We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barksdale House Inn
Ranked #11 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“underwhelmed”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The price and location are okay. The historic house could be shown off to better advantage -the outside needs a paint job and inside, why have the silver out if it isn't going to be polished? Room lighting was poor. The staff was not welcoming. The two individuals we encountered were curt, almost as if we were bothering them. The breakfast was self service and mediocre with exception of a copious fresh fruit tray.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandSNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    196
    79
    29
    16
See reviews for
56
312
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
166 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Barksdale House Inn has some pros and cons so read on to see if it is a match for your personal preferences and sensibilities.
The strong points: Reasonable price, generally friendly staff, pretty rear entrance with a small garden and a fountain, within walking distance of much of the historic district and a short (free) bus ride to the entire district, well restored 200 year old home, large rooms that look like they came from a travel magazine spread, quality period furnishings, new woodwork paint and recently refinished antique wood floors, free breakfast, comfortable bed, cute but cramped breakfast room and porch with tables and chairs, afternoon tea and cheese or fresh baked cookies.
The less strong points: located on a somewhat gritty (but safe) street next to a large parking lot, across the street from an ugly, hulking modern brick building housing a college gym, dilapidated exterior in dire need of a paint job, rotted soffits, tiny yard, small bathroom, tub difficult to step out of safely due to the high profile Jacuzzi, discolored and possibly rotten trim under the sink, walls and windows do a poor job of blocking late night street noise which the college kids provide. There are two buildings, the main house and a second, more bland building (“carriage house”) at the end of the parking lot. We were in room 1 of the main building, closest to the street. Possibly other rooms or the other building are quieter.
The window blinds do not block the street lighting entirely so the room is not completely dark at night. The appearance of the building looks like there was a high quality renovation some time ago and possibly a bit of more amateurish handy work since then.
The unique points: The weekday breakfast is an adequate but small cold continental spread (including fresh fruit) but the weekend breakfast is hot and made by a chef in the Inn kitchen ( Strada one morning, quiche the next, plus bacon or sausage), the driveway is almost too narrow for an SUV, the "desk" of the Inn is in the breakfast room and manned by a pleasant college kid until 10 PM, leaving the impression that you are staying at a dorm, which is a little weird. Some might not like the feeling that you are eating breakfast in someone’s office.

Overall, we liked the strong points and didn't much care about the weak or unique points (except for the street noise) so we would stay there again. We can also see how it might not be a perfect fit for some people, particularly if they are expecting the food, service and location to be more like a traditional upscale B&B style Inn. You certainly can find that type of Inn in Charleston but it won’t be as inexpensive and ( we thought) as delightfully quirky as the Barksdale House Inn.

Room Tip: The upper floors or the carriage house might be better for anyone sensitive to street noise. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetroWest52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We always stay at the Barksdale when we visit our daughter at College of Charleston. It never fails to impress. It has the perfect atmosphere. The inn captures the charm of the city perfectly. We stayed in Room 5 this time and it's now our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My mum and I stayed here on a long eastern road trip, it was the gem of the places we stayed. Traveling with an almost 50lb dog, it's hard to find somewhere that is welcoming and pet friendly. My only complaints, were that a big fuss was made of "afternoon tea" when we checked in, and we worked our arrival hours around not missing it. Well we should have, missed it that is. Very disappointing, it was a few glasses of sweet tea set on an entry table with a plate of cookies. Not what I call "afternoon tea", but maybe being British I was expecting little sandwiches, hot tea and cakes? It might be what someone else would expect, I don't know. And I was in the south, so I should have expected sweet tea. Also the manager/owner is very loud and her desk is in the breakfast room, she talked with her one staff lady very loudly and was talking trash about another B&B, not professional. It's odd having her desk in the breakfast room, unless she's willing to interact with the guests. We couldn't have a conversation over them, it was a bazaar atmosphere. The room was incredibly clean, comfortable bed and bedroom, water pressure was great, location was fantastic, breakfast was continental and decent, and it had a parking lot.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room had 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingVeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

So that's my only complaint, which is a First World Problem, so I really don't have much. My room was reasonably priced, had decent water pressure and wifi signal on the third floor, so I don't have much to complain about. But really.

People are nice, breakfast was fine, parking in a tough part of the world was a blessing. Right in the heart of things. Quiet- I've stayed in old houses (and live in one) so they can be noisy, but this was fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrygrim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Inn. Our location with parking is one of our top features! It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Barksdale House, and loved it. It was just what we were looking for.. a comfortable, friendly, warm home base for a few days of exploring. We arrived on an uncharacteristically cold and blustery day, and they had the fireplace going in our room when we checked in. That and a plate of brownies on the table by the stairs and I knew we had made a good choice! The location is great for walking just about anywhere in the city, the rooms are charming and spotless, breakfast was good, and the staff was relaxed and friendly. It was quiet at night and the wifi worked. We'd be happy to go back any time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
What a nice review! Thank you for leaving one for us. Even though we do not get too many days where the fireplaces are useful, they are a blessing on the few cold days around here. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place. The position is comfortable and there's the lot for cars. You can go out on foot and in 1 minute reaching the city centre. The rooms are clean and pretty. Breakfast good. The staff is very nice and gives all information you need.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,737 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,826 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Property: Barksdale House Inn
Address: 27 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1433
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away from home while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and complimentary parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston's unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing