We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good French Bistro”
Review of La Fourchette - CLOSED

La Fourchette
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good French Bistro”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The night we were there, the restaurant was very quiet, which is a shame because the atmosphere, service and food were all excellent. There was some good music playing throughout the meal too. We chose it because it was reasonable walking distance from our hotel and recommended by our Fodor Guide.

I had a gateau de legumes with goat's cheese, followed by the blanquette de veau and my husband had duck pate, magret de canard and profiteroles. He rated them all as good as any he had eaten in Paris. With a bottle of Cotes de Rhone, the bill came to $127.63 before the tip and we went away well satisfied with the choice of restaurant we had made.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJLHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schuylkill Haven, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was looking for something a little different from the routine fair. The staff was very professional and displayed savoir faire. I enjoyed the french shepherds pie. Approach was very simple but delicious and dinner was served with bread. I also enjoyed a robust french pressed coffee with dessert. Menu was diverse.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank life2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Night to dine”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just asked to. Be reserved for 1900 instead of 1830. Felt rushed and there were plenty of tables available. Splendid waitress but just cold shoulder elsewhere. Small restaurant and proprieters could have come to table but did not. If they can't do that then they are too busy to cultivate clientele. Have seen other blogs but did not enjoy good feel. Food good bistro. But one should have had personal feel in cafe with 20+/- tables. They're just tired!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous night in Charleston”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Another wonderful meal in Charleston! Small, quaint but lovely restaurant on King Street. Our waitress, Olivia, was great... knowledgeable of the food choices, the city and very attentive. My date ordered the beef bourg (can't spell it, red wine sauce) and said it was excellent. I had a seafood dish with a light cream sauce that I enjoyed immensely. The wine list was excellent. If we return to Charleston we would return here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gingerita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little French restaurant”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our experience at La Fourchette The staff was very friendly and accommodating The food was very good. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ash2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fourchette also viewed

Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing