We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barksdale House Inn
Ranked #12 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Barksdale House, and loved it. It was just what we were looking for.. a comfortable, friendly, warm home base for a few days of exploring. We arrived on an uncharacteristically cold and blustery day, and they had the fireplace going in our room when we checked in. That and a plate of brownies on the table by the stairs and I knew we had made a good choice! The location is great for walking just about anywhere in the city, the rooms are charming and spotless, breakfast was good, and the staff was relaxed and friendly. It was quiet at night and the wifi worked. We'd be happy to go back any time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
What a nice review! Thank you for leaving one for us. Even though we do not get too many days where the fireplaces are useful, they are a blessing on the few cold days around here. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    192
    75
    28
    15
See reviews for
56
300
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place. The position is comfortable and there's the lot for cars. You can go out on foot and in 1 minute reaching the city centre. The rooms are clean and pretty. Breakfast good. The staff is very nice and gives all information you need.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My first time staying at The Barksdale house it is the best kept secret in Charleston. My daughter attends College of Charleston and we will be visiting often. See you real soon. thank you for a wonderful restful night

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcdonald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Welcome to the CofC family and your home away from home! We look forward to having you with us often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is the best kept secret in Charleston-I hesitated to write this so nobdy else would know about it! Great friendly staff, SPOTLESSLY clean spacious rooms, delicious breakfast with option of having it delivered to your room. You'd never know you were so close to main shopping as it is so quiet. Love,love,love this place!!!

Room Tip: Third floor nice and quiet but lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a great recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights and I've never been more satisfied. The breakfasts were great and free breakfast in bed is worth the entire stay. I would recommend this to anyone who is tired if staying in hotels that all Look and feel te same. And with a 1 minute walk from the best shopping in the south my girlfriend was extremely happy. Will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carsons71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at the Barksdale House Inn in late January and had a lovely time. The continental breakfast was excellent and I especially enjoyed the lovely parlor where it is served. The house is welcoming and my room (#6) had a nice bathroom with a marble sink. The location is the best thing though, just off the main drag of King Street and near Meeting Street. For visitors, the only drawback would be that since it is so close to the Charleston College campus, there are students everywhere and sometimes that means a bit of noise on the George Street side. But that is minor. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have any issues with stairs, ask for the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We rented the two rooms in ground floor against George Street. Both rooms were beautiful restored and equipped rather picturesque with the king size bed in the southern stile. My colleague had a small stair to reach the top of the bed as a curiosum 
Breakfast was delicious and included fresh prepared muffins, cake and blueberry pancakes .
Parking in the backyard was easy, but it could be easier to find if the website told you to drive in between the right site of the house and the public parking area.
It’s a bit expensive to live in the center of Charleston, but I’m glad we decided to go to Barksdale House Inn anyway, and I can really recommend the B&B, although a little noise from the traffic must be excepted, and the room is not that dark during night because of the street lightening.

Hanne, Denmark

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Property: Barksdale House Inn
Address: 27 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1433
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away from home while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and complimentary parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston's unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing