We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Southern Breakfast for Traveling Los Angelenos”
Review of Toast Restaurant

Toast Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Southern Breakfast for Traveling Los Angelenos”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our server Yony made our experience with his enthusiastic welcome, expert knowledge of the menu, and a great, warm personality. He suggested three dishes. We got two - Eggs on Meeting Street and Lowcountry Eye Opener. The fried green tomatoes on both dishes were perfectly (and lightly). fried. For newbies with grits, these were simply delicious and paired perfectly with lobster sauce for the shrimp in the LEO dish. The crab cake was flaky and fresh. This was definitely one excellent experience, which we just stumbled upon. Get the Bloody Mary too - both the jalapeño and cucumber infused were delicious. If you are looking for a great breakfast and a great experience, go toToast and ask for Yony!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,136
    1,229
    551
    206
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better breakfast at IHOP”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had breakfast at Toast on Christmas morning. The waitstaff and management were delightful and attentive. The food was just so-so. We had apple french toast and eggs benedict. The hollandaise sauce was runny. The french toast had no flavor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Toast-Well Done!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Shrimp Po Boy-Excellent!
The rest of our lunches for our party were good also.
I see where most people go for breakfast, but, we went for lunch.
Good lunch stop when hungry for better than average food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank studebhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Charleston is a great city to visit with many historic attractions, but if a destination does not have equally as good restaurants, you will not have tourist. The one and only restaurant we go to for breakfast is Toast. The food is a great value and so good. We have been going regularly for over a year and always have a good experience. Our waiter today, Corbett, was excellent. Shout out to you Corbett, we were the Colorado transplants!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fried green tomatoes”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had breakfast and brunch at Toast. The lines outside attest to the restaurant's popularity. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. The fired green tomatoes and the grits are a special treat. Some of the dishes could have come out a bit hotter. Never felt rushed. Good coffee. Not cheap, but within reason for Charleston's tourist district.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martyb-tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Toast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing