We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th Anniversary”
Review of Ashley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashley Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“20th Anniversary”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited Charleston for our 20th Wedding Anniversary and loved it. We originally booked at the Cannonboro but due to no one else being there the nights we booked the Innkeeper asked us to move to the Ashley Inn just a few doors down. They moved us to the Suite on the 3rd floor. The room was perfect. The Ashley has all the wonderful charm of an 1832 Charleston home. Our room had a very comfortable bed and a sitting room with sofa and TV. We were given wonderful recommendations on places to eat and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Alanna, the innkeeper, was very friendly and helpful and Barry, the owner, gave us a incredible history of the home and the area.

The breakfasts both morning were incredible, the taste and presentation was that of a high-end restaurant with an executive chef. Loved them.

If you are looking for the sterile, plastic feel of a chain hotel/motel go elsewhere! If you want to charm of an 1800's Charleston home -this is definitely the place to be!

We will return in the spring!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    101
    31
    19
    14
See reviews for
48
192
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, CT
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in room number 5, which has direct access to a beautiful wraparound porch. We brought takeout and wine back to the Inn and enjoyed a romantic dinner on the porch. Our experience at the Inn was brief, but very relaxing. The breakfast was good. A bit off the beaten path, but we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I just stayed at the Ashley Inn for the second time, and loved it again. I've stayed at all of the better hotels in Charleston, and none beat this Inn for the warmth and charm of the people that work there, and the place itself. It was so nice to head down to that beautiful dinning room in the morning knowing the breakfast would be good, and served with a friendly smile. Meeting the other guests is an added bonus, as they tend to be interesting visitors, with varying backgrounds.
I highly recommend staying here. I love room 5.
It's true that it's a bit away from the "downtown" area. However, the walk there and back helps you to see and get to know Charleston that much better!
E. Marchese

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This place is amazing. Great rooms that truly capture the Charleston mystique. Suzan and the other personnel were so welcoming and made me really feel like I was at home. Great breakfast, great bed. PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon this past Thanksgiving. We truly enjoyed this bed and breakfast. The breakfast was different every morning we were there, and each day was delicious. We enjoyed the afternoon wine/snacks as well. Everyone working there was friendly and helpful. If we return to Charleston again, we would be sure to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ashley Inn for 3 nights 11/23-11/26- we were on the bottom floor and being so I thought it would be loud with the other guests coming in and out but it wasn't that bad. The room was a bit small but we made it work. We enjoyed the breakfasts every morning and the company of the other guests. The staff on site were extremely nice and friendly and we really enjoyed one morning spent with the owner Barry. He offered an abundance of history of Charleston and suggestions of places to visit in the area. Wine, cheese and fudge were a delight for the days we returned early enough to enjoy them. There are not many B&B in the area that offer a full breakfast so we were delighted to start the day with a warm meal. For the lighter side, a yogurt and fruit parfait were offered. We would definetely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GA-Girl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The rooms were lovely, and the staff were very friendly. The rare full breakfast was great, and we really enjoyed the wine, tea and fudge the afternoon. If you have a car, there is off-street parking.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 both had private doors onto the upstairs piazza, which was lovely if for sitting out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,899 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
950 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,781 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Inn

Property: Ashley Inn
Address: 201 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5810
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic inn (C. 1832) Located in the residential historic area of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Ashley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing