We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, creative local food; excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glass Onion

The Glass Onion
Ranked #30 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Parkwood / Farmfield
Description: The Glass Onion is one of Charleston’s original home grown, locally focused, all-natural restaurants. Owner and Executive Chef Chris Stewart opened the restaurant in 2008 with fellow culinary colleagues. It was one of the first places in town to support local farmers and purveyors with almost every dish and drink. An eighth generation Alabama native, Stewart’s love and appreciation of southern food shows through his menu. His restaurant boasts comfort food that reflects his time growing up in Alabama, as well as New Orleans and Lowcountry influences. The ever-evolving menu changes daily and features as many local, all natural, hormone-free ingredients as possible. The soulful food draws influence from Stewart’s southern heritage and family recipes, especially from his grandmother Jennie Ruth; and is available for lunch, dinner and Saturday brunch.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, creative local food; excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We loved everything about The Glass Onion! It's a small restaurant and the atmosphere is very casual - kind of funky-almost-dinner. The food is mostly locally sourced and the menu changes often/daily. My wife and I had couple of very well made cocktails. I had a wonderful blackened fish of the day with a side of succotash. The variety of tastes in the one dish was spectacular. My wife was equally pleased with her pasta dish. For dessert, we had the house specialty - bread pudding. Amazingly good! Worth the trip just to have a cup of coffee and the bread pudding! Service was perfect and perfectly friendly. The owner also came over to chat us up - nice touch! It's not cheap, but the value is absolutely there. We're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    177
    62
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“love the variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been there several times and it is always amazing. The selection is quite good and they have daily specials. We met friends there and one member had pork bellies- I never had an interest - but when I tried it- they were phenomenal- so tender. Lesson learned- go outside the box!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal Carolinas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“"Soulful" Food on the Highway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived late in the evening passing the jump'in restaurant on our way into Charleston. Located at 1219 Savannah Highway in a modified strip of shops, the Glass Onion was a real surprise...only for us. The restaurant was filled with locals, who evidentially knew about the interesting menu and wines. We were on the tail end of a Tuesday night's dinner with several specials, which comprised the bulk of the menu that evening. Several of selections were sold out, but there were enough items on the menu to provide us with choices. We chose the fried chicken and a shrimp dish, with some sides, salad ,tea, a beer and cobbler for a total of $45.12. It was a pleasant surprise to find this small off the main drag restaurant at 8 PM on a Tuesday night. The service was an added bonus given that we were practically closing the place down..not to have worried...we were never rushed, or hurried out the door.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BooCoastalCarolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Food at amazing prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Where else can you find fried pork ears, fois gras and more at diner prices. We had the most amazing "fine dining" lunch at the amazingly low prices. The staff was fabulous and helped us order (and even sent out some free apps). We would love to go back here as soon as possible!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mackncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Deliciously Distrubing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stopped in The Glass Onion after seeing it on Triple-D. Ordered shrimp po-boy; pig-ear po-boy, and goat-cheese cheesecake topped with honey. All food was absolutely delicious. Will definitely stop in again. Atmosphere was eclectic and fun. Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and patient with children. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank qayaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glass Onion also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Glass Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing