We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Informed Staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1837 Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were very happy with our stay here. The inn is convenient to downtown Charleston with on-site parking. Our room was fine and the staff were extremely well-informed particularly about culinary opportunities in town. We happened to be there during Charleston Restaurant Week and the staff helped us make a reservation for a Saturday night at a top-end restaurant. Breakfast was a convivial affair with good food and conversation. Accommodation is expensive in Charleston but we would be happy to return to this inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 479 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was a cute historical B&B that we stayed at for one night (wedding night). While comfortable, the room was a bit musty, nothing that we couldnt handle for the night though. We stayed in room 3-1 which had a clawfoot tub. It was a bit high and people with grace problems (like me) or who are a bit older may have issues getting out, even with a bath towel mat.
I will say everyone was extremely nice and the food was heavenly!!! We had afternoon tea after we checked in and the breakfast was big and delish! Great food to get us on the road, warm and full.
Word of caution: the parking is incredibly small on the property. Unless you have a real compact car dont even think about parking on site. Beamers, Accords or Camerys are too big.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a four night stay at this charming bed and breakfast.We stayed in carriage house 1 and although small, we found it fit our needs perfectly.
We loved the exposed brick walls. We appreciated the convenient location as we did not rent a car and were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. The staff was always courteous and professional. They guided us to some of the best restaurants the city has to offer and all within walking distance. Each morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast. I would highly recommend the 1837 Bed and Breakfast. We will stay there next time we visit Charleston.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stay at a B&B every year in Charlestown for the last four years and by far the best I have found. Great location, within walking distance to historic downtown. The staff is awesome and very accommodating. The owners greeted everyone every morning at their wonderful breakfast. The carriage house rooms are a little small but very nice and clean.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the entire B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clsmith335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here November 16-19. We stayed in carriage house 2. The room was so cozy, clean and I loved the exposed brick. I really appreciated the minor, but important touches like the hair dryer, iron/ironing board, makeup remover wipes, and shampoo/conditioner. The staff was extremely nice and professional. My husband and I didn't eat breakfast here so I can't comment on that, however it smelled very delicious when we went into the dining area. We didn't eat breakfast there because we had some other breakfast places that we wanted to try out each morning. The location is a few blocks from King Street and a short walking distance to the Market and Battery. It is down a side street, however we always felt safe walking, even late at night. We would definitely stay here again. I have no complaints.

I would like to comment on some of the negative reviews. I can't believe people would complain about the parking lot. It CLEARLY states on the website that the parking lot is small and can only accommodate small cars. I drive a Hyundai Elantra and had no problems. About the towels.....they are replaced daily if left on the floor, or if you need them sooner just ask. As for the snail mail deposit, that is also clearly stated on their policies page. I'm not sure why people would complain about things that are clearly stated on the website.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Staying at this bed and breakfast was the best decision my daughter and I made when we planned our Charleston trip. Lynn and Jane were so nice and answered the many questions we had before we arrived. Their recommendations of where to eat and what to see were spot on. The bed and breakfast is very quaint, situated on a quiet street. Our room was beautiful and exceptionally clean. The common areas of the bed and breakfast were faithfully restored, and the owners love of the place shines through. The breakfasts were very good and gave us a great start to the day. We plan to stay with them the next time we are in Charleston, and I would encourage anyone planning a trip to stay at this place. You won't be disappointed. I marked that they have a pool and fitness area. That's a mistake on my part - they don't have pool and fitness area. But you really don't need it. We did a lot of walking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Loved this B& B! Breakfast was delicious as were the brownies and chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. Staff was very friendly, knowledgable and helpful--would definitely stay here again! Very comfortable rooms and I really appreciated the off the street free parking space in back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,963 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,023 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Governor's House Inn
#3 of 39 in Charleston
503 reviews
Downtown
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 39 in Charleston
167 reviews
The Meeting Street Inn
#5 of 39 in Charleston
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1837 Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1837 Bed and Breakfast

Address: 126 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1737
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $99 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa: 1837. Our quaint 9-room South Carolina B&B features open piazzas, rocking chairs, a joggling board, and plenty of southern hospitality. Enjoy beautifully appointed and intimate accommodations in a cotton planter's home and brick carriage/kitchen house. Included in your stay is a full and delicious complimentary breakfast. Our freshly prepared breakfast is served in the dining room or on the piazza. Our central location in the historic district of Charleston, SC, provides easy walking to shops, antique and art galleries, the old market, and Charleston's finest dining. Our daily afternoon tea time features freshly prepared refreshments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1837 Hotel Charleston
1837 b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing