We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #13 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Had been wanting to visit here for years when we vacationed in Charleston but there are so many plantations and historic places, it's hard to pick one. Now we live here and this is must see! If you like history you'll enjoy this informative tour. We feel we got our money's worth and our guide was entertaining and interesting. Would def recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank CharlestonWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
It's always great to read an endorsement from a local--thank you! We hope you will visit again soon and bring out-of-town guests with you. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    972
    401
    136
    41
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed near by at Middleton Place. If you drive out of Charleston to visit Drayton Hall, it's worth considering seeing Middleton Place and/or Magnolia Gardens. They are very close to each other and you can easily see two in one day (maybe all 3 but my wife and I only chose to see Middleton and Drayton). All locations seem to close kind of early so factor that in to your plans.

Drayton Hall was a great glimpse into history. The tour was good (I'd give it 4 out 5 stars.) You can take some great photos inside that house if you're in to that. And spend and some time walking around the grounds and out to the Ashely river.

Plan for a 2 to 3 hour visit. The house tour was approx. 45 - 60 min.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for writing a review and sharing photos from your visit! All of our guides spend months researching the history of the site before they give a tour. They choose a particular area to focus on, so that means that no two tours are alike here at Drayton Hall. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Drayton Hall and our preservation method. Through our ongoing research and archaeology, we continue to learn more about the site to include on our tours. We hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
“Architectural Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is one of kind American historical sight and a must see. It's beauty is in a natural state for being 200+ years. It is not an amusement part or have artificial amusements, it is funny to see negative reviews of not having entertaining things to do. The grounds and gardens are to be appreciated for their beauty and this is a photographic scenic area. Highly recommended for the mature and artistically minded. No play ground for children unless you would like to educate them in historical America vs entertainment parks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mcalibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Drayton Hall. We agree, walking through the house is like stepping back in time. Drayton Hall remains the oldest unrestored plantation house that is open to the public. It sounds like you had a great time on the house tour and walking the grounds. Next time you visit make sure to check out our program Connections: from Africa to America. Thanks for recommending the site to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor, pa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Preserved History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The grounds and buildings are amazing. They have stood the test of time. The plantation house is as it was when the last residents left. Their goal is to preserve history and they are doing a wonderful job. Our tour guide was informative and was open to all questions. The grounds are pleasant to walk and the views are wonderful. If you are a history buff you will enjoy this piece of history.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bangorpaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you--we will pass the kudos along to our preservation department. Thanks for recommending Drayton Hall to other history buffs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour of a preserved home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a grea place to visit to see an example of southern plantation life, though this home was built as more of an estate than a working plantation home. Note that this home is presented "as is" and has not been restored to look like any particular time period. There are few furnishings, the house isn't electrified or air conditioned, and the wallpaper and paint haven't been redone to look like they did in the 1800's. This may bother some people who want to visit restored homes, but my wife and I loved seeing the home in this condition as a contrast to how some of the homes in Charleston (and elsewhere) had been renovated to make them pretty. Our tour guide was informative, and we took about an hour to view the house. We also did the walking tour of the grounds, but skipped the marsh tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Drayton Hall, a recipient of TripAdvisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence. It is always wonderful to read such an enthusiastic review from someone who appreciates Drayton Hall's preservation philosophy. We are glad to know you took the time to explore the river walk and historic landscape in addition to your house tour. Hope to see you all again at Drayton Hall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing