We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great history”
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #14 of 237 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great history”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our tour of Drayton Hall. The docent provided some interesting facts about the house and tidbits about the family. The Georgia-Palladian structure was interesting. This gave some insight of what life in the city might have been like for a wealthy family in our country's early days.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed touring this 276-year-old house! Next time you visit make sure to check out our program Connections: from Africa to America. Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    427
    144
    41
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This house is not furnished so you can view the architecture much better. The house has not had all the modern adminities put in it, so you can see the house as was during the 18th and 19th century. There are only 3 coats of paint on the interior! There is also a slave cemetery on the property if your interested.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchaeoBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Drayton Hall and decided to recommend it to other visitors. Please come again! We've always got new and exciting things to share with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I saw previous reviews stating un restored, but this place looks like it's falling down. Upstairs you could see between the wood floor downstairs. I actually didn't feel safe. Both my husband and I couldn't wait to get out of there, then at the end they want you to join their preservation foundation. I didn't appreciate the sales pitch. Didn't stay to listen. I didn't think the price of admission was worth it. I'm usually really positive in my reviews and can find something nice to say but this one I just can't.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Drayton Hall is not in a state of ruin. It is actually in a rare state of preservation: that is, in nearly original condition as when the Draytons moved in when the home was completed in the mid-18th century. Drayton Hall’s preservation department is committed to the house's long-term preservation. Our preservation philosophy is to preserve Drayton Hall as it was received from the Drayton family in 1974 by following best practices and applying professional techniques in conservation and stabilization. Working with some of the best craftspeople in the country, we maintain the house at a high level of preservation.

According to a recent assessment by an independent, contracted structural engineer, the house is not collapsing, nor is there an immediate fear of it doing so. The current investigation by our professional preservation staff in conjunction with the structural engineer is focused on the long-term preservation of the house and its iconic portico.

We regret that you were dissatisfied with your experience and found little to enjoy at Drayton Hall, a National Historic Landmark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
872 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Interesting Facts”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We bought our tickets just before the tour and had no problems getting in. I had forgotten that this was the home with no furnishings. There is just so much to see and only so much time. Our tour guide was enthusiastic about American History and gave good detail and respect for the time period. The grounds are kept nicely and the home is having some preservation work being done but you are still able to get around easily. The price is a bit steep compared to the homes with furnishings in town but still a nice place to visit. Since we weren’t able to make the other plantations we cannot compare this one to those. But some are very close in proximity to this one and could make a day of three or so. Also, we were allowed to take pics which was nice since many homes do not allow this. Thanks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for visiting and sharing your beautiful photos from your time at Drayton Hall! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall. Our basic admission includes everything: a professional guided house tour, Connections: From Africa to America, 18th-century African American Cemetery (one of the oldest documented African American cemeteries in the nation still in use), landscape tour, nature walks, and Museum Shop to your next visit as well. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth going”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Enjoyed touring this historic & unrestored plantation home and grounds. Tour guide was especially interesting & presented lots of historical facts about the home. Self-guided river walk on grounds was peaceful and beautiful. Self-guided marsh walk was closed half way through with no indication of this when you start the walk so you have to backtrack. There is also offered a 45 minute presentation called Connections which we missed most of due to arriving late so can't comment on it. Overall, this was worth the admission and would recommend to others.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozarkstravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall! We are glad that you enjoyed your house tour and the Ashley River walk. The marsh walk has been temporarily closed due to water damage, and since your review we have installed adequate signage stating that the marsh is closed in the middle. Thank you for taking your time to review the site. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing