We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barksdale House Inn
Ranked #10 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

While the location was good, the rooms were clean, and the staff was generally helpful, the inn needs attention. The electric outlet in the bathroom didn't work and one by the bed was loose; the door latch to our room was broken (although the door could be locked with a key), and the outside door handle was loose. The inn could have used touch-up paint in places as well. Our breakfast was mediocre, and the afternoon tea or sherry wasn't impressive. The price was a bit steep for what was offered. After coming from the Eliza Thompson House in Savannah, which was superb in every way, the Barksdale House Inn was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

My apologies for the condition of the Inn. Please know that we are scheduled to have all of the maintenance issues addressed in the next couple of weeks. I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 514 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

we found the staff quite willing to please, or try to. the inn, itself, was the problem. whoever currently owns it, is not maintaining it as a historical property. they're doing only enough to maintain it as an income-producer. i was forced to tell the manager-on-duty that there was two lights missing and there was an active water leak in the ceiling evidenced by a very dark stain & cracking and pea;ing paint. being in the construction business, i will notice things others will not, like loose door knobs, mis-matched wood siding, poor paint jobs and cracked porch columns and railings which indicate early stages of rotting wood. the only hot breakfast was offered on the weekends. the only breakfast seating was outside. there should have been a parlor in case of inclement weather. it was an additional bedroom instead.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

I apologize that you were unhappy with the condition of the Inn. There is not excuse for light bulbs being blown out when you check in to your room. Please know that I have addressed this issue with my staff. As for the leak, it was not active any longer. I had it repaired and was waiting on the dry wall person to repair the ceiling, again no excuse for the stain on your ceiling. I am taking the slow season to handle many of the issues noted in your review. I hope your stay and trip to Charleston was not hindered by the less than exceptional experience at our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

excellent location, our room was in the annex, next door was very loud music, when we asked about it staff was not interested, simply stated thay could not control their neighbours and they never received a complaint about it, later we found out it was a arobics class in the next door gym, a couple of meters next to our room, fortunately only during limited time in the evening, room was pretty basic for the price, no internet in room (very weak signal), no refrigerator, ereasonable breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast and we enjoyed it very much. Checking in and out was very quick and easy. The location was great. The price was very reasonable. The weekday breakfast was could have had more variety and some of the decor could use some freshening up (painting, etc), but overall we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Please know that during our slower season, we will be addressing the issues of the painting needed as well as some other maintenance items. I am very happy that you still enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The staff upon arrival seemed uninformed about the Inn and area. We were handed brochures when we asked about recommendations. We had Room #4. It is pictured on their advertisement card. Bathroom floor had hair and dirty! On the second day discovery of mouse droppings on window sills! Sink plugged and toilet periodically ran. We finally turned on the fan in the bathroom to sleep for grey noise... P.S. Minor, but...no bed turn down or chocolate as advertised on their card. Coffee was good and free parking a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is our favorite place to stay in Charleston - the location is great for walking to everything. Rooms are spacious and clean and afford privacy. Staff is friendly. We recommend the inn highly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you so much for returning to us when you come to Charleston. We love our repeat guests. The fact that you recommend us to your friends is a huge compliment that is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Barksdale House Inn. The room we reserved had been given to another party on our arrival but we were transfered to room 1 the next day. All the rooms look great but room 1 is on the first floor with a bay window, lots of natural light and very spaceous. Wonderful service and excellent breakfast. Also good location and on site parking. No need for a car unless you dislike walking. The bathrooms are small but that's ok. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Ground and 2nd. floors in front rooms. Rear rooms are smaller. Third floor front rooms are fine bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jer-jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarksdaleGM, General Manager at Barksdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for our Inn. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,834 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,971 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Address: 27 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $143 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away from home while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and complimentary parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston's unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing