We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barksdale House Inn
Ranked #10 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at this Inn in mid-September. When we arrived the reception was closed (we arrived at about 7pm and it was meant to be open until 9 or 10 I think), but the keys and welcome pack were left for us.

There was a plumbing problem in our original room so they upgraded us free of charge to a better room (Room 2 I think).
It was huge - it had a huge four poster bed, dining area, wardrobe and bathroom (with a whirlpool tub). It also had a tv, air con, and coffee making facilities.

The breakfast that is included in the price was delicious, fresh fruit and a pastry, and a choice of coffee, tea or juice. You can eat it in the beautiful courtyard (with a lovely fountain) or have it brought to your room on a silver tray.

The only thing that I would complain about was the fact that on our penultimate day we didn't leave the room until midday and then left the sign on the door knob asking for the room to be cleaned - when we returned later that evening, it hadn't been. It wasn't a massive problem but it meant we hadn't got the breakfast checklist for the morning (you have to tick what you want and when you want it and leave it out each evening, for the next day) so we didn't have breakfast on our last day.

Apart from that, it was a really nice Inn and the location was really good. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sarahjane198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 520 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2008

Since this is an historic building and a B&B, we were not expecting the Ritz, but our room (room 9) was in terrible disrepair and not clean. Bedspread and decorative pillows were dirty. Water spots on the ceiling, floor had not been swept. Pillows were very poor quality and difficult to sleep on. We peeked into some of the other rooms and they seemed to be better than the room we stayed in. Staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathySShermanOaks_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed in room 6 at the Barksdale inn and were very pleased with our stay. The location is great as everything is in walking distance including all the shops and boutiques on king street. The room was very pretty and it was nice to have the fireplace which we used every night. The service was great. Both Lynn and Bill were fabulous and gave great recommendtions for food. The breakfast included fresh fruit and the BEST tasting pastry I've ever had in my life! I would definitely stay there again but I would not recommend the whirlpool suite. We never used it and it really wasn't too nice. Other than that it was perfect!!!

Stayed: February 2008
Thank jadep_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

I did a lot of research on B&Bs to stay in on our 2 week holiday which took in Savannah, Charleston, Richmond, Williamsburg and Washington DC, so I was really disappointed with the quality and service at the Barksdale House Inn. I think what made it seem worse, was the fact that we had such fantastic accommodation and experiences in every other B&B we stayed in!

We stayed in Room 5 and that's where the pluses were - huge room, big bed, whirlpool tub. Now the disappointments - very bare decoration in the room (made us feel like we were in a drafty hall instead of an oppulent, southern bedroom), cheap single pastry breakfast with half a slice of pineapple (not in season so hard) and limited bathroom supplies which were not replaced. The biggest disappointment is the fact that our stay was not inexpensive (over $200 a night) - in fact, it was the most expensive B&B that we stayed in apart from Washington DC.

There was absolutely no interest in us or conversation from the staff from when we arrived to when we left. On our second night while we were having a nap before heading out to dinner, housekeeping tried to deliver chocolates at 7pm, luckily we woke up just in time but the lady was about to barge straight into our room! Surely this can be done when housekeeping tidy up during the day which would prevent disturbing guests when they are likely to be in their rooms! Housekeeping also forgot to replace our breakfast form and even though we asked, it wasn't replaced. In the end, it didn't matter as we left early and had a better breakfast on the road.

So overall, for the price we paid we were very disappointed. If we'd paid half then I would have accepted the room and service but for that amount of money I'm sure you can find beautiful properties with interested and interesting hosts in many locations within Charleston. We certainly did, just not in Charleston which was a shame!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NataliaMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in Room 8 on the second floor (USD$99-119 out/in season). We managed to secure this room on short notice over the phone. Staff were pleasant handling all phone communications including when we phoned ahead to say we would arrive late as we were driving down from Charlotte, NC. We were lucky enough to just before Serena was leaving for the night. We were reassured if we were to have arrived any later, our keys/info, etc would be available to us on the back porch. I accidentally left our keys (to room and house) in the key hole on our first night, only to find it the next morning! Phew! Did not encounter any other guests at all during our stay. The interior is absolutely gorgeous, be sure to see my photos. Our room was small yet suitable for our stay. Evening turn down service w/ chocolates were provided which was a nice touch. Whilst only a continental breakfast but on a heavy silver tray (brought up the stairs each morning by the staff), the pastries were fresh and tasty, as was the fruit, coffee and juice was provided (you need to indicate your preference incl. time on a form the night before where upon the tray will be prepared at night before the food is prepared first thing in the morning). Nice touch with the flowers. Serena was a real gem to talk to whenever we arrived back to see her, always suggesting we make it back in time for a glass of sherry in the afternoon. The owner was less than enthusiastic to speak to us however. Nonetheless a great stay. Don't expect staff to wait on you, more rather to provide the necessities, and leave you be.

Be sure to go to the Noisy Oyster for their Seafood steam pot too !!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank w3ndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

My husband and I stayed here one night while on our honeymoon and loved it. It is very clean. The staff was helpful in showing us attractions to see and the breakfast was delicious. It is in walking distance to all attractions downtown. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sister003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2005

This inn was a disappointment. It was clean, but like someone said, it really misses a lot of the details. I stayed in the Carriage House and just found that it wasn't like a typical quaint Inn. Very shoddy paint job, not enough trash cans, incredibly boring breakfast (store bought pasteries and old strawberries) and shampoo, etc. not refreshed.

If you want an inn that is centrally located, this does have that going for it. It's walking distance to a lot of great stores, restaurants and the water.

Just go in expected anything particularly special.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Francis Marion Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
3,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indigo Inn
Indigo Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meeting Street Inn
The Meeting Street Inn
#7 of 39 in Charleston
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jasmine House Inn
Jasmine House Inn
#9 of 39 in Charleston
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Address: 27 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1433
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $133 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away from home while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and complimentary parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston's unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing