We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B, but lacking in a few areas”
Review of Ashley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashley Inn
Ranked #14 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great B&B, but lacking in a few areas”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ashley Inn for 4 nights for our anniversary vacation in Charleston. It was a lovely and relaxing vacation, despite the intense heat.

Ashley Inn is located in a great area. We heard that anything north of Calhoun can be iffy.. Even though Ashley is north of Calhoun, we felt perfectly safe. It is right around the corner to a free trolly stop. When we visited the downtown area, we usually drove and luckily found free parking each time (less than a 5 minute drive).

The rooms in Ashley were lovely. We reserved the smallest room (room 2), but were upgraded for two nights to room 3 due to renovations. We actually ended up preferring room 2 because it had a newer bathroom and it was just too hot to sit on the porch connecting to the larger rooms.

While the breakfasts served were delicious (peaches and cream crepes, orange croissant french toast, ham and cheese crepes), we wished that there was a choice. Hubby likes savory and I like sweet, so each breakfast, one of us was a bit disappointed. We love B&Bs and have visited many in our travels. Ashley Inn is the only one we've been to that did not offer a couple of options for breakfast.

For the most part, the staff at Ashley were helpful, though since they only worked there, they did not seem as involved as live-in owners of other B&Bs that we've visited. Barry the owner, however, was very friendly and spent each breakfast chatting with us and telling stories about Charleston.

Overall, we had a wonderful vacation staying at Ashley Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    98
    31
    18
    10
See reviews for
46
185
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our stay at the Ashley Inn was hot and I mean that in a good way. We loved the location, parking and ease of checking in and going about our vacation. Suggestions and tips by inn keeper Susan/Jane for our visit were followed and enjoyed . First night we parked in one of the many historic district garages and walked all around. We ate at SNOB and it was outstanding Day #2 we took a Gray Line tour (they picked us up at the inn) to hear the local scoop. They also included a ferry ride to Ft Sumter. Well worth the $$ as they took us back to the Ashley. The Hominy Grill was closed for renovations so we walked to "Five loaves of bread" and it was heavenly. Back to City Market for shopping again easy & safe parking in the garage. Breakfast was delicious (peaches and cream crepes to die for) and we heard all about the house ghost! Barry,owner, shared his take on the area and history of the house renovation. I'd go back again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4 -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhnative51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Loved this home.. and wonderful service and GREAT breakfast. Easy to get to and very comfortable rooms. Only complaint is we were next to kitchen- so they started prepping breakfast early- so some clanging pots and pans.. they could have warned us. Lovely wine, cheese, crakers, chocolates in the evening. Great selection of menus from all over Charleston, gorgeous front porch to have breakfast on and relax. Very well mantained.. but not stuffy.. friendly and affordable!!!! Def will stay again there and highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcgkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed there for 1 night to celebrate our 20th wedding Anniversay. We stayed in Room # 5. The room was nice although it needed some touch up paint and the the pink striped wallpaper was coming off & dirty in some places. The bathroom was small but adequte.
They did have a bottle of champaine with chocolates in the room, which was a nice touch.
I think,most of all I was disappointed in the breakfast. They served Eggs Benedict that morning with a small portion of cut up fruit on the plate.. Coffee & orange juiuce was also served. I was really looking forwd to some of the other breakfast menues they mentioned on their website. I just felt Egg Benedict was not what I was expecting. Although it was good.
Overall, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettigirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
296 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Very lovely. We ended up with the suite at the very top of the building with very steep stairs. Really tough with luggage. Cute well appointed room. Lovely staff. Fabulous breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemon737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The house is beautiful inside and out. There was a nice porch and sitting area off of our room, which was enjoyable to sit and relax at. Our breakfast was tasty and staff was friendly.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vacati0n_time_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend. The only difference between this place and the B&Bs that cost 50%+ more is the proximity to the historic district. If you're not against walking 15 minutes to get to the main tourist area, check Ashley Inn out. Barry is great, the service is outstanding and the mansion (inside and out) is
well kept. Would recommend and and visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiSpartyDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Indigo Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Inn

Property: Ashley Inn
Address: 201 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5810
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic inn (C. 1832) Located in the residential historic area of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ashley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing