We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Love of GOD, get the Catfish, and ask for Beth!”
Review of Toast Restaurant

Toast Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
“For the Love of GOD, get the Catfish, and ask for Beth!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Catfish Plate that is served at Dinner is the best Meal I have ever had! We live 5 hours away and I would consider driving that distance to have that meal again! The server was named Beth, and she must have a photographic memory. She remembered my name after three days and was so helpful in helping me find the sauce used on the catfish! She also remembers our order without having to write it down. The resturant is a very warm and friendly place to eat and/or have a few drinks. Food proportions are very generous, and the prices are very fair. I promise to be back again as soon as I can!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,163
    1,237
    555
    206
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Aaaah, Warm Biscuits and Apple Butter!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited Toast the morning of the Cooper Bridge 10K. Lots of runners high on adrenaline. I don't think they take reservations; we had a 40 minute wait, but it was worth it. We selected from the lunch menu - an oversized, fresh Cobb salad with a great house dressing and a Charleston Steak and Cheese with lots of fries. Both entrees were delicious, but the best part was the fluffy, warm biscuit which the restaurant serves with either apple butter or orange marmalade. A nearby guest had a toffee/turtle cheese cake that looked amazing. Bright colors, energetic staff, lots of nice energy. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthann0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“still serving at 3 PM”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A nice find! So often we are looking for a meal mid afternoon when we are traveling. Lucky to find Toast which was open and serving lunch at 3. Delicious Peach sweet iced tea, crabcake sammie and Fried green BLT. Service was quick.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyinYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bottomless Mimosas, great omelettes and wonderful staff. Perfect start to your day. This was one of my favorite stops while in Charleston and the value is absolutely great. Go hungry, go thirsty and you won't regret it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
“Wonderful all the way around!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I spent 5 days in Charleston recently and went to Toast for every single breakfast. The food is great but my favorite part was the general manager, Sharon. I can't tell you how much a pleasant, competent manager makes. She was a delight and we just wanted to come back again and again!! We will be back Sharon.....Sue, Susan and Linda

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 466suel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Toast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing