We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't be back”
Review of Ashley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashley Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We won't be back”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Perhaps we were spoiled by our B&B experiences in Chattanooga and Asheville, but the Ashley Inn fell far below the standards we expected for the price we paid. In fairness there were major roadworks two blocks away which may account for the level of traffic down the side road past our window; in fairness the comments I left behind were followed up promptly by Jan after we got home - though I haven't heard since whether they really made any difference.

Our room was on a corner, with a lovely verandah and rocking chairs, We didn't sleep well due to the traffic. Maybe that makes me additionally grouchy. But I expect a bathroom, not a wash-basin in the room and a teensy tiny loo/shower squashed under the staircase to the floor above with only just enough room to turn round. We were told "but it's an old house" to which my answer is fine, but if it can't be modified to the standards of other old houses, don't charge the same rate. For $677.61 for three nights, I expected more than I got, and I am genuinely surprised that other people seem to think it's good value.

As for the gourmet breakfast, it was so bad we skipped it on our last morning. If it really is the best breakfast in Charleston, I recommend you stay in a different city.

It is a lovely house just close enough to walk into town, and fellow guests really enjoyed the bikes which is a nice add-on, but it doesn't have the personal touch of B&Bs lived in by their owners.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper bathroom. There is a very long, steep staircase to the rooms - don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    101
    31
    19
    14
See reviews for
48
192
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monongahela, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our 4 day stay at the Ashley Inn.We started using B&B's about 7 years ago when do our road trips and the Ashley Inn has been by far the most enjoyable.I can't say enough about the staff and their Southern Hospitality.The facilities were great along with the convenience of the location.We enjoyed the morning breakfasts and the complimentary wine and cheese in the evening.Thank you Barry,Jan & Pamela we will return because of the service we received and will also recommend the Ashley Inn to others.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with access to the balcony are Great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ashley Inn this past June. We had a fantastic time! We found ALL the staff to be warm and friendly, Jan, Pamela, Nick, Alana, and the rest of the staff! We found the suite very comfortable, clean and quiet. The gourmet breakfasts were tasty and enjoyable. They didn't even blink an eye when my husband ordered something different! We would definitely stay here again! We left refreshed, feeling as though we had made new friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed for a night in order to attend a wedding in Charleston and had a wonderful time. The breakfast was great, the room was clean, the property was well-kept, and the location was perfect. We also used the bikes and did a bike tour of Charleston. It's the best way to see the city and super convenient that the Inn has bikes to use. Our only complaint was at check in we were not made aware that we had a thermostat in our room and the AC was all the way down to 63. The woman who checked us in was also not very friendly. Otherwise, the stay was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCH0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The gourmet breakfast served on the piazza was wonderfully delicious. Our favorite was the orange crossiant french toast with the warm walnut sauce. We were in room 4, which was very comfortable, but not the best location in the house as it is at the top of the stairs and beside the staircase leading to the 3rd floor. The room did have a private entrance to the piazza, which was a plus. Staff was friendly and helpful. They also offer a military discount whereas many other B&B's in Charleston do not. An overall positive experience!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 have access to the second floor piazza. Rooms on the third floor would probably be mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feliciti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Ashley B& B is very reminiscent of the single wide, piazza, architecture that the Historic Preservation Society of this magical city has maintained, making Charleston, SC a marvelous venue to visit. Our B& B was well maintained. The owner, Barry, who visited for a a few minutes at each breakfast time, was pleasant, as was the staff. Unfortunately, the staff members kept changing, so we had no continuity of persons with whom to relate, which was highly unusual in any B& B we've ever visited (and we've been to many throughout the US and Europe.) Since the weather was pleasant, we walked about 5 miles each day, in order to appreciate the architecture and lifestyles of the area, which was good for the body, too. However, unfortunately, we were told there would be a shuttle bus a block away (which we never did see in the area and seldom saw anywhere in town -- and no staff member knew anything about it.). Hence, the distance from this B& B to the main sights of downtown, could have proved to be a detriment to our purpose of visiting Charleston, if weather would have been at all difficult. Because we had tickets to the Spoleto Festival and love to explore every historic detail and arts genre, as well as enjoy the restaurants and tours, we had a wonderful time in Charleston! But, we would probably pick a B& B closer to downtown sights the next time we visit, so we can feel we have a home to use and enjoy instead of having to dress for the entire day and evening when getting up for the nice breakfast. Yes, we had a nice place to sleep but this B& B lacked the overall friendliness and helpfulness that a live-in owner or staff who is on-site all the time offers to a visitor. For someone who is visiting the college or hospital, this is a great place.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms that open to the piazza were my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vernene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Ashley Inn is true southern hospitality at its finest! Gourmet breakfast on the piazza was delicious. The innkeepers were worth their weight in gold. We stayed in room 5 -- it's beautiful with a door opening onto the second floor piazza. It's only problem is that the air conditioning units are outside this room. Just ignore them! If you're lucky enough to meet the owner, Barry Carroll, get him to tell you some of his stories. He's a great story teller. We loved our stay here. OK, as mentioned in another review, the "garden" is tiny, and could certainly have used some TLC. I hope they've done that by now, but that's no reason to skip this B&B.

Room Tip: There's a room on the first floor if you don't want to climb the stairs. Check out a pictur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,902 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,782 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Inn

Property: Ashley Inn
Address: 201 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5810
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic inn (C. 1832) Located in the residential historic area of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ashley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing