We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing! Don't miss this tour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #13 of 209 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing! Don't miss this tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'd never thought about the difference between restoration and preservation. After visiting Drayton Hall, I wish more sites would take the Preservation route. Imagine being able to jump into a time machine and go back to just before the civil war and walk through a plantation mansion. No electricity, no running water, wide sweeping staircases, formal rooms. This is Drayton Hall. Unlike other open plantation houses, this house has not been updated and "Restored" most of the structure is original from the late 1700's and early 1800's. It gives you a REAL sense of how life was lived in the day. Highly Recommended for History Buffs and Family's alike!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_n_Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time here, and so glad that you appreciate our preservation philosophy. We are always discovering new and exciting things that we love to share with our guests, so please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    368
    126
    37
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Start your tour of Charleston here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We started our week in Charleston at Drayton Hall and were mesmerized by all of the history that the docents had to impart. This structure has been preserved "as is" from the 1700's and you literally walk through the paths of the family and its decendants. It has not been restored and this adds to the awe of your visit and imagination. Drayton Hall is absolutely fascinating! Be sure to join the National Trust for Historic Preservation after your tour to help continue the work being done here and get your proper rice spoon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank littlepepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so glad that you were so impacted by our site, and thank you for your support of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. We are always discovering new and exciting things, so please come back and see what's new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small but packs a punch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Drayton Hall is smaller than Middleton but has as much history and may be even more beautiful. Did not realize that it fallen into disrepair for so long some time ago. I think it's the best of Charleston's historic sites. you got to check it out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Wow, what a compliment! We are so glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
531 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“An "Historic Must See"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A short drive from downtown, and worth a couple of hours to soak in the rich history of the South. We did a tour of the property and you can almost feel the families who lived the still in the fabric of the plantation.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time here! Our preservation professionals are always discovering new and interesting things that we love to share with our guests, so come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Unaltered graciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This plantation house has not been altered - so although it is empty of furnishings and fabrics, you see the house as it really was I especially loved the family writing on the wall in one room. T

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your tour- the growth chart on the wall is always a favorite of our guests. There are always new and interesting things to discover here, please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing