We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but not that great”
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #19 of 245 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The House is empty. it is almost a shell of a house, you can see a house that is one step from ruins! There are better examples of plantation life!

1  Thank robcoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall. Drayton Hall is not in a state of ruin. Drayton Hall is in near-original condition and is being preserved by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The Drayton family owned the house from the time it was built in 1738 until 1974, when they sold it to the National Trust. Rather than restoring the house to reflect a single period of history, the National Trust made the landmark decision to preserve the site as it was received from the Draytons in 1974. Since the 1970s, our staff has worked to keep the house in a solid and stabilized condition. Preservation professionals and structural engineers worked to strengthen the flooring in the upper great hall, reattach the great hall's cast-plaster ceiling, and replace the deteriorating metal roof. Through this work, we have successfully kept the house’s architectural details authentic and intact. According to a recent assessment by an independent, contracted structural engineer, the house is not collapsing, nor is there an immediate fear of it doing so. The current investigation by our professional preservation staff in conjunction with the structural engineer is focused on the long-term preservation of the house and its iconic portico. The areas that are off-limits are for your safety while work is being completed. Working with some of the best craftspeople in the country, we maintain the house at a high level of preservation. We hope you come back and take advantage of all this National Historic Landmark has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,012 - 1,016 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I am a senior in high school, and visited Drayton with my mother. Absolutely one of the best visits to a historic building I have ever been on. We enjoyed it so much that we actually joined the National Trust, and get their preservation magazine every month. The grounds and house are gorgeous, but the best part was unquestionably the tour. The staff was so passionate about the history, and very well informed-- I ask lots of questions, and not once were they thrown by it. It was a fascinating throwback into the history of the old South, as it really was.

1  Thank lily5lace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for becoming a Friend of Drayton Hall and supporting this National Historic Landmark. It is always wonderful to have students visit and ask lots of questions. Our historic house interpreters spend months researching the history of Drayton Hall before they give a public tour. They are prepared to answer lots of questions from guests! We are so glad you enjoyed our method of preserving the house. Many guests walk away from the house feeling like they have traveled back into history because of how well the building has been preserved. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Truly one of the finest homes in America. The opportunity to visit a "preserved" rather than renewed historical home is quite unique. Docents are generally good. Wonderful coupled with a visit to Middleton Gardens.

Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Wow! It is always wonderful to read such an enthusiastic review. Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall, and we hope you will come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I recently visited Drayton Hall and Plantation. Our tour guide was very professional and her knowledge of the subject matter and personality was very good. She is a historian that will not put you to sleep and really keeps you interested.

Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your guided tour of Drayton Hall. Come back for another house tour and make sure to join the Connections program and visit the 18th century African American Cemetery (one of the oldest documented African American cemeteries in the nation still in use). We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

As part of our trip to Savannah and Charleston this past weekend, we decided to visit Drayton Hall. A few years ago on our first trip to Charleston, we visited Boone Hall Plantation and felt rather gyped to know that the house on those grounds is not the original home, rather a second or third iteration built in the 1900's. Our experience at Drayton Hall was completely different in that we saw such beauty in the form of an original 1700's home, devoid of any furnishings which gave you time to appreciate the grandeur of the structure itself.

Also, I can't speak highly enough about our tour guide, Eric, who was both incredibly knowledgeable about the history, but also spoke professionally and articulately. For me, when we tour an historic location, there are few things more off-putting than a tour guide with a bag of jokes. Eric needs to be cloned and sent all over the United States, to every National Historical Landmark as he would make people fall in love with history. He not only 'knows his stuff', but you could feel his personal devotion and commitment to the project.

We were so impressed my friend and I (we both live in the Midwest and no where near this historical landmark) both bought annual memberships to assist the funding of the restoration project. This is such a worthy place to visit and to save for future generations. Big, big kudos!

2  Thank midwestlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

What a wonderful review—thank you! Eric is an absolutely fantastic and knowledgeable guide, and we will pass the kudos along to him. All of our guides spend months researching the history of the site before they give a tour. Through our ongoing research and archaeology, we continue to learn more about the site to include on our tours. We hope you will visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing