We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barksdale House Inn
Ranked #11 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2004

Stayed here on our honeymoon in mid Sept, 2004. Neat place, within walking distance to most areas. We stayed two nights, but at least one other night would have been better to take in more of the city. They had sherry cordials in the evening. They had nice college kids working the desk which was a relief to the snobby air of Charleston.

5  Thank legolaceration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 526 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
1047
Reviewed September 5, 2004

The wife and I stayed here on September 3 and 4. Friday night, everyone else had cancelled due to the threat of hurricane Frances, so we had the entire house to ourselves. We were upgraded to a larger room also, which was nice (room # 5). We were even treated to complementary champagne Friday night!

Very classy place with FREE PARKING. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was only a continental breakfast (danish or muffin with fruit, coffee, and OJ) but still quite filling. The house is in great condition for it's age, and everything was clean.

Conveniently located on George St. between King and Meeting. The shops on King St. are just around the corner, and old market and the waterfront are a short walk or drive down Meeting St.

The only draw back that I saw to this location was that it is across the street from the arena at the College of Charleston, which took away from the historical atmosphere, but hey...we just pulled the blinds down!

I highly recommend this B&B, and will likely stay there again on our next visit.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Omaha, NE
315
Reviewed June 24, 2004

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in June '04. We enjoyed the hotel. The location was great for walking access to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. It was easy to find (a plus for our first trip to Charleston) and parking was right outside our door. We stayed in the Carriage House. Our room was clean and well-furnished. Breakfast was delivered to our room at no extra charge. I would recommend the Carriage House over the main house for privacy purposes. Staff was friendly and helped us locate local attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2004

We stayed for 3 nights at the Barksdale House Inn in room 8, at the beginning of May. The staff was friendly, gracious and helpful. The room and the bathroom wer both very pretty and clean, and the linens smelled heavenly. The location was quiet, and the little garden with a fountain in the middle was charming. Breakfast is served there, or in your room, and is arranged very attractively - several varieties of fruit, and a pastry. with coffee and orange juice. The only improvement I would make is to be more careful about the quality of fruit served with the breakfast - it was generally tasteless. We had the opportunity to see all the other rooms, and they were even lovelier than ours, which was the smallest and least expensive of all, but still very charming. There is free parking at the Inn (parking downtown is very difficult), but the walk to downtown historic Charleston takes about 20 minutes, so bring your walking shoes. There are numerous restaurants at the end of the 20 minute walk. "Historic Charleston' has a wonderful gift shop downtown - don't miss it. Also don't miss the Tea walking tour - the guide really knows Charleston.

5  Thank cruisingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bristol, England
410
Reviewed April 15, 2004

April 2004

Stayed here for one night. Fantastic location. You can park at the inn and put your walking shoes on for the wonderful sights (and shops!) of Charleston. The rooms are lovely and large - we stayed in the ground floor rooms in the coach house - much more simply decorated and really nice. For the price, it was great and makes a change from the large chains. Having stayed at the Hilton in Atlanta the previous night, it was a breath of fresh air. Nice simple breakfast.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
327
Reviewed December 1, 2003

The Barksdale House Inn was a surprising change of pace from the standard Starwood/Marriott/Hilton chains. Stayed for Fri/Sat/Sun in November and was provided a room in the back house. They serve a light continental breakfast each morning with great coffee. However, forgo this option and hit up one of the local breakfast places nearby.

Rooms were large and clean. Some aspects of the room were a little run down (Paint peeling in the bathroom, mildew on the shower curtains, etc).

Great location. Right between King and Meeting streets and within walking distance of Market and all the shops and restaurants in the area.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 13, 2002

As frequent visitors to the Charleston area, my wife and I have spent many nights in a multitude of inns and hotels. We spent a rather quiet and subdued, but very romantic week at the Barksdale house during a hot August in Charleston. The rooms were quaint and clean. The Barksdale House features a capable and competent service staff who complete the stay with many little extras. The location is great so bring your walking shoes and plan on leaving the car in the convenient parkings space (a definate bonus to staying in downtown Charleston). Your a few blocks from the market, but unlike most other Charleston B&Bs you are also quite close to King Street shops, music clubs, and great restaurants. A great change of pace when compared to the hotels of the historic district.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Francis Marion Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#21 of 62 in Charleston
3,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#19 of 62 in Charleston
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indigo Inn
Indigo Inn
#15 of 62 in Charleston
1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meeting Street Inn
The Meeting Street Inn
#6 of 39 in Charleston
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jasmine House Inn
Jasmine House Inn
#10 of 39 in Charleston
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Address: 27 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1433
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $141 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away from home while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and complimentary parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston's unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing