We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walk without extensive restoration”
Review of Drayton Hall

Drayton Hall
Ranked #19 of 243 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Circa 1738, Drayton Hall is the oldest unrestored plantation house in America still open to the public.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A wonderful study in archicture. Very knowledgeable guide. A step back in history as it stood years ago.

1  Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your time at Drayton Hall. Please come back and visit again, we are always uncovering new and exciting things that we love to share with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,672)
There are newer reviews for Drayton Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,300 - 1,304 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are a fan of this mini-series, when you drive up the driveway leading into Drayton Hall, you will remember Patrick Swayze and all of the others as they rode up the same road. The plantation is beautiful, and visiting the house and grounds just made you think what happened here historically? Who lived here? What were they like? What happened they were filming? When we visited the slave quarters, it was moving and thought provoking. The entire area is beautiful and helps you appreciate how hard people had to work in this country early on and how wonderful our modern conveniences are now. But, also how simple life was then. It's a true trip back in time.

Thank GVL605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are so glad you were moved and inspired by your time here. Many people who see the house, experience the African American cemetery, and walk the grounds ask the same thought provoking questions. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This Plantation Home is the only totally original home still standing in the Charleston area. This house has not been restored. It looks like it did when it was erected. This house was on of the few that was not burned to the ground during the Civil War. It is well worth the visit.

1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Public Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back and visit again. We always have new and exciting things going on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This house, built in the 1700's, is well preserved but doesn't have furnishings. The rooms have beautiful architecture and the house never had electricity or plumbing added so it's very much like it was over 200 years ago.

2  Thank Beth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed Drayton Hall and understood what makes it so special. Please come back and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a complete empty house with ugly blank walls without any coverage. Moreover, not a single furniture. A guide, leading you through some of the empty rooms, telling you what was in that room before, has no sense in my opinion. This was at least a misleading tourist attraction, not worth the admission fee of about $ 20.You'd better off paying 8 dollars for the grounds only, take some pictures of the outside and forget the inside...For less than 20 dollar, we spend a wonderful time the same day at the Boone Hall Plantation, not that far from The Drayton Hall

2  Thank reyntens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DraytonHall, Guest Relations Manager at Drayton Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We regret that you were dissatisfied with your experience and found little to enjoy at Drayton Hall, a National Historic Landmark. Since opening to the public in 1974, Drayton Hall has been celebrated for its iconic architecture, house tour, historic landscape with nature walks and self-guided tour on DVD, 1790s African-American cemetery and interactive history program, museum shop, and more – including the opportunity to interact with our resident archaeologists at our dig sites and at our preservation-in-progress work sites. We also regret that you felt you were deliberately misled. It’s a shame that you didn’t have an opportunity to visit our website, see our national advertising or other promotional materials and signage around Charleston, or speak with someone in Charleston tourism at the welcome centers, visitor centers, or hotels prior to your visit, or you would have understood that Drayton Hall’s main house always has been and likely always will be shown unfurnished. This is because the house is in a rare state of preservation: that is, in nearly-original condition as when the first-generation of Draytons moved in when the home was completed in the mid-18th century. Since the structure has never been modernized and is, therefore, not climate controlled, the Drayton family’s belongings – furniture, textiles, china, artwork, personal belongings, etc. – are in storage or on exhibit elsewhere, awaiting our future interpretive center.

Regarding our admissions fee: you should know that at $18 for an all-inclusive adult admission ($8 for youths 12-18; $6 for children 6 to 11; free for children under 5, and an optional $8 grounds-only ticket), the cost is actually quite competitive when you stop and compare it with other sites in the Charleston area – in fact, this is frequently mentioned in our visitor feedback. Even at these reasonable rates, we also offer additional opportunities for our visitors to save even more through year ‘round discounts for AAA members, military, and families with children, as well as free admission for teachers, military, firefighters, police and EMS every summer. We also participate in Smithsonian Museum Day, the last Saturday in September, which provides free admission to all of our visitors. Of course, our nearly 7,000 members in the Friends of Drayton Hall enjoy unlimited free admission throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drayton Hall also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Drayton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing