We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live music and half price wine on a Monday!”
Review of The Glass Onion

The Glass Onion
Ranked #30 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Parkwood / Farmfield
Description: The Glass Onion is one of Charleston’s original home grown, locally focused, all-natural restaurants. Owner and Executive Chef Chris Stewart opened the restaurant in 2008 with fellow culinary colleagues. It was one of the first places in town to support local farmers and purveyors with almost every dish and drink. An eighth generation Alabama native, Stewart’s love and appreciation of southern food shows through his menu. His restaurant boasts comfort food that reflects his time growing up in Alabama, as well as New Orleans and Lowcountry influences. The ever-evolving menu changes daily and features as many local, all natural, hormone-free ingredients as possible. The soulful food draws influence from Stewart’s southern heritage and family recipes, especially from his grandmother Jennie Ruth; and is available for lunch, dinner and Saturday brunch.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Live music and half price wine on a Monday!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a treat... we were delighted to have such a great meal on a Monday with live entertainment. The special oyster appetizer was outstanding prepared with scrambled egg and a maple bourbon sauce. As DDD fans we appreciate the "off the radar" places and this is one of the best we have experienced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachyBride2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    183
    65
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort Food At It's Best”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Over the past 5 years I have passed by The Glass Onion hundreds of times as I've traveled both ways on Savannah Highway. I knew it was a restaurant but I didn't have a clue what type of food it served until my cousin in St. Petersburg, Florida sent me an email about The Glass Onion the other day after seeing it reviewed on a cable TV food show. He said that the menu looked incredible and the presentation was beautiful.

So last evening my wife and I went there for dinner. In a word.........OUTSTANDING!!!!

The most delicious southern style comfort food I've ever had anyplace.......great menu, great presentation, great service and great vibe.

It is now on the top of our list of places we can't wait to go back to and we will go back this coming week. Bravo Glass Onion!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sslive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gem in a strange location”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a local place. Hard to find. Many folks pass it by but stop. Great home cooking. Limited menu but everything is fresh and wonderful. It is out of town so you need a car to get there but worth the drive. Yum.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Glass Onion”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Glass Onion on a recent weekend trip to Charleston. What a great experience. The service was great, the server was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu. Must haves include the pimento cheese, best I've had, trout was amazing, and the gumbo was perfect. Truly appreciate their farm to table approach and use of local ingredients. Will definitely return on our next trip to Charleston.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dktarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great food, perfect service, good value. This place is quite special! The location not much to write home about!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glass Onion also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Glass Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing