We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #19 of 241 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful and peaceful surroundings. While I was a bit disappointed the house had no furnishings, once you complete the tour you understand why. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and ready to answer questions. A fascinating history and I highly recommend this tour if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. Because the house is preserved and was never modernized with climate control, we cannot display furniture and fine arts inside the house. Rather than restoring Drayton Hall to reflect one period of history, the National Trust for Historic Preservation made the decision to preserve the site as it was received from the Draytons in 1974. This method of preservation allows us to interpret three centuries of American history within a single dwelling. Thank you for recommending Drayton Hall to other travelers and we hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    433
    147
    44
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fruitland Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historical Significance”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was one highlight of our touring. A plantation home that survived the Revolutionary War, Civil War, Earthquake and Hugo..it is maintained in its original condition as it stood in 1729. If you enjoy history at all...a must see at a reasonable entry fee.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall! We are so happy to hear that touring the house was a highlight of your time in Charleston. Next time make sure to check out our program Connections: From Africa to America. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Informative and enjoyable tour”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very knowledgeable guide made tour interesting. An interesting way of preservation as opposed to restoration. Lovely grounds with walks and sights in plenty

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard0837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
It is always wonderful to hear from guests who appreciate Drayton Hall’s preservation philosophy. We are glad you enjoyed your tour of the house. The guided house tour is a highlight for many of our guests. Thank you for your review and we hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fascinating House & Gardens”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Picked this plantation house as it was being preserved. Glad we did. Really interesting visit with excellent guide, Betsy, who told us about the house and grounds history and the old colonial ways. Also nice walks in the grounds and down by the river. Easy way to spent a relaxing 2 hours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall. We are glad you enjoyed your tour with Betsy. Our guides make Drayton Hall come alive for our guests. Each guide spends months researching the history of Drayton Hall and focuses their tour accordingly. Please come back and visit us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Worth the visit!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We loved visiting Drayton hall. What a beautiful place. Takes a few hours to visit. Lots of walking. Worth the visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 444JanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Drayton Hall. Please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing