We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Thing”
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #20 of 245 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Peggy our guide was fantastic! So knowledgeable! We learned a lot about the history of the Plantation and area. Drayton Hall is the 'real thing' having survived the Civil War and is preserved to the time period, not a recreation. Well worth a visit!

Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall. Please come back soon, there is always something new to see and learn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,242 - 1,246 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

House was never modernized so that makes it unique as there are no furnishings. They have stabilized the house, but not really made any changes. I was there the day of the flash flooding so the grounds were pretty wet, but it didn't distract from the experience. The tour guide came off as kind of snobby, but it probably gets tiring telling people to stay on the carpet and not to touch anything over and over. If you would like to see an unrestored house I would recommend visiting here.

Thank Maysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We're so glad that you had an enjoyable visit to Drayton Hall. Please come back and visit us again, there is always something new to learn and different to experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

To have a home literally untouched from the time of its construction is very, very unusual. No electricity, no modern heating or AC - it's left just as it was. Truly something not to be missed when visiting Charleston.

2  Thank tsquared40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall. Please come back and visit us again soon, there is always something new to learn and experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A true anti-bellum home, but had no furnishings. Not as touristy as Magnolia or Middleton. Knowlegeable guides,

Thank reddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall. Please come back and visit us again soon, there is always something new to learn and explore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This house has had a hard time and is worth a visit. I'm glad preservationists have kept it going because the family clearly didn't, hence it's multitude of problems and deterioration. It is a very interesting bit of architecture in a beautiful setting. We had an excellent tour guide but alas, she was a Northerner. A visit 30 years ago provided us with a true-blue Charlestonian as a docent and it did make a difference as to interpretation and atmosphere of the area. Sorry, but people local to the area are really vital in proper interpretation of these sites.

1  Thank Owls8041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Drayton Hall and hope that you will come back again soon. The Drayton family were wonderful stewards of Drayton Hall, and left it to the National Trust in a remarkable state of preservation. Because of their commitment to preservation, the main house has been left in a way that will enable generations to come to enjoy it. Because of the lifespan of many of the materials that were used to do repair work in the early 20th century, our world class preservation team is now faced with issues that they will resolve with best practices in the field of historic preservation. We hope you will come back and see the results! Although we thoroughly enjoy a true blue Charlestonian's perspective on their own history, our guides must have better credentials than simply being from a specific place. They are all passionate about Drayton Hall, highly trained, and all hold Bachelors degrees or higher in a related field. We are proud of our guides and hope you will come back to experience a different one- each gives their own unique perspective and research on the property so no tour is exactly alike!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing