We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and beautifully maintained”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1837 Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I just stayed in the 1837 for the first time in October. It's a very pretty historic building in an area that seems mostly inhabited by students from the College of Charleston, located only a couple of blocks over from King St. My husband and I stayed in carriage house room 1. It's a very tiny room (but I knew that from reading other reviews), but nicely furnished. The thing I liked least about it was the shower. It's one of the rooms with just a shower (sans bath) and it is TINY with a capital T. You can barely move around in it. The parking situation is tight as well. Beware if you have a large vehicle (we didn't, but the car parked right in front of our door barely left room for us to maneuver to get in and out). Despite these small drawbacks it was an overall nice situation. The staff and owners are very friendly and the inn itself is beautiful. The location puts you in walking distance of everything--a definite plus. Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I were to book one of the bigger rooms with a bath in the main house.

Room Tip: Unless you want to shower in a tiny box, pick a room with a full bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookstoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 456 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've stayed here several times and loved it each time. The beds are supremely comfortable, the breakfast very social and excellent, and the innkeepers friendly & helpful. It is probably the best value in Charleston while keeping a historic air. It is always my first choice when in town. I would add it is great for couples also but since I must choose one 'sort' I will choose solo since I was made to feel very comfortable even while traveling by myself.

Room Tip: I love the rooms in the front either the 2nd or 3rd floor - both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

In Charleston we pass one night at the 1837 it's like walk back in time in 1837. A charming place with kind staff alway's ready to answer your interrogations. A good and beautiful breakfest serve by the cook that is aware of everything in charleston. We had a great stay in the heart of the historic city enjoy it , worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here last weekend to visit our daughter at the College of Charleston (Parents Weekend). The location is perfect. The house is beautiful. We stayed on the third floor of the carriage house. It was perfect for us. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. They gave us afternoon snack, offered nice tips when asked and the breakfast was delicious. The owners (Rick and his wife) were friendly. We loved everything about this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at the 1837, a historic house of great character. The lounge and dining room were very much in keeping with the style of the house. Breakfasts were great in the local style and made breakfast a very pleasant occasion. Our room was very comfortable and furnished appropriately, there was also a table and two chairs on the balcony outside. Being a single house we had windows on both sides of the room. The owners were about and introduced themselves to all guests. The staff were all very helpful both with regard to 1837 and Charleston. A star feature was afternoon tea, the home made lemonade was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank North-Yorkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a wonderful trip! I had been corresponding with Janie and Amanda about 4 months prior to our arrival. Their tips on tours, restaurants, shopping were spot on! The first night we stayed in room 3-2 and then moved to 3-1 for the remainder of our trip. Both rooms were fantastic - do prefer the 3-1 a little more. The location is within walking distance to almost everything! The breakfast in the mornings, is a full breakfast with frittata's, pastry, coffee, juice, etc. How nice it was to sit with other travelers (Munich, England, North Carolina, Michigan, Australia) and go over the events from the day prior or what we were doing that day. I found the staff (Janie, Amanda, Mrs. Emily and Rick, the owner) to go above and beyond - talk about anticipation of the guests needs!!!! The only downfall was that my husband was sick for a portion of our trip. I was in the hotel business for 25 years and it was amazing how geniune and helpful everyone was. They made us feel like we were part of a family! The location is very close to the College of Charleston and there is always people walking around day or night. We felt very safe! The b&b is also environmentally conscience - do use Green Mountain Taxi (hybrid cars). Thank you all so much and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: If you have your choice, 3-1 is wonderful! Queen sized rice bed, beautiful fireplace and on the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CajunDoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived shortly after check in which was very smooth and afternoon tea/dessert was being served which was inviting upon arrival. Staff was extremely knowledgable of the area restaurants, tours, etc if you are not sure where to eat or what tours Charleston has to over. (we had preplanned most of ours prior to arrival just needed directions to the area) they provided maps and wrote information on the map for us.

The room was wonderful, very clean, quiet and relaxing for us..... Except....... COLD showers!! Yikes... there was instructions on the "tankless water heater" to run the hot first as cold as needed...hot alone was luke warm for about 5 minutes then solid cold. We thought ok lets try taking showers at night ? No the same thing cold showers. This was the only very disappointing part of our stay. And not very comfortable but at least it's hot summer couldn't imagine the colder months or winter months a cold shower!! Yikes.

There was one little detail that I noticed in the bathroom there was a ONE light bulb burned out it was still very bright without this light so I didn't say anything. But I DID notice that when I came back to our room after being out for the day to attempt an evening shower the light bulb WAS replaced!! Attention to detail!!

Everything was in walking distance from this bed and breakfast which was great. We did drive to patriots point and toured there on our own which was less then 5 miles away and very easy to access across the bridge. Parking is limited at the bed and breakfast small cars are Strongly suggested ours is small and we still had to really work on parking around all the larger cars/trucks. Parking was tight and hoped that nobody would bang car doors with each other. But it's free parking and parking is very limited in Charleston so bring your smaller car when visiting.

Room Tip: We stayed on the thrid floor 3-1 which was beautiful and facing the street you couldn't see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri2south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1837, Owner at 1837 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

The intermittent Issue with this shower was due to a faulty tankless Rinnai water heater. After several visits by the plumber, and calls to the manufacturer, we removed this unit and replaced it with a conventional hot water tank. We have experienced no problems since.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jasmine House Inn
#9 of 39 in Charleston
222 reviews
Downtown
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 39 in Charleston
159 reviews
The Governor's House Inn
#2 of 39 in Charleston
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1837 Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1837 Bed and Breakfast

Address: 126 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1737
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $99 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa: 1837. Our quaint 9-room South Carolina B&B features open piazzas, rocking chairs, a joggling board, and plenty of southern hospitality. Enjoy beautifully appointed and intimate accommodations in a cotton planter's home and brick carriage/kitchen house. Included in your stay is a full and delicious complimentary breakfast. Our freshly prepared breakfast is served in the dining room or on the piazza. Our central location in the historic district of Charleston, SC, provides easy walking to shops, antique and art galleries, the old market, and Charleston's finest dining. Our daily afternoon tea time features freshly prepared refreshments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1837 b&b
1837 Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing