We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating history - wonderful tour!”
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #14 of 237 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
2 reviews
“Fascinating history - wonderful tour!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Drayton Hall is a wonderful plantation. Although it is run by a preservation Society it remained in the same family for generations. The unique aspects of Drayton are that there's still no electricity and much of the homes decor (simple as it is) remains original. Although there are no furnishings, the rooms, history and tours given are fascinating. Well worth a visit!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travlinsavages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We appreciate your enthusiasm for Drayton Hall! We are delighted that you enjoyed your guided house tour. Please come back and visit again! We've always got new and exciting things to share with our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    427
    145
    42
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
195 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem In The Country”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The preservation of this 275 year old southern plantation is magnificent. Our two tour guides were very knowledgable. I recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nacho52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the historic house tour and Connections program at Drayton Hall Historic Site. Please come back and visit us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was a very unique place to visit because of the fact they have not restored the home and have gone the route of preserving what is there. It allows for a look at the way it was when the Drayton's lived in the home.

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a great job and explaining the features in each room as well as the background of the family and the property.

The connections tour was also done very well and is quite informative. We also stopped at the African-American cemetery which is on the way out of the property and it is a somber place to reflect on the history of our country.

If you want to see a piece of history that hasn't been fancied up and altered, Drayton Hall is a must see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank APompa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of Drayton Hall. We are so glad you enjoyed our program Connections: From African to America, the guided house tour, and seeing the oldest documented African American Cemetery in the nation still in use. Please come back and visit us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A rare gem!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Drayton Hall was built in the 1730's and belonged to the Drayton family well into the 20th century. It has never been restored or improved; it never had electricity, running water, heating or cooling. It is said it survived desolation by Sherman's troops because the then owner, Dr Drayton, posted a sign saying "Smallpox Hospital".

Whatever the reason, this is perhaps the only building in the US that gives a glimpse into the real life of a southern plantation. The decision was taken by the National Trust for Historic Preservation to do just that; preserve it as it was. There's no furniture, the rooms are bare of hangings and pictures, but the woodwork, plasterwork and paint work is original.

There are also excellent walks around the grounds, and educational programs run by well-versed docents.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed and appreciated our preservation philosophy. Please come back and visit again! We've always got new and exciting things to share with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting presentation”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The house is interesting but there are no furnishings and the house has deteriorated somewhat although it was nice. There is a 45 minute presentation you can hear before the house tour. The lady who did ours was very interesting with pictures and details about the former days and actual slavery information true to the days when the plantation was active.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilhelmina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for visiting Drayton Hall. Passed down through seven generations of the Drayton family, the main house is still in near-original condition today, 275 years after it was first built. Rather than restoring the house to reflect a single period of grandeur, the National Trust for Historic Preservation made the bold decision to preserve the site as it was received from the Draytons in 1974 in order to provide a time line showing change and continuity through three centuries of American history. The house still contains much of its original architectural elements such as the hand-carved plaster ceiling in the withdrawing room and the Flemish bond brickwork on the exterior of the house. Because the house is preserved and was never modernized with 20th century technology, we cannot display furniture and fine arts inside the house. Many guests walk away from the house feeling like they have traveled back into history because of how well the site has been preserved. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing