakfast cards" that we wanted to eat outdoors together in the absolutely delightful courtyard. They made sure our breakfasts all arrived within seconds of each other. Again... perfection! Parking was reasonably priced across the street & everything else we wanted was in easy walking distance. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The walls are thick, so even the couple in our group whose room faced the street had absolutely no p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Wow, what kind words! The inn just reopened after two years of renovation this past fall, and we are truly excited to be back open. We pride ourselves on customer service and building relationships with our guests. If your plans ever lead you back to Charleston, I hope you decide to join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Loved the small feeling and open courtyard as in any city the noise can bother some but the location is a plus . Weather permitting the gathering place is the courtyard enjoying your breakfast tray provided or at 5 pm with a gathering of guest for wine ,cheese and crackers very informal comfortable setting . Room had a great high four poster bed small very clean bath lacking counter space but workable. Inn is situated between two resturants which is a plus for a late night dinner or cocktail within walking distance. The inn fits into the Charlestown historic district . We would definitely stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: #36 noise from restaurant but windows on two sides end room no view but good light. Right next to el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We agree, the courtyard is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the birds and flowers. We appreciate your business and would love to have you back again with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed here years ago, so my mother and I chose The Elliott House again.

Comfortable room, perfect historic district location, beautiful courtyard, 5:00 wine and cheese in the courtyard. Thoughtful continental breakfast served in-room on a silver tray in the AM.

Excellent restaurant next door at "82 Queen". Other great restaurants nearby on Queen St.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ael5292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
We are so glad that you came to stay with us again! It is always great to hear feedback from returning that have stayed with us over the years. We appreciate you choosing Elliott House Inn as your lodging destination and for letting us be apart of your wonderful memories of Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Elliot house. The room was immaculate and newly refurnished. We had a private patio in the back, and look onto the inner courtyard with hot tub, table and chairs to relax in. We had wine and cheese every evening, provided by the Inn in this lovely courtyard. The location can't be beat. We were able to walk all of Charleston - from the battery to Market were all in easy reach.

Room Tip: I would have give 5* except the bed was so high I had trouble getting into it. If you are under 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Charleston is a wonderful city to explore, with many beautiful sights to see. I am happy to hear Grace was able to help you during your stay. We’d love to have you back on your next trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a charming inn in a great location. Walking distance to just about everything. Friendly staff with some nice extras like the breakfast delivered to your room and the wine and cheese hour. Beautiful and peaceful courtyard. Rooms are very clean, but on the small side. It was a nice change from a generic hotel room.

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the street unless you can sleep through anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! Please keep us in mind next time you visit Charleston, we'd love to have you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lively
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

we had the pleasure of experiencing Charleston for the first time while staying at the Elliott House Inn , We spent 4 nights and the friendly and helpful staff were amazing. Neil was awesome and very knowledgeable on Charleston and its history and many details. Very clean and comfortable, The morning breakfast served to our room each morning was a great added touch. Had a king size room on the second floor. The location of the Inn was excellent, walking distance to everything in the historical district. excellent value, highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Jsudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Elliott House. Neal is amazing; he has great knowledge of our wonderful city and what it has to offer. We take great pride in all of our guest rooms, and I am always happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations with us. We hope that you will come back to see us on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
1,502 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,678 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
887 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Property: The Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing