We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toast Restaurant

Toast Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Opelika, Ala.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Dropped in for a nice lunch. Food and service was good. Reasonable priced. Not fancy but a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keithowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,014
    1,156
    513
    190
    146
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Charleston Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came one morning while we were visiting a friend. We were told there would be a line out of the door and man, was there! But I always take that as a good sign. This place is well known with locals as well as visitors.

We did wait an hour outside for breakfast, but it was worth it.

The menu is outstanding and is authentic as Lowcountry cuisine comes (from myself, a Lowcountry native). The service and food was outstanding. We both had the crab cake egg benedict. Shari, the general manager took good care of us.

I highly recommend you eat here, and come early for breakfast if it's a weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Charleston for two nights and ate breakfast here both mornings... Our servers were both absolutely amazing, incredibly nice. And the general manager, Mrs. Sharon, was the BEST... At the end of our trip, we were hugging her and saying our goodbyes. Until next time, of course.

The food was great... Omelets, grits, home fries, and literally the best biscuits we've ever had. And the lattes are perfection, too!

EAT HERE!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly-n-Emir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“My "brunch spot" search is finally over!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had the pleasure of trying Toast with my family this morning and it was FANTASTIC! I started with the Bacon Bloody Mary, with their in-house bacon-infused vodka, that came with a bacon wrapped queen stuffed olive, and it was dangerously delicious. We were a large group, so we got a double Deluxe Stuffed French Toast to share as a start. It was amazing! Huge slices of bread stuffed with fresh peaches and apples, topped with warm syrup, that's not too sweet or too rich. Everyone was fighting over the last piece. For my actual meal, I had the Eggs Meeting Street. Words cannot describe how mouth wateringly delectable those were. Poached eggs on a huge crab cake, which had just enough filler, over a fried green tomato. All topped with a slightly sweet cajun remoulade. Throw in the home fries and a made from scratch biscuit as big as my hand and I was in Heaven. Our server, Connie, was a delight. She provided us with ample information and entertainment as we enjoyed the atmosphere. The menu is reasonably priced especially for the portions. All in all, I'd say I have found a new favorite brunch spot in Charleston.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darth_RedBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were staying at a hotel with a free breakfast that was OK but we decided to splurge one day and went here. Absolutely loved it! Each had something different, each was pleased with the decision. We even decided it was worth a second splurge the next day. GET THE BISCUIT. No matter what else you order, get a biscuit. Cannot express enough how yummy it was. Service was great both days as well. Remember Snooky was the first day and feel bad as I don't remember the lady's name the second but again, both days were fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asdf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Toast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing