We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Gem”
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #19 of 240 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“True Gem”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having seen many of the plantations I believe this might be my favorite. I went to it thinking it would be OK but nothing grand but I was really wrong! Drayton is the first plantation I tell my friends about. I would recommend it to anyone it is a true gem must see.

Helpful?
1 Thank carolinasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall! Please come back soon and visit us, there is always something new to learn and experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,020
    431
    147
    44
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vashon, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the BEST plantation visits”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Drayton Hall is one of the few (3? 4?) plantation homes that DID NOT burn during the Civil War, As such, even though it doesn't look like the traditional plantation home, Drayton Hall is a superb example of what colonial era SC was all about. The house is preserved- not restored- with no furniture- and sits in the middle of a large lawn that one held gardens and walkways, overlooking the Ashley River. The Guides are excellent: Very Knowledgeable! Combine this with Boone Plantation and you'll get a well-rounded view of Charleston in the plantation days.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bali2Belize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall! Please come back soon and visit us, there is always something new to learn and experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Not a place to amuse the kids but it is informative and gives you a good feeling for what it was like in the old South. Beautiful place for a walk and picnic. Heated, stand alone privy...who woulda' thought!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CobblerRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall! Please come back soon and visit us, there is always something new to learn and experience. If you do bring the kids, please note that we have interactive programs for kids of all ages, summer camps, nature walks, and more to entertain them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful / w History”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had an excellent tour guide named Eric, he was really very knowledgeable on his facts of Drayton Hall. This place is really beautiful and so interesting. Our guide kept the attention of our group so well, he was open to any questions and gave answers freely. A must see for anyone visiting Charleston!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hippiechic4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall! Please come back soon and visit us, there is always something new to learn and experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The house is in its origonal state and is breathtaking. The optional information session on the enslaved people at Drayton Hall is very well presented. Staff are committed and knowledgable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarthaS194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall. Please come back and visit us again soon, there is always something new to learn and discover here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing