We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barksdale House Inn
Ranked #11 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

B&Bs never appealed to me but prices at nearby hotels drove me here...and I was not disappointed. We were on the 3rd floor which was nice because we could enjoy each floor as we walked up. I can't compare to other B&B's but it had a lot of character to me... And the staff was quite pleasant to us...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawntheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you considered and enjoyed a small Inn for your accommodations while visiting Charleston. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 525 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice place but dark inside. The bathroom had a light fixture over the sink with what looked like three 15 watt bulbs. When in the shower with the shower curtain closed it was quite dark. Breakfast was light buffet style, not the usual B&B'S breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff were super friendly and helpful about restaurants in the area. The afternoon desserts were wonderful and we would definitely stay here again! Our room was cozy, clean and comfy. Breakfasts were great -- especially on the weekend when they featured hot items.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Barkdale for three nights. Nice old Charleston house. We took Room 1 which is 1st floor front. The location of the Inn is ok and across the street from the College of Charleston Physical Education facility. There are better locations within the city. Street noise was a huge issue and disrupted sleep continuously. Most of the staff were lovely and friendly. Breakfast was ok. Morning noise from the office/breakfast room, located adjacent to the staircase, was not too bad. The garden was poorly kept and somewhat dangerous due to the loose slate. Free parking is nice. This Inn would have rated 3 stars BUT on our last morning our party consisting of middle aged adults ranging in age from 31 to 89 were confronted by the duty manager who accused our party of destroying a bench and dirtying the outdoors. A simple polite inquiry by the staff could have resulted in a reasonable explanation but a simple inquiry was not made. Such a shame, put a bit of a damper on an otherwise simply wonderful Charleston visit. Other options abound.

Room Tip: Do not select the higher priced Rooms number 1 and 2 as they are street level/front and noisey. Watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wob46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in rooms 2 and 6 for 3 nights. The room was very comfortable and clean and the location fantastic. Free parking also a great and the never ending treats in the entrance way were a great bonus.

The hot breakfast was mediocre, we had a vegetarian in our party and the options were very limited (cereal, fruit). The breakfast burritos had sausage in them and the lady said there were no eggs without the sausage mixed in or bread to make toast. The continental breakfast on the other hand was fantastic, wish that had been available on the weekend.

Most of the staff were extremely nice and helpful, although one seemed to really not want to be there or be bothered.
There was a leak from one of the rooms above with water dripping in to our room. When reported to the front desk the response was 'we will look in to it' and then she went back to whatever she was doing on the computer.

All around it was nice, but I'm not sure I'd stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliot_norman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely old house very comfortable room , home made muffins were delicious for breakfast. Free car parking ,ideally located for seeing the sights in walking distance. Really enjoyed our two day stay there,staff were very helpful with any questions we had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marygallagher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Barksdale is a lovely inn that is centrally located to downtown Charleston. We parked our car in their lot and didn't move it during our three day stay. Everything was within walking distance. We had a second floor front room. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and informative about attractions and restaurants in the area. They serve a continental breakfast that is far better than those served at chain hotels. We included a walking tour through Oyster Point with our reservation. The tour was excellent and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Wow, what a great review. It seems like you really enjoyed your trip to Charleston. We love the people at Oyster Point Tours as well; they definitely give top notch tours! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Francis Marion Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#21 of 62 in Charleston
3,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#19 of 62 in Charleston
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indigo Inn
Indigo Inn
#15 of 62 in Charleston
1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meeting Street Inn
The Meeting Street Inn
#5 of 39 in Charleston
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jasmine House Inn
Jasmine House Inn
#10 of 39 in Charleston
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Address: 27 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1433
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $134 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away from home while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and complimentary parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston's unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing