We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drayton Hall”
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #33 of 250 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The architecture is fantastic. It is of the period and made with interiors of cypress panel. Very fine historical home and I think the oldest plantation home in Charleston. It is over 300 years old. It will give the visitor a first rate view of life in Antebellum South.

Thank fallsjager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We appreciate your enthusiasm for Drayton Hall! Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house currently open to the public in America today. Come back for another house tour and make sure to join the Connections program and visit the 18th century African American Cemetery (one of the oldest documented African American cemeteries in the nation still in use). We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"original condition"
in 60 reviews
"preserved plantation"
in 35 reviews
"no electricity"
in 34 reviews
"african american cemetery"
in 30 reviews
"drayton family"
in 66 reviews
"plantation home"
in 80 reviews
"original paint"
in 34 reviews
"slave cemetery"
in 31 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 161 reviews
"ashley river"
in 101 reviews
"house tour"
in 113 reviews
"preserved home"
in 20 reviews
"grounds are beautiful"
in 43 reviews
"step back in time"
in 41 reviews
"architectural details"
in 19 reviews
"old house"
in 22 reviews
"middleton place"
in 58 reviews
Filter

1,037 - 1,041 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

The only Charleston-area plantation to survive the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, the 1886 earthquake and Hurricane Hugo, Drayton Hall is a magnificent example of the mansions built along the east coast in the early 1700s. It has one of the only two COMPLETELY PANELED interiors in the entire US from before the Civil War (the other is Wilton, in my hometown of Richmond, VA), and it is a pleasure to behold. The stairhall is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen in a private older home in America. Rooms are well-proportioned and bright. Owned by the National Trust for Historic Preservation, it emphasizes preservation rather than restoration - it has NEVER been updated - no electricity, plumbing, etc - It is in its perfect original state. If you do nothing else in Charleston, you absolutely MUST see Drayton Hall!

1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall and recommending the site to other travelers. We're glad you enjoyed and appreciated our preservation philosophy. Please come back and visit us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The House is empty. it is almost a shell of a house, you can see a house that is one step from ruins! There are better examples of plantation life!

1  Thank robcoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall. Drayton Hall is not in a state of ruin. Drayton Hall is in near-original condition and is being preserved by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The Drayton family owned the house from the time it was built in 1738 until 1974, when they sold it to the National Trust. Rather than restoring the house to reflect a single period of history, the National Trust made the landmark decision to preserve the site as it was received from the Draytons in 1974. Since the 1970s, our staff has worked to keep the house in a solid and stabilized condition. Preservation professionals and structural engineers worked to strengthen the flooring in the upper great hall, reattach the great hall's cast-plaster ceiling, and replace the deteriorating metal roof. Through this work, we have successfully kept the house’s architectural details authentic and intact. According to a recent assessment by an independent, contracted structural engineer, the house is not collapsing, nor is there an immediate fear of it doing so. The current investigation by our professional preservation staff in conjunction with the structural engineer is focused on the long-term preservation of the house and its iconic portico. The areas that are off-limits are for your safety while work is being completed. Working with some of the best craftspeople in the country, we maintain the house at a high level of preservation. We hope you come back and take advantage of all this National Historic Landmark has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I am a senior in high school, and visited Drayton with my mother. Absolutely one of the best visits to a historic building I have ever been on. We enjoyed it so much that we actually joined the National Trust, and get their preservation magazine every month. The grounds and house are gorgeous, but the best part was unquestionably the tour. The staff was so passionate about the history, and very well informed-- I ask lots of questions, and not once were they thrown by it. It was a fascinating throwback into the history of the old South, as it really was.

1  Thank lily5lace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for becoming a Friend of Drayton Hall and supporting this National Historic Landmark. It is always wonderful to have students visit and ask lots of questions. Our historic house interpreters spend months researching the history of Drayton Hall before they give a public tour. They are prepared to answer lots of questions from guests! We are so glad you enjoyed our method of preserving the house. Many guests walk away from the house feeling like they have traveled back into history because of how well the building has been preserved. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Truly one of the finest homes in America. The opportunity to visit a "preserved" rather than renewed historical home is quite unique. Docents are generally good. Wonderful coupled with a visit to Middleton Gardens.

Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Wow! It is always wonderful to read such an enthusiastic review. Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall, and we hope you will come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing