We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Virginia's on King

Virginia's on King
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 2/23
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #163 of 1,009 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Established in December of 2007, Virginia’s on King is the third restaurant concept of the Holy City Hospitality group. A collection of family recipes and Southern cooking traditions, this Lowcountry dining spot specializes in upscale Southern cuisine prepared with the freshest, local ingredients. The classic Charleston influenced interior and the aromas of home cooking inspire all of the comforts of a traditional Southern kitchen. At the heart of Virginia’s you will find gracious hospitality along with all of the flavors of the Lowcountry.The Upstairs at Virginia’s dining room is completely separated from the downstairs dining room. Purposely designed to host small receptions, corporate events, rehearsal dinners and ideal for bridal luncheons! Classic Charleston influenced interior and the aromas of home cooking inspire all of the comforts of a traditional Southern kitchen, the perfect setting for hosting any event. At the heart of Virginia’s you will find gracious hospitality along with all of the flavors of the Lowcountry.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You must try the mac and cheese! This good country cooking with huge portions. I also enjoyed the pineapple mimosa!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank allison1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at Virginia's on King, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Brenda, we cannot wait to share your kind words with the kitchen and bar. Thank you for taking the time to share. We appreciate you! Best, Holy City Hospitality & Events by Good Food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Is it possible to give a negative rating. Ordered a biscuit with bacon and cheese on it and a coffee. The biscuit was like a brick the cheese was shredded and just sprinkled on top of the bacon and cold, not melted and to add insult to injury the bacon was ice cold and had obviously been cooked well before the order was placed. Oh and btw the grits were ice cold as well. Probably the worst meal I’ve had in, actuality I don’t recall a worse meal ever. How you screw something up this simple is beyond me.
The sad thing is I’ve eaten here in the past and it was always pretty decent. Avoid, there are many much better alternatives in Charleston.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank soundsource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at Virginia's on King, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent dining experience. We apologize that your visit was less than exceptional. I have shared your review with our management team. Please don't hesitate to reach out directly at info@virginiasonking.com to talk with us in more detail. Kind regards, Virginia's on King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Came for breakfast. Had the two egg breakfast with eggs that were cooked well but served cold. Grits were the best part of the meal. Creamy and delicious. Biscuit was not the best. Was dry and also slightly cold. Fried had the home fries and they were also very good. For the price would say the food was average and not anything special.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jcmallard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at Virginia's on King, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to Virginia’s on King and we hope you will join us again soon. Best, Holy City Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

My husband and I have been to this restaurant for brunch on 4 occasions. The food and service are usually very good, but that was not the case on our latest visit. The greeting upon entering the restaurant was less than welcoming even though we had a reservation. Our waitress was nice, but could have been more attentive as the restaurant was not full. Throughout our brunch, there were 2 managers and a hostess that stood at the front podium talking amongst themselves and not paying any attention to their guests. This was not the typical experience at Virginia's. Service used to be impeccable and the wait staff professional, but it does not appear to be the staff with whom I'm familiar. There are many good places for brunch in Charleston - so it is not worth wasting your time at a place that doesn't seem to care about you or your dining experience.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank SCTraveler29412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at Virginia's on King, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your continued patronage and also for your feedback. We strive for excellence and will be bringing this up as a team this week. We hope to host you again soon and show you we have not lost our Lowcountry roots of impeccable cuisine and service. Best, Holy City Hospitality & Events by Good Food

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

We had brunch here on New Year's day. They were expectedly busy, but we lucked out and got a table in the front window. It took a very long time to get our food. I'm not sure if that was due to the amount of people or if they are always slow. We both ordered a simple scramble with eggs and potatoes. The food was fine, but nothing to write home about. I think in the future I would try a different spot for breakfast.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CCHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at Virginia's on King, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Cindy, we appreciate your feedback and apologize for the delay in service. We strive for excellence and apologize for your less than exceptional experience. Thank you, Virginia's on King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia's on King also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Virginia's on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing