We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Breakfast”
Review of Toast Restaurant

Toast Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
364 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our group loves breakfast.....and this one was quite good. We expected to wait but it wasn't more than 10 minutes to be seated. The server, a Charleston native, was excellent. Two of our breakfasts came out a bit on the cool side and after drawing it to our server's attention, they were whisked away and two fresh hot plates appeared very shortly along with apologies for not being up to Toast's standards. One of our group (not a big eater) left some corned beef hash on the plate and two staff members came over to ask if there were any problems with the meal. We assured them it was just a case of being very well fed. They were paying attention.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashford817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,109
    1,215
    544
    204
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Five Star and friendly”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Getting into Charleston at 5 am on Amtrak is an early wake up call, especially since we could not check into our Inn until 8 a.m. -- thank you Ashley Inn! In order to "stall for time", Mike, our cabby, and 'big boy' recommended we go by Toast in downtown Charleston. Even though we were early, Mary let us know as soon as they opened. Mary let us park our bags and proceeded to give us a super breakfast and plenty of great coffee. Since I usually take non dairy creamer in my coffee and none was available, I drank it black--the best ever black coffee I have ever tasted. Toast is undeniably one of Charleston's hidden treasures and Mary and the staff went above board to make our family trip start off great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The wife and I had the best breakfast at Toast! The Deluxe French Toast is unbelievable.

Thanks to Mary for the great service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maximus998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunnell, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Toast is right next door to the Days Inn we were in. We have eaten breakfast 2 days, and dinner one day, so far! Waitstaff is very attentive, food is excellent. We have had biscuits and gravy, eggs, fruit for breakfast, and she-crab soup with Shrimp BLT with fried green tomatoes for dinner. All were excellent!

Helpful?
Thank BeaS265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great crab cake sammies. Atmosphere was good diner style place with good lunch opitions also. Our server Emily (Arkansas) was quite friendly offering us excellent, service with a smile. Only one small thing, our table could have been cleaned a bit better before we sat down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArabWingrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Toast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing