We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashley Inn
Nearby Hotels
$305
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$323
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveler rating
157
102
34
22
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
102
34
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcarriage housefudgehominy grilloff street parkingother guestsbanana nutbreakfast each morningcrackersfirst floorbreakfast was deliciousfull bathice machinedowntown areatoilet paperthe air conditioningsitting room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 333 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Ashley B& B is very reminiscent of the single wide, piazza, architecture that the Historic Preservation Society of this magical city has maintained, making Charleston, SC a marvelous venue to visit. Our B& B was well maintained. The owner, Barry, who visited for a a few minutes at each breakfast time, was pleasant, as was the staff. Unfortunately, the staff members kept changing, so we had no continuity of persons with whom to relate, which was highly unusual in any B& B we've ever visited (and we've been to many throughout the US and Europe.) Since the weather was pleasant, we walked about 5 miles each day, in order to appreciate the architecture and lifestyles of the area, which was good for the body, too. However, unfortunately, we were told there would be a shuttle bus a block away (which we never did see in the area and seldom saw anywhere in town -- and no staff member knew anything about it.). Hence, the distance from this B& B to the main sights of downtown, could have proved to be a detriment to our purpose of visiting Charleston, if weather would have been at all difficult. Because we had tickets to the Spoleto Festival and love to explore every historic detail and arts genre, as well as enjoy the restaurants and tours, we had a wonderful time in Charleston! But, we would probably pick a B& B closer to downtown sights the next time we visit, so we can feel we have a home to use and enjoy instead of having to dress for the entire day and evening when getting up for the nice breakfast. Yes, we had a nice place to sleep but this B& B lacked the overall friendliness and helpfulness that a live-in owner or staff who is on-site all the time offers to a visitor. For someone who is visiting the college or hospital, this is a great place.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms that open to the piazza were my favorites.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vernene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Ashley Inn is true southern hospitality at its finest! Gourmet breakfast on the piazza was delicious. The innkeepers were worth their weight in gold. We stayed in room 5 -- it's beautiful with a door opening onto the second floor piazza. It's only problem is that the air conditioning units are outside this room. Just ignore them! If you're lucky enough to meet the owner, Barry Carroll, get him to tell you some of his stories. He's a great story teller. We loved our stay here. OK, as mentioned in another review, the "garden" is tiny, and could certainly have used some TLC. I hope they've done that by now, but that's no reason to skip this B&B.

Room Tip: There's a room on the first floor if you don't want to climb the stairs. Check out a picture of each room on their web site.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

It is with regret that we write this review. For over 20+ yrs we have traveled stateside and abroad and have never encountered as much untruth in a B&B description.There is reason little information is given on the website. The location is in a very marginal area with unkept property,sidewalks and the Garden is non existent. We have never had a B&B where the doors were auto locked if you went to your car. It felt a bit uncomfortable walking to restaurant. The location is within 3 blocks of Med Center. The car traffic is huge to say nothing of the amb sirens and helicopters at all hours. Yes, a heliport! The piazza was effectively unusable due to noise. The bed was so broken down that we rolled to center,had to use pillows to get in/out as so high off the ground (no stool & no side table on 1 side) It would have been better for our backs to sleep on the floor.The solo overbed light dangled off the wall & the wallpaper is still peeling as noted in a review of yrs ago.The Bath had cheap,worn towels, poor lightening,no soap/gel for sink,no make-up or full length mirror,shampoo/cond combo & 1 ply TP. The breakfast was so less than gourmet. Ham crepe with no toast/muffin, or 2 pieces of Fr. Toast with just syrup and banana slices & 2 sausage patties.No choice of time to eat or juice choice,not even cold cereal. Honestly, we have been served better at Hampton or Fairfield Inns. The PM snacks were 20 ordinary crackers with a dip, about 15 1" sq pieces of fudge and a sm candy dish of mixed nut. This was same each night. The staff (except for Pamela) looked disinterested & appeared not to want to be bothered. All city pamphlets were behind a cabinet door that only some staff new where to find. A list of restaurants were handed out, but without comment so one could have done as well with the telephone book. Someone is making a lot of $$$ & not putting it into Inn Keeping or Guest Services. If you want $199.00 worth of B&B, this is NOT the place for you. It left us with a tainted view of Charleston as well as wanting to leave after the first of our unfortunate 3 night stay. These concerns are not the type one could mention at the time of service and be reconciled & one was given the inference not to even ask.These are owner/bottom line issues. A state of mind,parsing of words, & what one can get buy with as most of us will have other areas to see on our travels, & hoping many overlook the reviews. I should have honored the many, several yr old reviews that said the same things as it is clear the owner is just taking the $$ and running, plus he gets his breakfast made every morning ! Note: We had never written a review on anything till this trip, but this felt like we were being TRICKED. Wonder what justification will be written ?? Take heed~

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beverly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleyinnbb, Manager at Ashley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

I am truly sorry these guests did not enjoy their stay at The Ashley Inn. We are located in the residential area of the historic district (the north end). While it's true that we are in the Medical University of South Carolina area, a wonderful teaching hospital, it is also a lovely part of the peninsula that is included each year in the Fall Tour of Homes. We are located across the street from St. Luke's chapel and 1/2 block from The Wickliffe House which is a very popular wedding venue. We are booked several times a year with families here for weddings in this neighborhood. As far as the condition of our rooms, we are constantly updating this 1832 property and this room is scheduled for a complete makeover later this month. I'm proud of our entire staff and the way they treat all of our guests. Our breakfast menu and and afternoon wine hour is very popular with our guests. I sincerely hope that all the positive reviews will outweigh this one.
Jan Dolber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We found this B&B to be excellent in every respect! All the staff were extremely friendly, pleasant and accommodating. We felt at home immediately! We appreciated the fact
the owner Barrie paid a vist each day to welcome guests to his home. He gave a great overview of Charleston, history of the B&B and the recommendations for restaurants were invaluable. If you visit, take advantage of the complimentary bicycles- great way to see the city.
We rented the suite since our 19 year old daughter was with us and it was perfect. Only suggestion would be a couple of foldout stands for luggage. We left our bags on the floor (did not want to put on antiques) and it was a reach

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We've stayed at B&B's all over the country...and this one had ups and downs. The people are very nice. The breakfast was good. My biggest issue is that we rented the attached house that is a two bedroom with a kitchen/living. The kitchen had 2 glasses (one had a cut in the glass); three forks; no cutting knives, cutting board or dish soap. The space was nice, but needs updating and new paint/wallpaper in the attached house. It was a great location and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyParisMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleyinnbb, Manager at Ashley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments on our Carriage House. Our guests very rarely cook at the Inn because there are so many great restaurants in Charleston but we have restocked the kitchen utensils for future guests. As far as the updating, we are constantly painting and updating all of our rooms. The Carriage House has just recently received a new makeover in the main bath, new kitchen floor and stove and painting is done in the slow season every year. Thank you for your positive comments on our staff and breakfasts. We hope you return to the Ashley Inn on your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews